

## UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

REGION 4
ATLANTA FEDERAL CENTER
61 FORSYTH STREET
ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303-8960

August 22, 2017

The Honorable Henry McMaster Governor of South Carolina 1205 Pendleton Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201

## Dear Governor McMaster:

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's intended designations for all of the remaining areas in South Carolina for the 2010 Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>). The designations for this NAAQS are an important part of the EPA's commitment to a clean, healthy environment. These intended designations are a response to designations-related recommendations and information your state submitted in a letter dated June 2, 2011.<sup>1</sup>

On July 25, 2013, the EPA designated certain areas in 16 states as nonattainment, but did not at that time designate other areas. Additional areas were designated on June 30, 2016, and November 29, 2016. No areas in South Carolina were designated in these previous actions. Pursuant to a March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule,<sup>2</sup> the agency must complete the remaining SO<sub>2</sub> designations by two specific deadlines: December 31, 2017, and December 31, 2020. Accordingly, pursuant to section 107(d)(1)(B)(ii) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), this letter is to notify you of the EPA's assessment of your state's recommended designations for all remaining undesignated areas in South Carolina. We are in agreement with your recommendation as explained below and in the referenced technical support document. We stand ready to assist or resolve any differences regarding the proper designation for these areas within this 120-day period provided by the CAA.

To this end, if you or your staff have additional information that the EPA should consider prior to finalizing the designations, please submit it as soon as possible but no later than October 23, 2017. You may submit additional information by sending it to the EPA's public docket for these designations, EPA-HQ-OAR-2017-0003, located at www.regulations.gov, and sending a copy to EPA Region 4. The EPA also will publish a notice in the *Federal Register* announcing a 30-day comment period for the public to provide input on the EPA's intended designations.

<sup>2</sup> Sierra Club v. McCarthy, No. 3-13-cv-3953 (SI) (N.D. Cal. Mar. 2, 2015). Internet Address (URL) • http://www.epa.gov

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In January and May 2017, South Carolina transmitted additional information to the EPA to support their designation recommendations.

South Carolina has recommended a designation of attainment for the areas indicated below. The EPA regulations for implementing the SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS require South Carolina to characterize SO<sub>2</sub> air quality in each listed area. In considering your recommendation, we have taken into account all available information, including any current (2014-2016) air monitoring data, and any air dispersion modeling analyses provided by South Carolina or by a third party. Our review of this information indicates that it is consistent with your recommendation. The EPA intends to designate each listed area as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area, as indicated.<sup>3</sup>

Intended Unclassifiable/ Attainment Area	Included Counties	
Berkeley County	Berkeley County	
Richland County	Richland County	
York County	York County	

The Technical Support Document provides the information that supports the intended designation decisions for these areas in South Carolina.<sup>4</sup>

Finally, we intend to designate as unclassifiable/attainment all remaining areas of South Carolina that were not required to be characterized and for which the EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. A list of these remaining areas is included in the enclosure.

The EPA will promulgate the final designations for the areas identified in this letter by December 31, 2017. We are prepared to work with you to resolve any disagreements with respect to the available information or information gaps. We are then required to designate all other remaining undesignated areas by December 31, 2020, consistent with the prescribed timing of the court order. Upon the completion of this designation action, there will be no remaining areas in South Carolina to be designated.

We share your goal to provide cleaner air for citizens in your state. We look forward to a continued dialogue with you and your staff as we work together to complete the area designations and implement the 2010 primary SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS. For additional information regarding designations under the SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS, please visit our website at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations. Should you have

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> The EPA's intended designated areas include all areas of Indian country.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> See Chapter 37 of the Technical Support Document for the designations EPA plans to complete by December 31, 2017, that addresses areas in South Carolina. The full Technical Support Document is available at <a href="https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations-regulatory-actions">https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations-regulatory-actions</a>.

any questions, please do not hesitate to call me, or have your staff contact Beverly Banister of my staff at 404-562-9326 or banister.beverly@epa.gov.

Sincerely,

V. Anne Heard

Acting Regional Administrator

## Enclosure

cc: Catherine E. Heigel, Agency Director

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (SC DHEC)

Rhonda Thompson, P.E., Chief Bureau of Air Quality, SC DHEC

## Enclosure

List of all remaining areas of South Carolina that were not required to be characterized and for which EPA does not have information that suggests the area may not be meeting the NAAQS or contributing to air quality in a nearby area that does not meet the NAAQS. The EPA intends to designate each of these areas as a separate unclassifiable/attainment area. The EPA's intended designation concurs with South Carolina's recommendation.

County		
Abbeville County		
Aiken County		
Allendale County		
Anderson County	ē)	
Bamberg County		
Barnwell County		
Beaufort County		
Calhoun County		
Charleston County		
Cherokee County		
Chester County		
Chesterfield County		
Clarendon County		
Colleton County		
Darlington County		
Dillon County		
Dorchester County		
Edgefield County		
Fairfield County		
Florence County		
Georgetown County		
Greenville County		
Greenwood County		

Hampton County	
Horry County	
Jasper County	
Kershaw County	
Lancaster County	
Laurens County	*
Lee County	
Lexington County	
McCormick County	
Marion County	
Marlboro County	
Newberry County	
Oconee County	
Orangeburg County	
Pickens County	
Saluda County	
Spartanburg County	
Sumter County	
Union County	
Williamsburg County	