

west virginia department of environmental protection

Division of Air Quality 601 57<sup>th</sup> Street SE Charleston, WV 25304 Telephone Number: (304) 926-0475 Fax Number: (304) 926-0479 Earl Ray Tomblin, Governor Randy C. Huffman, Cabinet Secretary dep.wv.gov

January 12, 2017

Mr. Shawn M. Garvin Regional Administrator U.S. EPA, Region III (3RA00) 1650 Arch Street Philadelphia, PA 19103-2029

Re: Submittal of SO<sub>2</sub> modeling analyses pursuant to 40 CFR §51.1203(d) and documentation of source shutdowns and permits limiting sources to less than 2,000 tpy pursuant to 40 CFR §51.1203(e)

Dear Administrator Garvin:

On behalf of the State of West Virginia, as required by 40 CFR 51, Subpart BB – *Data Requirements for Characterizing Air Quality for the Primary SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS*, I am herein submitting modeling analyses characterizing air quality based on actual SO<sub>2</sub> emissions pursuant to 40CFR§51.12303(d)(2) for the following facilities:

Monongahela Power Company – Harrison (54-033-00015) Monongahela Power Company – Fort Martin (54-061-00001) Allegheny Energy – Pleasants (54-073-00005) Appalachian Power Company – John E. Amos (54-079-00006) Appalachian Power Company – Mountaineer (54-053-00009) Dominion Resources, Inc. – Mt. Storm (54-023-00003).

Pursuant to 40 CFR §51.1203(e)(1), I am herein submitting documentation of federally enforceable requirements to limit SO<sub>2</sub> emissions to under 2,000 tons per year (tpy) for the following facility:

American Bituminous – Grant Town (54-049-00026).

Letter to Mr. Shawn Garvin January 12, 2017 Page 2

Pursuant to 40 CFR §51.1203(e)(2), I am herein submitting documentation of permanent shutdown for the following facilities:

Appalachian Power Company – Kanawha River (54-039-00006) Appalachian Power Company – Philip Sporn (54-053-00001).

If you have any questions regarding this submittal or require additional information, please contact me at (304) 926-0462 or Laura Crowder, Assistant Director of Planning at (304) 926-0499 extension 1247.

Sincerely, William F. Durham

William F. Durha Director

WFD/lmc Enclosures: Attachments 1, 2, 3

cc: Cristina Fernandez, Air Division Director, EPA Region 3 (3AP00) Laura M. Crowder, Assistant Director of Planning, WVDEP