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STATE OF VERMONT 

AGENCY OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 

GENERAL PERMIT 3-9004 

DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM RELATED REMEDIATION ACTIVITIES 

PART I.  COVERAGE UNDER THIS PERMIT 

A. Discharges Covered 

This permit covers discharges from petroleum related remediation activities to all Class B waters 

within the State of Vermont, including all waters of the United States (including wetlands) 

within the  State of Vermont to the extent provided by Section 29A-101 of the Vermont Water 

Quality Standards, with the exception of Outstanding Resource Waters and Class One Wetlands. 

Petroleum related remediation activities include, but are not limited to, the discharge of one or 

more of the following: ground and/or surface water from remediation systems; ground and/or 

surface water accumulating as a result of excavation activity; ground and/or surface water 

contaminated by spills; ground water resulting from pumping and/or monitoring aquifer(s). All 

of the previously mentioned discharges result from corrective actions involving above ground or 

underground storage tanks used to store gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosene, jet fuel, or heating oil, or 

the transportation of these fuels. 

B. Discharges Not Covered 

The following discharges from petroleum related remediation activities are not covered by this permit: 

1. Discharges from federally owned facilities. 
2. Discharges to groundwater. 

3. Discharges to Class A Waters. 

4. Discharges to Outstanding Resource Waters and Class One Wetlands. 

5. Discharges from petroleum related remediation activities that are mixed with or contaminated 

by any other wastes or discharges. 

C. Authorization 

Any person who wishes to obtain authorization to discharge from petroleum related remediation 

activities under this general permit shall follow the application requirements in Part II. 
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PART II.  APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A. Notice of Intent Forms and Fee 

Application for coverage under this permit shall be made by filing a Notice of Intent (NOI) on forms 

provided by the Secretary. The completed and signed NOI shall be filed with the Agency of Natural 

Resources, together with an administrative fee ($240.00 as of 8/1/22; fees are established by 3 V.S.A. § 

2822 and may be changed by statute revisions) at the following address: 

Agency of Natural Resources 

Department of Environmental Conservation 

Watershed Management Division 

One National Life Drive, Davis Building, 3rd Floor 

Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 

B. Public Notice of NOI 

Any person who files a NOI shall provide notice, on a form provided by the Secretary, to the 

municipal clerk of the municipality in which the discharge is located at the time the NOI is filed with 

the Secretary. 

C. Public Comments on NOI 

Per 10 V.S.A. §§ 1263(b) and 7715, the Secretary shall provide an opportunity for written 

comment regarding whether the NOI complies with the terms and conditions of this permit 

for 14 days following the receipt of the NOI. 

D. Additional Information 

Within sixty days following a request of the Secretary, any person who files a NOI shall submit such 

additional information that may be necessary to enable the Secretary to authorize the discharge under 

the terms of this permit. 

E. Requiring An Individual Permit 

The Secretary may require any person who files a NOI to apply for an individual permit if: 

1. the maximum daily design flow exceeds 50,000 gpd or the proposed discharge is to a 

receiving water with a watershed area less than 1.0 square miles at the point of discharge; or 
2. the discharge does not qualify for coverage under this permit; or 

3. the Secretary finds that an individual permit is required pursuant to 13.12.D. of the 

General Permit Rules. 

F. Coverage under Existing Individual Permits 

Persons who are authorized to discharge from petroleum related remediation activities by an existing 

individual permit are not required to obtain coverage under this permit during the term of the 

individual permit. 

G. Authorization to Discharge 
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Any person who files a NOI shall be authorized to discharge under the terms of this permit upon the 

receipt of a written determination by the Secretary that the NOI filing is complete, and the discharge is 

eligible for coverage under the terms and conditions of this general permit. 

 

 

  

H. Failure to Notify 

Dischargers who fail to notify the Secretary of their intent to be covered under this permit or fail to 

obtain authorization to discharge under an individual permit, and who discharge to waters of the 

State without a permit, are in violation of 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47 and the federal Clean Water Act. 
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PART III.  EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
 

 

 
 

A. Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Frequency 

During the period beginning on October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2027, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from each discharge point specified on the NOI – Treated contaminated 

water - in accordance with the following limitations and monitoring requirements. 

Discharge Limitations Monitoring Requirements (1,2) 

Effluent 

Characteristic 
Daily Maximum 

Monthly 

Average 

Monitoring 

Frequency 

Sample 

Type 
 
Flow See (3) Below 

 
N/A 

 
1 x daily 

 
Measured Total (4) 

 
Benzene (5,6) 

  
2.1 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
Total BTEX (5,6) 

  
50 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

 
Total Petroleum 

Hydrocarbons (TPH) 
(5,6,7) 

 

 
1000 ppb 

 
2 x monthly 

 
Grab 

Lead 
 

30 ppb 
 

2 x monthly 
 

Grab 

 
Methyl tert-butyl ether 

(MTBE) (6) 

 
 

Monitor only 
 

2 x monthly 
 

Grab 

(1,2,4), (1,3,5), (1,2,3) 

Trimethylbenzenes 

 
Monitor only 2 x monthly Grab 

Naphthalene  Monitor only 2 x monthly Grab 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

(1)  
Discharges lasting less than two weeks in duration shall be sampled a minimum of two times (twice) for those 

parameters listed in the table above. 

(2)  
Where there are multiple discharge points, monitoring for the above parameters is required for each discharge 

point. 

(3)     
The flow discharged shall not exceed the design capability of the treatment system. Discharge flow shall be 

measured after treatment using a continuous measurement flow meter (i.e., a device that records the 

instantaneous gallons per minute (GPM) and total gallons discharged). If an operator demonstrates that use of 

a meter is infeasible and such a change is approved by the Secretary in writing, discharge flow shall be based 

on an estimate. An estimate of discharge flow shall be determined by the operation time and design flow of 

the treatment system in use at a site, or the flow rate and dimensions of the outfall at a site. 

(4)  
In days with no discharge, the permittee shall report 0. 

(5)  
If sample results indicate that the effluent does not meet the specified limitations an additional effluent sample 

shall be taken within 7 days of receiving the sample results and analyzed for Benzene and Total BTEX as well 

as TPH, if applicable.  See also Part III.C.4. 

(6)  
Total BTEX shall be measured as the sum of benzene, ethylbenzene, toluene, and xylenes. EPA method 8021B 
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or other EPA approved methodology shall be used for the measurements of benzene, ethlybenzene, toluene, and 

xylenes, including ortho-, meta-, and para-xylene. Modified EPA method 8015 or other EPA approved 

methodology shall be used to measure TPH. EPA method 8021B or other EPA approved methodology shall be 

used to measure MTBE. 
 

