

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

REGION 6 REGION 6

1445 ROSS AVENUE, SUITE 1200

DALLAS, TEXAS 75202 – 2733 each listed area, In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available

review of this information indicates that it is

August 22, 2017 Office of the Regional Administrator analyses provided by Oklahoma or by a third purty. Our

The Honorable Mary Fallin Governor of State of Oklahoma 2300 Lincoln Boulevard, Suite 212 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Dear Governor Fallin:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA's) intended designations for certain areas in Oklahoma for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO₂). The designations for this NAAQS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designations-related recommendations and information your state submitted in letters dated May 27, 2011, and August 17, 2015.1

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016, and November 29, 2016. In Oklahoma, the following areas were designated in these previous actions: Choctaw County and Noble County. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule, the agency must complete the remaining SO₂ designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017, and December 31, 2020. Accordingly. pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act, this letter is to notify you of the EPA's assessment of your state's recommended designations for all remaining undesignated areas in Oklahoma except areas that are associated with sources for which Oklahoma elected to install and begin operating a new SO₂ monitoring network. While we are in agreement with your recommendation for many of these areas, some areas warrant further discussion as explained below and in the accompanying technical support document. We stand ready to assist and hope to resolve any differences regarding the proper designation for these areas within this 120-day period provided by the Clean Air Act.

To this end, if you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at www.regulations.gov, and sending a copy to EPA Region 6. The EPA also will publish a notice in the Federal Register announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

Oklahoma also provided information relevant to these designations in letters dated April 14, 2016 and January 11, 2017.

² Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015). Our intended designated areas include all areas of Indian country located to each of the indicates

INITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

The State of Oklahoma has recommended a designation of attainment for the areas indicated below. EPA regulations for implementing the SO₂ NAAQS require Oklahoma to characterize SO₂ air quality in each listed area. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by Oklahoma or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates that it is consistent with your recommendation. The EPA intends to designate each listed area as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area, as indicated³.

Unclassifiable/Attainment Area	Included Counties & Insvelued no
Kay County	Kay County 30137 smodsbio 2012
Le Flore County	Le Flore County
Rogers County	Rogers County

Enclosure 1 to this letter provides the information that supports the intended designation decisions for these areas in Oklahoma.⁴

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable/attainment all remaining areas of Oklahoma that were not required to be characterized and for which EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. A list of these remaining areas is included in Enclosure 2.

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. Muskogee County was originally required to be designated in the Round 2 designations (July 2, 2016) but the final designation has been delayed by a series of extensions provided by the consent decree. We will designate all other remaining undesignated areas in Oklahoma (Garfield County and Mayes County) by December 31, 2020, consistent with the prescribed timing of the court order.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO₂ NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO₂ NAAQS, please visit our website at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations. Should you have

³ Our intended designated areas include all areas of Indian country located in each of the indicated areas.

⁴ Enclosure 1 is Chapter 33 of the Technical Support Document for the designations EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in Oklahoma. The Technical Support Document is also available at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations

any questions, please do not hesitate to call me, or have your staff contact Dayana Medina of my staff at telephone: (214) 665-7241, email: medina.dayana@epa.gov.

Sincerely,

Samuel Coleman, P.E.

Acting Regional Administrator

Enclosures

cc: Michael Teague, Secretary of Energy and Environment, State of Oklahoma Scott Thompson, Executive Director, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality Eddie Terrill, Director of Air Quality, Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality

Enclosure 2

List of all remaining areas of Oklahoma that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area.

County
Adair County
Alfalfa County
Atoka County
Beaver County
Beckham County
Blaine County
Bryan County
Caddo County
Canadian County
Carter County
Cherokee County
Cimarron County
Cleveland County
Coal County
Comanche County
Cotton County
Craig County
Creek County
Custer County
Delaware County
Dewey County
Ellis County
Garvin County
Grady County
Grant County

Greer County
Harmon County
Harper County
Haskell County
Hughes County
Jackson County
Jefferson County
Johnston County
Kingfisher County
Kiowa County
Latimer County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Major County
Marshall County
Murray County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County

Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County