# Fact Sheet — Final Area Designations for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide 1-Hour Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard – Round 4

### **ACTIONS**

- On December 21, 2020, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) took another step to implement the health-based national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) for sulfur dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>) set in 2010.<sup>1</sup> EPA has identified or "designated" areas:
  - "nonattainment" not meeting the 1-hour health based SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS (9 areas in 7 states),
  - "unclassifiable" not enough information to make a determination (2 areas in 1 state), and
  - "attainment/unclassifiable" meeting the standard and not contributing to a violation of the standard (33 areas in 19 states).
- On June 3, 2010, EPA strengthened the health-based or "primary" SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS by establishing a 1-hour standard at a level of 75 parts per billion. On July 25, 2013, EPA designated 29 areas in 16 states as nonattainment. A March 2, 2015, court-ordered schedule required the Agency to complete the remaining SO<sub>2</sub> designations by three specific deadlines: July 2, 2016; December 31, 2017; and December 31, 2020.
- These final designations will take effect on April 30, 2021.

## REQUIREMENTS FOR DESIGNATED NONATTAINMENT AREAS

- The Clean Air Act requires air agencies to take steps to control pollution in SO<sub>2</sub> nonattainment areas. Those steps may include additional controls on industrial facilities.
- State and local governments detail these steps in plans that demonstrate how they will meet the SO<sub>2</sub> standard. Those plans are known as state implementation plans (SIPs).
   States have 18 months after the effective date of final designations to develop and submit their plans to EPA.
- Once designated, nonattainment areas are subject to Nonattainment New Source
  Review requirements. New Source Review is a permitting program for industrial
  facilities to ensure that new and modified sources of pollution do not impede progress
  toward cleaner air.

¹ The Round 4 2010 SO₂ NAAQS designations action was signed by the EPA Administrator, Andrew Wheeler, on December 21, 2020, pursuant to a court-ordered deadline of December 31, 2020. For administrative purposes only, and in compliance with requirements of the Office of the Federal Register, Acting Administrator Jane Nishida re-signed the same action on March 10, 2021 for publication in the *Federal Register*.

 Nonattainment areas are required to meet the standard as quickly as possible, but no later than five years after the effective date of final designation.

# **BACKGROUND**

- The Clean Air Act requires EPA to issue designations after the agency sets a new NAAQS or revises an existing standard. Areas not meeting the standard are designated "nonattainment."
- In June 2010, EPA set a 1-hour, health-based NAAQS for SO<sub>2</sub> at 75 parts per billion (ppb), which is met when the 3-year average of the annual 99<sup>th</sup> percentile of daily maximum 1-hour average concentrations of SO2 does not exceed 75 ppb. The revised standard is improving public health protection, especially for children, the elderly and people with asthma. These groups are susceptible to health problems, including narrowing of the airways which can cause difficulty breathing and increased asthma symptoms, associated with breathing SO<sub>2</sub>.

### FOR MORE INFORMATION

 For more information on the designation process for the 2010 SO<sub>2</sub>, please visit EPA's Web site at https://www.epa.gov/sulfur-dioxide-designations.

# EPA's Final Area Designations for the 2010 Sulfur Dioxide (SO<sub>2</sub>) Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) – Round 4

State	County/Parish	EPA's Final Area	EPA's Final Designation
AL	Shelby	Shelby County (partial)*	Attainment/Unclassifiable
GA	Floyd	Floyd County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
HI	Honolulu	Honolulu County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
н	Honolulu	Honolulu County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
IL	Macon	Macon County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
IN	Porter	Porter County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
КҮ	Henderson	Henderson County (partial)** Webster County (partial)**	Nonattainment
LA	East Baton Rouge	East Baton Rouge Parish	Attainment/Unclassifiable
LA	St. Charles	St. Charles Parish	Attainment/Unclassifiable
LA	St. James	St. James Parish	Attainment/Unclassifiable
LA	West Baton Rouge	West Baton Rouge Parish	Attainment/Unclassifiable
MD/WV	Allegany (MD) Mineral (WV)	Allegany County, MD Mineral County, WV	Attainment/Unclassifiable
МО	Iron	Iron County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
MO	New Madrid	New Madrid County (partial)**	Nonattainment
NE	Douglas	Douglas County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
NY	Cayuga Seneca Tompkins	Cayuga County Seneca County Tompkins County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
NY	St. Lawrence	St. Lawrence County (partial)**	Nonattainment
NC	Buncombe	Limestone Township – Buncombe County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
NC	Haywood	Beaverdam Township – Haywood County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
NC	Person	Cunningham Township – Person County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
ND	Williams	Williams County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
OK	Garfield	Garfield County	Attainment/Unclassifiable

State	County/Parish	EPA's Final Area	EPA's Final Designation
ОК	Mayes	Mayes County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
ОК	Muskogee	Muskogee County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
PA	York	York County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
PA	York	York County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
TX	Bexar	Bexar County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
TX	Harrison	Harrison County	Unclassifiable
TX	Howard	Howard County (partial)**	Nonattainment
TX	Hutchinson	Hutchinson County (partial)**	Nonattainment
TX	Jefferson	Jefferson County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
TX	Navarro	Navarro County (partial)**	Nonattainment
TX	Orange	Orange County	Unclassifiable
TX	Robertson	Robertson County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
TX	Titus	Titus County (partial)*	Attainment/Unclassifiable
VA	Alleghany	City of Covington – Alleghany County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
VA	Botetourt	Botetourt County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
VA	Giles	Giles County (partial)**	Nonattainment
WA	Chelan Douglas	Chelan County Douglas County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
WA	Whatcom	Whatcom County (partial)**	Nonattainment
WI	Outagamie	Outagamie County (partial)**	Nonattainment
WY	Carbon	Carbon County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
WY	Fremont	Fremont County (partial)*	Attainment/Unclassifiable
WY	Converse	Converse County	Attainment/Unclassifiable
WY	Sweetwater	Sweetwater County (partial)*	Attainment/Unclassifiable

<sup>\*</sup> The other portion of the area was designated previously.

<sup>\*\*</sup> EPA is designating the remaining undesignated portion of the area (*i.e.*, the remaining portion of the county outside of EPA's final nonattainment area boundary) as attainment/unclassifiable in this round of designations.