 

 

 

(7)     
TPH monitoring is required if the source is diesel, heating oil, kerosene, and/or jet fuel. 

B. Influent Monitoring 

1. The permittee shall monitor the influent to the treatment system for the parameters listed in 

Condition III.A. above at a minimum frequency of once per month. 

2. For discharges lasting less than two weeks in duration, the permittee shall monitor the influent 

to the treatment system for the parameters listed in Condition III.A. above a minimum of one 

time. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

C. Special Conditions 

1. Effluent samples shall be taken after final treatment and prior to discharge to waters of the 

State and prior to mixing with other discharges. 

2. If the permittee employs carbon adsorption canisters, either as part or all of the treatment 

system necessary to meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above, the permittee 

shall replace the first carbon adsorption canister prior to breakthrough of dissolved 

hydrocarbons. The time of breakthrough shall be calculated based on flow data developed 

from pump tests and analysis of untreated contaminated groundwater. The calculated 

breakthrough time shall be utilized as a schedule for replacing and rotating the carbon 

adsorption units unless ongoing analyses demonstrate that a different breakthrough time 

interval is appropriate in order to meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above. 

The dates of carbon canister replacement shall be reported on form WR-43. 

3. If the permittee employs air strippers, either as part or all of the treatment system necessary to 

meet the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above, the permittee shall clean the air 

strippers on a regular basis as appropriate and report the dates of the cleaning(s) on form WR- 

43. 

4. Should this discharge exceed the effluent limitations specified in Part III.A. above at any time, 

then permittee shall: 

a. Notify the Watershed Management Division within 24 hours at anr.wsmd@state.vt.us; 

b. Submit a written report within 5 days consistent with Section IV.B. detailing the reason(s) 

for the violation and the procedures to be employed so that the discharge will once again 

be in compliance with the effluent limitations; and 

c. The Watershed Management Division will evaluate the situation on a case-by-case basis 

and may require the permittee to cease discharging until such time as treatment has been 

restored to a level that will consistently meet the effluent limitations. 

5. The discharge shall not cause erosion or contain sediment which causes or contributes to a 

violation of water quality standards of the receiving water. 
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6. The discharge shall not contain a visible sheen, foam, or floating solids at any time. 

7. The discharge shall not cause a visible discoloration of the receiving water. 

8. The discharge shall not cause or contribute to a violation of water quality standards of the 

receiving water. 

9. This permit does not authorize the discharge of water treatment additives without approval 

from the Agency. Water treatment additives include any material that is added to water used at 

the facility or to wastewater generated by the facility to condition or treat the water.  In the 

event a permittee proposes to utilize water treatment additives, the permittee shall submit to 

the Agency, for review and written approval, a request, including Material Safety Data Sheets 

(MSDS), to discharge water treatment additives. 

D. Operating Fees 

Discharges authorized by this permit are subject to operating fees. The permittee shall submit the 

operating fees in accordance with the procedures provided by the Secretary. 

E. Monitoring and Reporting 

1. The Permittee is required to submit monthly reports of monitoring results and operational 

parameters on Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) form WR-43 or through an electronic 

reporting system made available by the Secretary.  Reports are due on the 15th day of each 

month, beginning with the month following the effective date of this permit. 

 

 

 

2. Unless waived by the Secretary, the Permittee shall electronically submit its DMRs via 

Vermont’s on-line electronic reporting system. The Permittee shall electronically submit 

additional compliance monitoring data and reports specified by the Secretary. When the 

Permittee submits DMRs using an electronic system designated by the Secretary, which 

requires attachment of scanned DMRs in PDF format, it is not required to submit hard copies of 

DMRs. The electronic submittals are submitted through the State of Vermont Agency of 

Natural Resources' Online Services Portal, or its replacement. 

3. If, in any reporting period, there has been no discharge, the Permittee must submit that 

information by the report due date. 

4. All reports shall be signed : 

a. For a corporation. By a responsible corporate officer or a duly authorized 

representative of that person. For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (1) A president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the 

corporation in charge of a principal business function, or any other person who 

performs similar policy- or decision-making functions for the corporation, or (2) the 

manager of one or more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided, the manager is authorized to make management decisions which govern 

the operation of the regulated facility including having the explicit or implicit duty 

of making major capital investment recommendations, and initiating and directing 

other comprehensive measures to assure long term environmental compliance with 
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environmental laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the necessary 

systems are established or actions taken to gather complete and accurate 

information for permit application requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager in accordance with 

corporate procedures; 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 
 

 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship. By a general partner or the proprietor, 

respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, or other public agency. By either a principal executive 

officer or ranking elected official, or a duly authorized representative of that person. 

5. For the purposes of subdivision (d) of this subsection, a person is a duly authorized 

representative only if 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person described in subdivision (d) of this 

subsection; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a position having responsibility 

for the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity, or an individual or 

position having overall responsibility for environmental matters for the company; 

and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the Secretary. 

6. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under subdivision (b) of this subsection is 

no longer accurate because a different individual or position has responsibility for the 

overall operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

subdivision (b) of this subsection must be submitted to the Secretary prior to or together 

with any reports, information, or applications to be signed by an authorized 

representative.  

 

7. Certification. Any person signing a document under subdivisions (a) or (b) of this 

subsection shall make the following certification: 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared 

under my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. 

Based on my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 

am aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false information, 

including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. 

F. Sampling and Analysis 
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The sampling, preservation, handling, and analytical methods used shall conform to regulations 

published pursuant to Section 304(g) of the Clean Water Act, as specified in the most current revisions 

of the 40 CFR part 136 unless another method is required under 40 CFR subchapters N or O. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring shall be representative of the 

monitored activity and the volume and quality of effluent discharged over the sampling and reporting 

period. All samples are to be taken during normal operating hours. The permittee shall identify the 

effluent sampling location used for each discharge. 

 

The permittee shall calibrate and perform maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at regular intervals to ensure accuracy of measurements or shall ensure that both 

activities are conducted. 

The permittee shall keep records of these activities and shall provide such records upon request of the 

Secretary. 

G. Recording of Results 

The permittee shall maintain records of all information resulting from any monitoring activities 

required including: 

1. The exact place, date, and time of sampling; 

2. The dates and times the analyses were performed; 

3. The person(s) who performed the sampling, measurements, and analyses; 

4. The analytical techniques and methods used including sample collection handling 

and preservation techniques; 

5. The results of all such analyses; 

6. The records of monitoring activities and results, including all instrumentation and calibration and 

maintenance records; and 

7. The original calculation and data bench sheets of the operator who performed analysis of the 

influent or effluent pursuant to requirements of Part III.A. of this permit. 

The results of monitoring requirements shall be reported (in the units specified) on the Discharge 

Monitoring Report form WR-43 or other form approved by the Secretary. 

