An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

EPA Research


EPA Research at Society of Toxicology | 2019

Exhibit Booth Location: #4065

On this page


EPA scientists will participate in the 2019 Society of Toxicology (SOT) Annual Meeting and ToxExpo on March 10-14, 2019, in Baltimore, Maryland. Advances in EPA's toxicology research will be featured at SOT sessions, symposia, workshops, platform discussions, informational sessions, poster sessions, and at EPA's booth in the ToxExpo exhibit hall. SOT provides a forum to discuss and disseminate information about this research to the scientific community. 

EPA scientists provide leadership roles in SOT, serving as officers and chairpersons, leading and participating in continuing education courses, and providing scientific presentations during plenary sessions as keynote speakers. 

Get Connected

Scientific Session Schedule

Meet the Directors Schedule

Name Title Date Time
Wayne Cascio Director, National Health and Enviornmental Effects Research Laboratory Monday, March 11 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Jennifer Orme-Zavaleta Principal Deputy Assistant Administrator for Science  Monday, March 11 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Jeff Frithsen National Program Director, Chemical Safety Research Program Monday, March 11  3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Wayne Cascio  Director, National Health and Enviornmental Effects Research Laboratory Tuesday, March 12 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Tim Watkins Director, National Exposure Research Laboratory  Tuesday, March 12 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Jeff Frithsen National Program Director, Chemical Safety Research Program Tuesday, March 12 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Rusty Thomas Director, National Center for Computational Toxicology Tuesday, March 12 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Ronald N. Hines Associate Director for Health, National Health and Enviornmental Effects Research Laboratory Wednesday, March 13 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Jeff Frithsen National Program Director, Chemical Safety Research Program Wednesday, March 13 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Demonstration Schedule

Monday, March 11

Demo Presenter Time 
CPDat/SHEDS-HT Kristin Isaacs 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Comptox Chemicals Dashboard Antony Williams 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Diet and Air Pollution  Mehdi Hazari 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Comptox Chemicals Dashboard Antony Williams 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
ECOTOX Knowledgebase  Jennifer Olker 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
RapidTox Richard Judson 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday, March 12

Demo Presenter Time
RapidTox Richard Judson 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Comptox Chemicals Dashboard Antony Williams 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
STAR OCM Centers  Barbara Klieforth 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
HTTK R Package  John Wambaugh 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Smoke Sense Ana Rappold 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
ECOTOX Knowledgebase  Jennifer Olker 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday, March 13

Demo Presenter Time 
Comptox Chemicals Dashboard Katie Paul Friedman 9:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Photochemical Aging of Wildfire Smoke Yong Ho Kim 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
ECOTOX Knowledgebase  Jennifer Olker 1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
SesqAPASS Jennifer Olker  2:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Special Sessions

Meet the Directors: A Conversation with Jennifer Orme-Zavaleta, principal deputy assistant administrator for science, US EPA, joined by Linda S. Birnbaum, director, NIEHS, and Mark S. Johnson, director of toxicology, Army Public Health Center

This important session will provide an informal venue for meeting attendees to have a candid and open discussion with three key leaders of federal organizations with missions to protect and improve public health and the environment.

Chairperson(s): Ron Hines

Panelist(s):  Jennifer Orme-Zavaleta

Date: Tuesday, March 12
Time:  11:00 AM to 12:00 Noon 

EPA Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 recipients of SOT Awards. See the full list of 2019 SOT Award Winners.Exit

Best Postdoctoral Publication Award: Samantha J. Snow,  “Ozone-Induced Vascular Contractility and Pulmonary Injury Are Differentially Impacted by Diets Enriched with Coconut Oil, Fish Oil, and Olive Oil.”  

Biological Modeling Specialty Section Best Paper Award for 2018: Namdi Brandon,  "Simulating exposure-related behaviors using agent-based models embedded with needs-based artificial intelligence." 

Honorable Mention for Paper of the Year: John Wambaugh, "Evaluating In Vitro-In Vivo Extrapolation of Toxicokinetics."

Funding and Grants

SOT Endowment Fund 2018 Award Recipients

  • Celebrating Women in Toxicology Award Fund: Samantha Snow
  • Perry J. Gehring Risk Assessment Student Award Fund: Tara Catron
  • Molecular and Systems Biology Student Award Fund: Samantha Faber
  • Toxicologists of African Origin Endowment Fund: Marie McGee Hargrove

Exhibit Booth Resources

Student and Fellowship Opportunities

Research Area Webpages

Fact Sheets

Air Research

Safer Chemicals Research