NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ADVISORY COUNCIL

List of Members by Stakeholder Category

December 2018

DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER

Matthew Tejada

Office of Environmental Justice U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW (MC-2201A) Washington, District of Columbia 20460

Work: (202) 564-8047 Fax: (202) 564-1624

Email: tejada.matthew@epa.gov

CHAIR

Richard Moore

Co-Founder/Co-Coordinator Los Jardines Institute Albuquerque, New Mexico

VICE-CHAIR

Sylvia Orduño

Organizer

Michigan Welfare Rights Organization

Detroit, Michigan 48226

DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER/PROGRAM MANAGER

Karen L. Martin

Office of Environmental Justice U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW (MC-2201A) Washington, District of Columbia 20460

Work: (202) 564-0203 Fax: (202) 564-1624

Email: martin.karenl@epa.gov

VICE-CHAIR

Jill Witkowski Heaps

Director

Environmental and Natural Resources Law Clinic

Vermont Law School

South Royalton, Vermont 05068

Other MEMBERS

ACADEMIA (6)

April Karen Baptiste, PhD

Associate Professor of Environmental Studies

Coordinator for Caribbean Studies

Colgate University Hamilton, New York

Charles Chase, PhD

Professor of Environmental Design University of Colorado – Boulder

Boulder, Colorado

Mike Ellerbrock, PhD

Professor of Environmental Economics/Ethics

Virginia Tech

Blacksburg, Virginia

Jan Marie Fritz, Ph.D., C.C.S

Professor

School of Planning, Department of Sociology and Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

University of Cincinnati

Cincinnati, Ohio

Jill Witkowski Heaps (see Vice Chair above)

Sacoby Wilson, PhD

Director

Community Engagement, Environmental Justice and

Health Initiative

University of Maryland

Maryland Institute of Applied Environmental Health

College Park, Maryland

COMMUNITY-BASED ORGANIZATIONS (7)

Erica L. Holloman, PhD

Coalition Coordinator Southeast CARE Coalition Newport News, Virginia

Na'Taki Osborne Jelks PhD

Board Chairperson/Co-Chair

West Atlanta Watershed Alliance and Proctor Creek

Stewardship Council

Atlanta, Georgia

Cheryl Johnson

Executive Director

People for Community Recovery (PCR)

Chicago, Illinois

COMMUNITY-BASED ORGANIZATIONS (7) CONTINUED

Mildred McClain, PhD

Executive Director

Citizens for Environmental Justice and

Harambee House, Inc.

Savannah, Georgia

Richard Moore (see Chair above)

Cynthia Kim Len Rezentes

President

Mohala I Ka Wai

Waianae, Hawaii

Jerome Shabazz

Executive Director

JASTECH Development Services Inc. and Overbrook

Environmental Education Center

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

INDUSTRY/BUSINESS (4)

Jabari O. Edwards

Chief Executive Officer

J5 GBL, LLC

Columbus, Mississippi

Virginia King

Corporate Refining Compliance Manager

Marathon Petroleum LP

Texas City, Texas

Michael Tilchin

Vice President

CH2M

Washington, District of Columbia

Dewey F. Youngerman III

Environmental Occupational Health and Safety Manager

Continental Maritime of San Diego

San Diego, California

NONGOVERNMENTAL/ENVIRONMENTAL GROUPS (6)

Ellen Drew

Regional Manager

Rural Community Assistance Corporation

Las Vegas, New Mexico

Rita Harris

Environmental Justice Organizer

Page 2 of 3

Sierra Club

Olive Branch, Mississippi

Sylvia Orduño (see Vice Chair above)

Jeremy F. Orr, JD

State Chairperson

Environmental & Climate Justice

Michigan State Conference NAACP

Detroit, Michigan

Hermila "Mily" Trevino-Sauceda

President

Alianza Nacional de Campesinas

Thousand Palms, California

Sandra Whitehead, PhD

Director

Program and Partnership Development

National Environmental Health Association

Washington, District of Columbia

TRIBAL/INDIGENOUS GOVERNMENTS

AND ORGANIZATIONS (3)

Lisa Finley-DeVille

Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara (MHA) Nation Tomorrow

Mandaree, North Dakota

Rosalyn LaPier

Environmental Historian

Saokio Heritage

Missoula, Montana

Kelly C. Wright

Environmental Waste Management Program Manager

Shoshone-Bannock Tribes

Chubbock, Idaho

STATE/LOCAL GOVERNMENTS (4)

Melissa McGee-Collier

Director, Office of Community Engagement

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality

Jackson, Mississippi

STATE/LOCAL GOVERNMENTS (4) CONTINUED

Millicent Piazza

Environmental Justice Coordinator Washington State Department of Ecology Olympia, Washington

Dennis Randolph

Director of Public Works City of Grandview Grandview, Missouri

Karen Sprayberry

Environmental Justice Advisor South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control Columbia, South Carolina