H. Additional Monitoring by Permittee 

If the permittee monitors any pollutant at the location(s) designated herein more frequently than 

required by this permit, using approved analytical methods as specified above, the results of such 

monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting of the values required on the Discharge 

Monitoring Report form WR-43. Such increased frequency shall also be indicated. 

I. Records Retention 

Except for records of monitoring information required by this permit related to the permittee's sewage 

sludge use and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at least five years (or longer as 

required by 40 CFR part 503), the permittee shall retain records of all monitoring information, 

including all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of all data used to 

complete the application for this permit, for a period of at least 3 years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or application.  This period shall be extended during the course of any unresolved 
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litigation regarding the discharge of pollutants by the permittee or when requested by the Secretary or 

the EPA Region 1 Administrator.  
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PART IV.  STANDARD CONDITIONS 

A. Duty to Comply 

The permittee shall comply with all terms and conditions of this permit.  Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47 and the federal Clean Water Act and is grounds for an 

enforcement action; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or denial of a 

permit renewal application. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or prohibitions established under section 

307(a) of the Clean Water Act (CWA) for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage 

sludge use or disposal established under section 405(d) of the CWA within the time provided 

in the regulations that establish these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 

use or disposal, even if the permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the requirement. 

2. The civil and criminal penalties for permit and Clean Water Act violations set forth in 40 CFR 

§ 122.41(a)(2)-(3) are incorporated by reference. 

3. As of the effective date of this permit, the Vermont statutory penalties for permit or Clean 

Water Act violations, which are subject to change, are as follows: 

a. Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47, a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000.00 a day for each 

day of violation. 

b. Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47, a fine not to exceed $25,000.00 or imprisonment for not 

more than six months, or both.  Each violation may be a separate offense and, in the case 

of a continuing violation, each day's continuance may be deemed a separate offense. 

c. Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 47, any person who knowingly makes any false statement, 

representation or certification in any application, record, report, plan, or other document 

filed or required to be maintained by this permit, or who falsifies, tampers with, or 

knowingly renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained 

by this permit, shall upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.00 or 

by imprisonment for not more than six months, or by both. 

d. Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 201, a penalty of not more than $42,500.00 for each 

determination of a separate violation. In addition, if the Secretary determines that a 

violation is continuing, the Secretary may assess a penalty of not more than $17,000.00 for 

each day the violation continues.  The maximum amount of penalty assessed under this 

provision shall not exceed $170,000.00.   

e. Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 211, a civil penalty of not more than $85,000.00 for each 

violation.  In addition, in the case of a continuing violation, a penalty of not more than 

$42,500.00 may be imposed for each day the violation continues.  

B. Noncompliance Notification 

In the event the permittee is unable to comply with any of the conditions of this permit due, among 

other reasons, to: 
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1. breakdown or maintenance of waste treatment equipment (biological and physical-chemical 

systems including, but not limited to, all pipes, transfer pumps, compressors, collection 

ponds or tanks for the segregation of treated or untreated wastes, ion exchange columns, or 

carbon absorption units), 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. accidents caused by human error or negligence, or 

3. other causes such as acts of nature, 

The permittee shall notify the Secretary within 24 hours of becoming aware of such condition or 

by the next business day and shall provide the Secretary with the following information, in 

writing, within five (5) days: 

a. cause of non-compliance; 

 

 

 

 

b. a description of the non-complying discharge including its impact upon the receiving 

water; 

c. anticipated time the condition of non-compliance is expected to continue or, if such 

condition has been corrected, the duration of the period of non-compliance, including 

exact dates and times; 

d. steps taken by the permittee to reduce and eliminate the non-complying discharge; and 

e. steps to be taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent recurrence of the 

condition of non-compliance. 

C. Operation and Maintenance 

The permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain in good working order all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) installed or used by the permittee to 

achieve compliance with the terms and conditions of this permit.  Proper operation and maintenance 

also includes adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures.  This 

provision requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or similar systems which are 

installed by the permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the 

conditions of this permit. 

D. Reporting requirements. 

1. Planned changes. The permittee shall give notice to the Secretary as soon as possible of any 

planned physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The alteration or addition to a permitted facility may meet one of the criteria for 

determining whether a facility is a new source in 40 CFR § 122.29(b); or 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of 

pollutants discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which are subject neither to 

effluent limitations in the permit, nor to notification requirements under 40 CFR § 

122.42(a)(1). 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change in the permittee's sludge use or 
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disposal practices, and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the application of 

permit conditions that are different from or absent in the existing permit, including 

notification of additional use or disposal sites not reported during the permit application 

process or not reported pursuant to an approved land application plan; 

2. Anticipated noncompliance. The permittee shall give advance notice to the Secretary of any 

planned changes in the permitted facility or activity which may result in noncompliance with 

permit requirements. 

3. Transfers. This permit is not transferable to any person except after notice to the Secretary 

pursuant to Section IV.M. The Secretary may require modification or revocation and reissuance 

of the permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements as 

may be necessary under the Clean Water Act. (See 40 CFR § 122.61; in some cases, 

modification or revocation and reissuance is mandatory.) 

4.  Monitoring reports. Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals specified elsewhere in 

this permit. 

a. Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) or forms 

provided or specified by the Secretary for reporting results of monitoring of sludge use or 

disposal practices.  

b.  If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than required by the permit using 

test procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136, or another method required for an 

industry-specific waste stream under 40 CFR subchapters N or O, the results of such 

monitoring shall be included in the calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the 

DMR or sludge reporting form specified by the Secretary. 

c. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging of measurements shall utilize an 

arithmetic mean unless otherwise specified by the Secretary in the permit. 

5.  Compliance schedules. Reports of compliance or noncompliance with, or any progress reports 

on, interim and final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of this permit shall be 

submitted no later than 14 days following each schedule date. 

6.  Twenty-four hour reporting. 

  a.  The permittee shall report any noncompliance in accordance with Section IV.B. 

(Noncompliance Notification). 

b. The following shall be included as information which must be reported within 24 hours 

under this Section IV.D.6. 

(i)  Any unanticipated bypass which exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit. (See 

40 CFR § 122.41(g). 

(ii)  Any upset which exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit. 

(iii)  Violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants listed by 

the Secretary in the permit to be reported within 24 hours. (See 40 CFR § 122.44(g).) 
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c.  The Secretary may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis for reports under 

Section IV.D.6.b. if the oral report has been received within 24 hours. 

7.  Other noncompliance. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance not reported 

under Sections IV.D.4., IV.D.5, and IV.D.6., at the time monitoring reports are submitted. The 

reports shall contain the information listed in Section IV.B.a-e.  

8.  Other information. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit any relevant 

facts in a permit application, or submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in 

any report to the Secretary, it shall promptly submit such facts or information. 

 

 

 

E. Signatory requirement. 

1. All applications, reports, or information submitted to the Secretary shall be signed and certified. 

2. The CWA provides that any person who knowingly makes any false statement, representation, 

or certification in any record or other document submitted or required to be maintained under 

this permit, including monitoring reports or reports of compliance or non-compliance shall, 

upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000 per violation, or by 

imprisonment for not more than 6 months per violation, or by both. 

 

 

 

 

F. Bypass 

1. Definitions. 

a. Bypass means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment 

facility. 

b. Severe property damage means substantial physical damage to property, damage to the 

treatment facilities which causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent 

loss of natural resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 

bypass. Severe property damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in 

production. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Bypass not exceeding limitations. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 

cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential maintenance to 

assure efficient operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Sections IV.F.3. 

and IV.F.4. 

3.  Notice 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance of the need for a bypass, it shall 

submit prior notice, if possible, at least ten days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice of an unanticipated bypass as 

required in Section IV.D.6. (24–hour notice).  

4.  Prohibition of bypass 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the Secretary may take enforcement action against a permittee for 
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bypass, except where authorized under the terms and conditions of an Emergency Pollution 

Permit issued pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 1268. 

 

 

 

b. In addition to § 1268 findings, such bypass must meet the following three conditions:  

i. Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property 

damage; 

ii. There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such as the use of auxiliary treatment 

facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if adequate back-up equipment 

should have been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass which occurred during normal periods of equipment downtime or 

preventive maintenance; and 

 

 

 

iii. The permittee submitted notices as required under Section IV.F.3. 

G. Solids Management 

Collected screenings, sludges, and other solids removed in the course of treatment and control of 

wastewaters shall be stored, treated and disposed of in accordance with 10 V.S.A. Chapter 159 and 

the terms and conditions of any interim or final certification, authorization, or order issued pursuant 

to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 159 that is in effect at the time of storage, treatment, and disposal. 

 

 

H. Duty to Mitigate 

The Permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human 

health or the environment.  The Permittee shall also take all reasonable steps to minimize or 

prevent any adverse impact to waters of the State, the environment, or human health resulting from 

non-compliance with any condition specified in this permit, including accelerated or additional 

monitoring as necessary to determine the nature and impact of the non-complying discharge. 

 

 

I. Duty to Reapply 

If a discharge authorized under this permit is anticipated to continue after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee must reapply for coverage under a new permit 30 days prior to the expiration 

date of this permit. 

 

 

J. Continuation of the Expired General Permit 

Provided the permittee has reapplied in accordance with Section IV.I. of this permit, the permittee’s 

coverage under the expired permit continues in force and effect until a new general permit is issued. 

Only those facilities previously authorized to discharge under the expired permit are covered by the 

continued permit. 

 

 

K. Requiring a General Permit 

The Secretary may require any person applying for reissuance of an individual permit to be subject 

to a general permit provided the Secretary finds the discharge complies with all the conditions of 

the general permit and the discharge is more appropriately covered under the general permit. 
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L. Termination of Coverage

Upon elimination of a discharge authorized under this permit, the permittee shall submit a completed 

and signed ‘Request for Termination’ form to the Secretary. Coverage under this permit shall be 

terminated upon permittee’s receipt of  the signed termination form from the Secretary confirming 

that the Request for Termination of Coverage filing is complete. 

M. Transfer of Authorization to Discharge

Any permittee may transfer the authorization to discharge under this permit by submittal of a

completed and signed ‘Transfer of Authorization to Discharge’ form to the Secretary. The notice

shall be submitted 30 days prior to the proposed date of transfer and shall include the following:

1. The name and address of the present permittee;
2. the name and address of the prospective permittee;

3. the proposed date of transfer; and

4. a statement signed by the prospective permittee, stating that:

a. The conditions of the facility operation that contribute to, or affect, the discharge will not

be materially different under the new ownership;

b. The prospective permittee has read and is familiar with the terms of the permit and agrees

to comply with all terms and conditions of the permit; and

c. The prospective permittee has adequate funding to operate and maintain the treatment

system and remain in compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit.

N. Modification of General Permit

After notice and opportunity for public hearing this permit may be modified in accord with Section

13.12.C.7 (General Permit Rules) of the Vermont Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations.

O. Modification or Revocation of Authorization to Discharge

The Secretary may modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate for cause, in whole or in part,

authorization to discharge under this permit in accord with Section 13.12.C.6 (General Permit Rules)

of the Vermont Water Pollution Control Permit Regulations.

These actions may be taken for the reasons specified in 40 C.F.R. § 122.62 (modification or revocation

and reissuance), § 122.64 (termination), or other cause, including:

a. There are material and substantial alterations or additions to the permitted facility or activity;

b. New information is received that was not available at the time of permit issuance (other than

revised regulations, guidance, or test methods) and would have justified the application of different

permit conditions at the time of issuance;

c. To correct technical mistakes, such as errors in calculation, or mistaken interpretations of law

made in determining permit conditions;
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d. Obtaining this permit by misrepresentation or failure to disclose fully all relevant facts; 

e. Reallocation of WLA under the LC TMDL; 

f. Development of an integrated WWTF and stormwater runoff NPDES permit;  

g. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary or permanent reduction or elimination 

of the permitted discharge; or 

h. Correction of any permit violation, including violations of Vermont Water Quality Standards. 

The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or 

termination, or a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition. 
 

 

P. Duty to Provide Information.  

The permittee shall furnish to the Secretary, within a reasonable time, any information which the 

Secretary may request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or 

terminating this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The permittee shall also furnish 

to the Secretary upon request, copies of records required to be kept by this permit. 

 

 

 

 

 

Q. Inspection and Entry 
 

 

 

 

The permittee shall allow the Secretary or an authorized representative (including an authorized 

contractor acting as a representative of the Secretary), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated facility or activity is located or 

conducted, or where records must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept under the 

conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes of assuring permit compliance or as 

otherwise authorized by the Clean Water Act, any substances or parameters at any location. 

R. Property Rights 

Issuance of this permit does not convey any property rights of any sort in either real or personal 

property, or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private property or any 

invasion of personal rights. 

S. Federal, State or Local Laws 
 

Issuance of this permit does not authorize any infringement of Federal, State or local laws or 
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regulations. This permit does not convey authorization to conduct any activity within wetlands 

including but not limited to: clearing, grading, excavation, placement of temporary or permanent 

erosion and sediment control structures, or any other activity required by this permit. Any such 

activity within a wetland may require a conditional use determination pursuant 10 V.S.A. Section 

905(b) and/or a permit pursuant to Section 404 of the federal Clean Water Act or both. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This permit does not authorize any discharge or activity which could adversely affect threatened or 

endangered species protected under the federal Endangered Species Act, which could constitute the 

taking of threatened or endangered species pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 123, or which could 

jeopardize conservations program established by the Secretary under 10 V.S.A. Chapter 123. 

T. Need to Halt or Reduce Activity not a Defense 

It shall not be a defense for the permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been 

necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the 

conditions of this permit. 

U. Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability 

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of legal action or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under 10 V.S.A. Section 1281. 

V. Penalty for Tampering or Falsification 

a. The Clean Water Act provides that any person who falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly 

renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit 

shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000, or by imprisonment for 

not more than 2 years, or both. If a conviction of a person is for a violation committed after a 

first conviction of such person under this paragraph, punishment is a fine of not more than 

$20,000 per day of violation, or by imprisonment of not more than 4 years, or both. 

b. 10 V.S.A. § 1275 (b) provides that: 

“Any person who knowingly makes any false statement, representation or certification in any 

application, record, report, plan, or other document filed or required to be maintained under this 

subchapter, or by any permit, rule, regulation or order issued under this subchapter, or who 

falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method 

required to be maintained under this subchapter or by any permit, rule, regulation, or order 

issued under this subchapter, shall upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than 

$10,000.00 or by imprisonment for not more than six months, or by both.” 

W. Authority 

This permit is issued under authority of 10 V.S.A. § 1259 which states that: "No person shall 

discharge any waste, substance, or material into waters of the State, nor shall any person discharge 

any waste, substance, or material into an injection well or discharge into a publicly owned treatment 

works any waste which interferes with, passes through without treatment, or is otherwise 

incompatible with those works or would have a substantial adverse effect on those works or on water 

quality, without first obtaining a permit for that discharge from the Secretary," and under the 
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authority of 10 V.S.A. § 1263 (Discharge permits), Chapter 13 (Amended - General Permit Rules) of 

the Environmental Protection Rules, and Section 402 of the Clean Water Act, as amended. 

 

 

 

X.    Appeal Rights 

Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220, an aggrieved person shall not appeal this permit or an 

authorization under this permit unless the person submitted to the Secretary a written comment during 

the applicable public comment period or an oral comment at the public meeting conducted by the 

Secretary. Absent a determination of the Environmental judge to the contrary, an aggrieved person 

may only appeal issues related to the person’s comments to the Secretary as prescribed by 10 V.S.A. § 

8504(d)(2). 

Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220 and the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, 
any appeal of this permit or an authorization made pursuant to this permit, except for an appeal of a 

renewable energy plant as described below, must be filed with the clerk of the Environmental 

Division of the Superior Court within 30 days of the date of the decision. The notice of appeal must 

specify the parties taking the appeal and the statutory provision under which each party claims party 

status; must designate the act or decision appealed from; must name the Environmental Division; 

and must be signed by the appellant or the appellant’s attorney. In addition, the appeal must give the 

address or location and description of the property, project, or facility with which the appeal is 

concerned and the name of the applicant or any permit involved in the appeal. The appellant must 

also serve a copy of the notice of appeal in accordance with Rule 5(b)(4)(B) of the Vermont Rules 

for Environmental Court Proceedings. For further information, see the Vermont Rules for 

Environmental Court Proceedings. 
 

If the subject decision relates to a renewable energy plant for which a certificate of public good is 

required under 30 V.S.A. § 248, any appeal of such decision must be filed with the Vermont Public 

Utility Commission pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 8506. Section 8506 does not apply to a facility that is 

subject to 10 V.S.A. § 1004 (dams before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission), 10 V.S.A. § 

1006 (certification of hydroelectric projects), or 10 V.S.A. Chapter 43 (dams). Any appeal under 

Section 8506 must be filed with the clerk of the Public Utility Commission within 30 days of the date 

of this decision; the appellant must file with the clerk an original and six copies of its appeal. The 

appellant shall provide notice of the filing of an appeal in accordance with 10 V.S.A. § 8504(c)(2) and 

shall also serve a copy of the notice of appeal on the Vermont Public Service Department. For further 

information, see the Rules and General Orders of the Public Utility Commission. 

 

 

 

Y.     DEFINITIONS 

For purposes of this permit, the following definitions shall apply. 

 

 

 

 

 

Agency – means the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources. 

Average – means the arithmetic means of values taken at the frequency required for each parameter 

over the specified period. 

Bypass – means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of the treatment facility. 

The Clean Water Act – means the federal Clean Water Act, as amended (33 U.S.C. § 1251, et seq.). 
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Composite Sample -  A composite of at least twenty-four (24) grab samples taken during one 

consecutive 24-hour period, either collected at equal intervals and combined proportional to flow or 

continuously collected proportional to flow.    

 

 

 

 

 

Daily Discharge – means the discharge of a pollutant measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour 

period that reasonably represents the calendar day for purposes of sampling. 

For pollutants with limitations expressed in pounds the daily discharge is calculated as the total 

pounds of pollutants discharged over the day. 

For pollutants with limitations expressed in mg/L the daily discharge is calculated as the average 

measurement of the pollutant over the day. 

Discharge – means the placing, depositing, or emission of any wastes, directly or indirectly, into an 

injection well or into the waters of the State.  

Grab Sample – means an individual sample collected in a period of less than 15 minutes. 

 

 

 

 

 

Incompatible Substance – means any waste being discharged into the treatment works which 

interferes with, passes through without treatment, or is otherwise incompatible with said works or 

would have a substantial adverse effect on the works or on water quality.  This includes all pollutants 

required to be regulated under the Clean Water Act. 

Instantaneous Maximum – means a value not to be exceeded in any grab sample. 

Maximum Day or Maximum Daily Discharge Limitation – means the highest allowable “daily 

discharge” (mg/L, lbs or gallons). 

Mean – means the arithmetic mean. 

Method Detection Limit (MDL) – The method detection limit (MDL) is defined as the minimum 

measured concentration of a substance that can be reported with 99% confidence that the measured 

concentration is distinguishable from method blank results. 

(https://www.epa.gov/sites/default/files/2016-12/documents/mdl-procedure_rev2_12-13-2016.pdf)  

 

 

 

Minimum Level (ML) – The term ‘‘minimum level’’ refers to either the sample concentration 

equivalent to the lowest calibration point in a method or a multiple of the method detection limit 

(MDL). Minimum levels may be obtained in several ways: They may be published in a method; they 

may be sample concentrations equivalent to the lowest acceptable calibration point used by a 

laboratory; or they may be calculated by multiplying the MDL in a method, or the MDL determined 

by a lab, by a factor. (https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2014-08-19/pdf/2014-19265.pdf, p. 3 

footnote 5) 

Monthly Average  or Average Monthly Discharge Limitation – means the highest allowable 

average of daily discharges (mg/L, lbs or gallons) over a calendar month, calculated as the sum of all 

daily discharges (mg/L, lbs or gallons) measured during a calendar month divided by the number of 

daily discharges measured during that month. 

Monthly Average Flow - Monthly average flow shall be calculated by summing the daily effluent 

flow for each day in the given month and dividing the sum by the number of days of discharge in that 

month. 
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NPDES –means the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System. 

Pollutant – means dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator residue, sewage, garbage, sewage sludge, 

munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive materials, heat, wrecked or discarded 

equipment, rock, sand, cellar dirt and industrial, municipal, and agricultural waste discharged into 

water. 

Secretary – means the Secretary of the Agency of Natural Resources or the Secretary’s duly 

authorized representative. 

Untreated Discharge – means (1) combined sewer overflows from a WWTF; (2) overflows from 

sanitary sewers and combined sewer systems that are part of a WWTF during dry weather flows, 

which result in a discharge to waters of the State; (3) upsets or bypasses around or within a WWTF 

during dry or wet weather conditions that are due to factors unrelated to a wet weather storm event 

and that result in a discharge of sewage that has not been fully treated to waters of the State; and (4) 

discharges from a WWTF to separate storm sewer systems. 

Upset – means an exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and temporary noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond the reasonable control of 

the Permittee. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent caused by operational error, 

improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, lack of preventive 

maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 

 

 

 

 

 

Waste – means effluent, sewage or any substance or material, liquid, gaseous, solid, or radioactive, 

including heated liquids, whether or not harmful or deleterious to waters. 

Waters – means all rivers, streams, creeks, brooks, reservoirs, ponds, lakes, springs, and all bodies of 

surface waters, artificial or natural, which are contained within, flow through, or border upon the State 

or any portion of it. 

Weekly Average or Average Weekly Discharge Limitation – means the highest allowable average 

of daily discharges (mg/L, lbs or gallons) over a calendar week, calculated as the sum of all daily 

discharges (mg/L, lbs or gallons) measured during a calendar week divided by the number of daily 

discharges measured during that week. 

Wastewater Treatment Facility (WWTF) – means a treatment plant, collection system, pump 

station, and attendant facilities permitted by the Secretary for the purpose of treating domestic, 

commercial, or industrial wastewater. 

This permit shall become effective on October 1, 2022 and shall expire on September 30, 2027. An 

authorization to discharge under this general permit shall be valid for five years. 

 

 

Julia S. Moore, Secretary  

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources  

BY: 

 

Peter LaFlamme, Director 

Watershed Management Division 
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FACT SHEET 
(AUGUST 2022) 

NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM (NPDES) 
GENERAL PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES FROM PETROLEUM RELATED 

REMEDIATION ACTIVITIES TO WATERS OF THE STATE 

PERMIT NO. 3-9004 
NPDES NO. VTG910001 

Regulatory Overview 

Pursuant to the Clean Water Act (CWA), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) or an 
EPA-delegated state is authorized to issue NPDES permits for the discharge of pollutants from 
any point source into waters of the United States. As a delegated state, Vermont has the 
responsibility to administer the permit program and issue permits for discharges within the state. 
The Vermont Agency of Natural Resources is proposing to reissue a general permit for 
discharges from petroleum related remediation activities to waters of the State, which include all 
waters of the United States within the State of Vermont, with the exception of Outstanding 
Resource Waters and Class One Wetlands. 

A general permit authorizes a state-wide class of discharges that share the same or similar 
qualities such that the discharges can be regulated by the same or similar permit conditions.  The 
General Permit (3-9004) for Discharges from Petroleum Related Remediation Activities has 
been prepared in accordance with the State of Vermont's General Permit Rules, Section 13.12 of 
the Vermont Water Pollution Control Regulations and the Vermont Water Quality Standards, 
effective January 15, 2017. 

After the issuance of the general permit, applicants must submit a "Notice of Intent" to be 
covered under the general permit.  Each NOI is filed in the municipal office of the municipality 
where the discharge point will be located and is placed on notice for public comment for 14 days.  
The NOI describes the nature and location of the discharge(s) seeking authorization under the 
general permit.  Any comments submitted on the NOI to the Department during the 14-day 
public comment period will be considered by the Department in its final decision on whether to 
grant authorization to discharge under the general permit.  

Coverage under this general permit 

This general permit will authorize and regulate discharges from petroleum related remediation 
activities to all Class B waters within the State of Vermont.  This general permit is not applicable 
to discharges to Class A Waters, Outstanding Resource Waters, and Class One Wetlands. 
Petroleum related remediation activities include, but are not limited to, the discharge of one or 
more of the following:  ground and/or surface water from remediation systems; surface and/or 
ground water accumulating as a result of excavation activity; surface and ground water 
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contaminated by spills; ground water resulting from pumping and/or monitoring aquifer(s).  All 
of the previously mentioned discharges result from corrective actions involving above ground or 
underground storage tanks used to store gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosene, jet fuel, or heating oil, or 
the transportation of these materials. 
  
Discharges not covered by the general permit include discharges from federally owned facilities, 
discharges to groundwater, discharges to Publicly-Owned Treatment Works, and discharges from 
petroleum related remediation activities that are mixed with or contaminated by any other wastes 
or discharges. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Permit Requirements  

Monitoring 
EPA has developed technology-based effluent limitations through the development of national 
effluent limitations guidelines for many specific categories of industries.  However, national 
effluent guidelines have not been promulgated for wastewater discharges resulting from 
petroleum related cleanups.  Consequently the effluent limits proposed for this general permit 
have been developed based on Vermont Water Quality Standards for Protection of Human 
Health, Consumption of Water and Organisms and best professional judgment (BPJ) in 
accordance with 40 CFR §125.3.   BPJ is used to develop technology-based effluent limits in 
those cases where an effluent guideline has not been promulgated for the industry and water 
quality standards do not dictate limits more stringent that technology-based limits. 

This permit requires the permittee to monitor flow, benzene, total BTEX, MTBE, lead, 
naphthalene, (1,2,4), (1,3,5), and (1,2,3) trimethylbenzenes, and, if the source is diesel, heating 
oil, kerosene and/or jet fuel, total petroleum hydrocarbons (TPH) at a frequency of twice a 
month.   

Sampling of effluent flow has been increased in the draft permit from once a month to daily in 
order to monitor compliance with the design flow of treatment systems indicated in the NOI.  
Discharge flow shall be measured after treatment using a continuous measurement flow meter 
(i.e., a device that records the instantaneous gallons per minute (GPM) and total gallons 
discharged). If an operator demonstrates that use of a meter is infeasible and such a change is 
approved by the Secretary in writing, discharge flow shall be based on an estimate. An estimate 
of discharge flow shall be determined by the operation time and design flow of the treatment 
system in use at a site, or the flow rate and dimensions of the outfall at a site. 

The technology based permit limit for benzene in the draft permit has reduced from 5 parts per 
billion (ppb) to 2.1 ppb to comply with Vermont Water Quality Standards for the Protection of 
Human Health, Consumption of Water and Organisms.   

The proposed BTEX permit limit of 50 ppb is based on several years of monitoring at Vermont 
sites utilizing activated carbon, air strippers, or a combination of both that has demonstrated that 
the existing technology is capable of achieving this limit. Accordingly, the total petroleum 
hydrocarbons (TPH) limit of 1000 ppb is also based on past monitoring data at Vermont sites 
that demonstrates the existing technology capable of achieving the effluent limit. This remains in 
the permit based on Federal anti-backsliding requirements established in Section 402(o) of the 
CWA and 40 C.F.R. §122.44(l). 
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The draft permit adds monitoring of Lead, Naphthalene, and (1,2,4), (1,3,5) and (1,2,3) 
trimethylbenzenes twice monthly.  These are additional contaminants of concern based on past 
monitoring data at Vermont petroleum remediation sites.  The technology based permit limit for 
Lead is 30 ppb based on Vermont Water Quality Standards for the Protection of Human Health, 
Consumption of Water and Organisms.  Naphthalene and trimethylbenzenes are monitor only as 
they are not included in Vermont Water Quality Standards.  
 

 

 

 

 

Reporting 
The Permittee is required to submit monthly reports of monitoring results and operational 
parameters on Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) form WR-43 or through an electronic 
reporting system made available by the Secretary.  Reports are due on the 15th day of each 
month, beginning with the month following the effective date of this permit.   

Unless waived by the Secretary, the Permittee shall electronically submit its DMRs via 
Vermont’s online electronic reporting system. The Permittee shall electronically submit 
additional compliance monitoring data and reports specified by the Secretary. When the 
Permittee submits DMRs using an electronic system designated by the Secretary, which requires 
attachment of scanned DMRs in PDF format, it is not required to submit hard copies of DMRs. 
The electronic submittals are submitted through the State of Vermont Agency of Natural 
Resources' Online Services Portal, or its replacement.  

If, in any reporting period, there has been no discharge, the Permittee must submit that 
information by the report due date. 

Upon receiving coverage under the general permit, the permittee will be emailed the appropriate 
forms for submitting the data required by the permit. 

Termination 
Upon elimination of a discharge authorized under this permit, a permittee may request that 
coverage under this permit be terminated by submittal of a completed Request for Termination 
of Coverage Form to the Department.  Coverage under this permit will be terminated upon 
receipt of a written determination by the Department that the Notice of Termination filing is 
complete and the discharge has been eliminated.   
 

 

 

 

Application Procedure 

To obtain coverage under the general permit, an NOI must be submitted to the Department, and 
an authorization to discharge received from the Department. As required by the General Permit 
Rules, a public notice of the application for coverage under the general permit must be sent by 
the applicant to the clerk's office of the municipality where the discharge is to occur for a 14 day 
public comment period.  The public notice form is included as part of the NOI.  

Upon written request from the Department, an applicant must submit additional information that 
may be necessary to enable the Department to authorize the discharge under this permit.  The 
applicant will have up to 60 days, per the Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation 
Application Review Procedure, to submit the additional information or the application for 
authorization may be denied.   

The Department may require an applicant to apply for an individual permit.  Cases where an 

https://anronline.vermont.gov/
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wsm/wastewater/docs/APPLICATION-FOR-REQUEST-FOR-TERMINATION-OF-COVERAGE.pdf
https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/wsm/wastewater/docs/APPLICATION-FOR-REQUEST-FOR-TERMINATION-OF-COVERAGE.pdf
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individual permit may be required include those cases where the discharge does not qualify for 
coverage and for the reasons listed under Section D of the General Permit Rules.  Where it has 
been determined that an applicant must apply for an individual permit, the Department will send 
a letter of explanation and request any additional material necessary to complete the application. 
 
 

 
Public Comment Period  

The public comment period for receiving comments on this draft permit is from August 25, 2022 
through September 26, 2022 during which time interested persons may submit their written 
views on the draft permit.  All written comments received by 4:30 PM on September 26, 2022 
will be retained by the Secretary and considered in the formulation of the final determination to 
issue, deny or modify the draft permit. The period of comment may be extended at the discretion 
of the Secretary. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Written comments should be sent to: 

                        Agency of Natural Resources 
                        Department of Environmental Conservation 
                        Watershed Management Division 
                        Davis 3, 1 National Life Dr 
                        Montpelier, VT 05620-3522 

or submitted by e-mail to anr.wsmdwastewater@vermont.gov 

Questions may be directed to Jill Draper at 802-490-6118.  

Any interested person or groups of persons may request or petition for a public hearing with 
respect to this draft permit. Any such request or petition for a public hearing shall be filed within 
the public comment period described above and shall indicate the interest of the party filing such 
request and the reasons why a hearing is warranted.   

The Agency will hold a hearing if there is significant public interest in holding such a hearing.  
Any person may submit oral or written statements and data concerning the draft permit at the 
public hearing. The Agency may establish reasonable limits on the time allowed for oral 
statements and may require the submission of statements in writing. All statements, comments, 
and data presented at the public hearing will be retained by the Agency and considered in the 
formulation of the final determination to issue, deny, or modify the draft permit. 

The draft permit, and other information are on file and may be inspected by appointment on the 
3rd floor of the Main Building at One National Life Drive, Montpelier, Vermont.  Copies may be 
obtained by calling 802-490-6118 from 7:45 AM to 4:30 PM Monday through Friday and will be 
made at a cost based upon the current Secretary of State Official Fee Schedule for Copying 
Public Records. The draft permit and fact sheet may also be viewed on the Watershed 
Management Division’s website at http://www.watershedmanagement.vt.gov/. 

mailto:anr.wsmdwastewater@vermont.gov
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NOTICE of DRAFT DISCHARGE PERMIT 

PERMITTEE NAME:   General Permit for Discharges from Petroleum Related Remediation 

Activities 

PUBLIC NOTICE NUMBER:  3-9004 

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: August 25, 2022 – September 26, 2022 

PERMIT NUMBER:   3-9004 

PROJECT ID NUMBER:  VTG910001 

EXPIRATION DATE:  September 30, 2027 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DISCHARGE INFORMATION 

NATURE: This permit covers discharges from petroleum related remediation 

activities to all Class B waters within the State of Vermont, including all 

waters of the United States (including wetlands) within the  State of 

Vermont to the extent provided by Section 29A-101 of the Vermont Water 

Quality Standards, with the exception of Outstanding Resource Waters 

and Class One Wetlands. Petroleum related remediation activities include, 

but are not limited to, the discharge of one or more of the following: 

ground and/or surface water from remediation systems; ground and/or 

surface water accumulating as a result of excavation activity; ground 

and/or surface water contaminated by spills; ground water resulting from 

pumping and/or monitoring aquifer(s). All of the previously mentioned 

discharges result from corrective actions involving above ground or 

underground storage tanks used to store gasoline, diesel fuel, kerosene, jet 

fuel, or heating oil, or the transportation of these fuels.  

VOLUME:      <50,000 gpd 

RECEIVING WATER (or WWTF): Varies but must have a drainage area > 1.0 square miles at the point of 

discharge.  

DESCRIPTION:  Application for coverage under this permit shall be made by filing a 

Notice of Intent (NOI) on forms provided by the Secretary. The completed 

and signed NOI shall be filed with the Agency of Natural Resources, 

together with an administrative fee ($240.00 as of 8/1/22; fees are 

established by 3 V.S.A. § 2822 and may be changed by statute revisions).  



PUBLIC NOTICE for PERMIT NO. 3-9004 

Page 2 of 3 

Any person who files a NOI shall provide notice, on a form provided by 

the Secretary, to the municipal clerk of the municipality in which the 

discharge is located at the time the NOI is filed with the Secretary. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Per 10 V.S.A. §§ 1263(b) and 7715, the Secretary shall provide 

an opportunity for written comment regarding whether the NOI 

complies with the terms and conditions of this permit for 14 days 

following the receipt of the NOI. 

Persons who are authorized to discharge from petroleum related 

remediation activities by an existing individual permit are not required to 

obtain coverage under this permit during the term of the individual 

permit.  

TENTATIVE DETERMINATIONS 

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources (ANR) has made tentative determinations regarding effluent limitations 

and other conditions to be imposed on the pending Vermont permit.  The limitations imposed will assure that 

the Vermont Water Quality Standards and applicable provisions of the Federal Clean Water Act, PL 92-500, as 

amended, will be met. 

FURTHER INFORMATION 

The complete application, proposed permit, and other information are on file and may be inspected by 

appointment on the 2nd floor of the Main Building at 1 National Life Drive, Montpelier, Vermont.  Copies, 

obtained by calling 802-828-1535 from 7:45 AM to 4:30 PM Monday through Friday, will be made at a cost 

based upon the current Secretary of State Official Fee Schedule for Copying Public Records.  The draft permit 

and fact sheet may also be viewed on the Division’s website at 

https://anrweb.vt.gov/DEC/IWIS/ReportViewer2.aspx?Report=WWPublicNotices&ViewParms=False.  

 

Questions may be directed to Jill Draper at 802-490-6118 or Jill.Draper@vermont.gov.  

 

 

PUBLIC COMMENTS/PUBLIC HEARINGS 

Written public comments on the proposed permit are invited and must be received on or before the close of the 

business day (4:30 pm) on September 26, 2022 to the Agency of Natural Resources, Department of 

Environmental Conservation, Watershed Management Division, 1 National Life Drive – Davis 3, Vermont 

05620-3522.  Comments may also be submitted by e-mail to ANR.wsmdwastewater@vermont.gov.  All 

comments received by the above date will be considered in formulation of the final determinations.  

 

 

 

 

During the notice period, any person may submit a written request to this office for a public hearing to consider 

the proposed permit.  If such a request is received, a hearing will be held. 

FINAL ACTION/RIGHTS TO APPEAL TO THE ENVIRONMENTAL COURT 

At the conclusion of the public notice period and after consideration of additional information received during 

the public notice period, ANR will make a final determination to issue or to deny the permit.  

https://anrweb.vt.gov/DEC/IWIS/ReportViewer2.aspx?Report=WWPublicNotices&ViewParms=False
mailto:Jill.Draper@vermont.gov
mailto:ANR.wsmdwastewater@vermont.gov
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Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220, an aggrieved person shall not appeal the final determination unless the 

person submitted to ANR a written comment during the applicable public comment period or an oral comment 

at the public hearing conducted by ANR. Absent a determination of the Environmental judge to the contrary, an 

aggrieved person may only appeal issues related to the person’s comments to ANR as prescribed by 10 V.S.A. § 

8504(d)(2). Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. Chapter 220 and the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, 

any appeal of this permit or an authorization made pursuant to this permit, except for an appeal of a renewable 

energy plant, must be filed with the clerk of the Environmental Division of the Superior Court within 30 days of 

the date of the decision. The address for the Vermont Environmental Court is: Vermont Superior Court, 

Environmental Division, 32 Cherry Street, 2nd Floor, Suite 303, Burlington VT 05401 (Tel.  (802)  951-1740).  

For further information, see the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings, available online at 

www.vermontjudiciary.org.   

 

 

 

The notice of appeal must specify the parties taking the appeal and the statutory provision under which each 

party claims party status; must designate the act or decision appealed from; must name the Environmental 

Division; and must be signed by the appellant or the appellant’s attorney. In addition, the appeal must give the 

address or location and description of the property, project, or facility with which the appeal is concerned and 

the name of the applicant or any permit involved in the appeal. The appellant must also serve a copy of the 

notice of appeal in accordance with Rule 5(b)(4)(B) of the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court 

Proceedings. For further information, see the Vermont Rules for Environmental Court Proceedings.  

If the determination relates to a renewable energy plant for which a certificate of public good is required under 

30 V.S.A. § 248, any appeal of such determination must be filed with the Vermont Public Utility Commission 

pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 8506. Section 8506 does not apply to a facility that is subject to 10 V.S.A. § 1004 

(dams before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission), 10 V.S.A. § 1006 (certification of hydroelectric 

projects), or 10 V.S.A. Chapter 43 (dams). Any appeal under Section 8506 must be filed with the clerk of the 

Public Utility Commission within 30 days of the date of this decision; the appellant must file with the clerk an 

original and six copies of its appeal. The appellant shall provide notice of the filing of an appeal in accordance 

with 10 V.S.A. § 8504(c)(2) and shall also serve a copy of the notice of appeal on the Vermont Public Service 

Department. For further information, see the Rules and General Orders of the Public Utility Commission. 

Julia S. Moore, Secretary 

Agency of Natural Resources 

http://www.vermontjudiciary.org/
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