



August 31, 2021

Ms. Deborah Jordan
Acting Regional Administrator
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, California 94105
jordan.deborah@epa.gov

Dear Ms. Jordan:

With this letter, the California Air Resources Board (CARB) is providing to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) the attached EMFAC2017 Off-Model Adjustment Factors that account for the benefits of several recently adopted on-road heavy-duty vehicle and engine regulations. We are requesting that U.S. EPA expeditiously approve these factors for use by metropolitan planning organizations and regional transportation planning agencies in determining conformity of transportation projects, programs, and plans with applicable implementation plans.

Since 2018, CARB has adopted several on-road vehicle regulations that significantly reduce criteria and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from on-road heavy duty vehicles. These regulations include Heavy-Duty Warranty Phase 1, Innovative Clean Transit (ICT), Amendments to the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection Program (HDVIP), Periodic Smoke Inspection Program (PSIP), Advanced Clean Trucks (ACT), and Heavy-Duty (HD) Omnibus. The benefits of these regulations are not reflected in the EMFAC2017 model since the model was released before these programs were adopted. The attached document provides a set of off-model adjustment factors that can be used to adjust the emissions output of the EMFAC2017 model to account for the benefits of these regulations.

If you have any questions or need further information, please contact Dr. Sam Pournazeri, Branch Chief, Mobile Source Analysis Branch at <u>sam.pournazeri@arb.ca.gov</u> or (916) 600-6188.

Sincerely,

Richard W. Corey, Executive Officer

Enclosure

cc: See next page.

cc: Tamera Leighton, Executive Director, Del Norte Local Transportation Commission tamera@dnltc.org

Beth Burks, Executive Director, Humboldt County Association of Governments beth.burks@hcaog.net

Lisa Davey-Bates, Executive Director, Lake County/City Area Planning Council ldaveybates@dbcteam.net

Nephele Barrett, Executive Director, Mendocino Council of Governments barrettn@dow-associates.com

Dan Little, Executive Director, Shasta Regional Transportation Agency dlittle@srta.ca.gov

John Clerici, Executive Secretary, Lassen County Transportation Commission ilfclerici@gmail.com

Debbie Pedersen, Executive Director, Modoc County Transportation Commission dpedersen@modoctransportation.com

Jim Graham, (Interim) Executive Director, Plumas County Transportation Commission jimgraham@countyofplumas.com

Jeff Schwein, Executive Director, Siskiyou County Local Transportation Commission jeff@greendottransportation.com

Tim McSorley, Executive Director, Tehama County Transportation Commission tmcsorley@tcpw.ca.gov

Richard Tippett, Executive Secretary, Trinity County Transportation Commission rtippett@trinitycounty.org

Jon A. Clark, Executive Director, Butte County Association of Governments jonclark@bcag.org

Mike Acevedo, Public Works Director, Colusa County Transportation Commission mjazevedo@countyofcolusa.com

Woodrow Deloria, Executive Director, El Dorado County Transportation Commission wdeloria@edctc.org

Donald RustCole Grube, Executive Director, Glenn County Transportation Commission planning@countyofglenn.net

Mike Woodman, Executive Director, Nevada County Transportation Commission mwoodman@nccn.net

Michael Luken, Executive Director, Placer County Transportation Planning Agency mluken@pctpa.net

James Corless, Executive Director, Sacramento Area Council of Governments jcorless@sacog.org

Continued on next page.

cc: Tim H. Beals, Executive Director, Sierra County Local Transportation Commission theals@sierracounty.ws

Joanne Marchetta, Executive Director, Tahoe Regional Planning Agency jmarchetta@trpa.org

Therese McMillan, Executive Director, Metropolitan Transportation Commission tmcmillan@bayareametro.gov

Maura Twomey, Executive Director, Association of Monterey Bay Area Governments mtwomey@ambag.org

Mary Gilbert, Executive Director, Council of San Benito County Governments mary@sanbenitocog.org

Peter Rodgers, Executive Director, San Luis Obispo Council of Governments prodgers@slocog.org

Marjie Kirn, Executive Director, Santa Barbara County Association of Governments mkirn@sbcag.org

Guy Preston, Executive Director, Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission

gpreston@sccrtc.org

Debbie Hale, Executive Director, Transportation Agency for Monterey County debbie@tamcmonterey.org

Tony Boren, Executive Director, Fresno Council of Governments tboren@fresnocog.org

Ahron R. Hakimi, Executive Director, Kern Council of Governments ahakimi@kerncog.org

Terri King, Executive Director, Kings County Association of Governments terri.king@co.kings.ca.us

Patricia Taylor, Executive Director, Madera County Transportation Commission patricia@maderactc.org

Ted Smalley, Executive Director, Tulare County Association of Governments TSmalley@tularecog.org

Michael Errante, Executive Director, Inyo County Local Transportation Commission merrante@inyocounty.us

Gerry Le Francois, Executive Director, Mono County Local Transportation Commission *glefrancois@mono.ca.gov*

Debbie Burkett, Director Community Development, Alpine County Local Transportation Commission dburkett@alpinecountyca.gov

Continued on next page.

cc: John Gedney, Executive Director, Amador County Transportation Commission john@actc-amador.org

Amber Collins, Executive Director, Calaveras Council of Governments acollins@calacog.org

Shannon Hansen, Executive Director, Mariposa County Local Transportation Commission

shansen@mariposacounty.org

Stacie Guzman, Executive Director, Merced County Association of Governments stacie.guzman@mcagov.org

Diane Nguyen, Executive Director, San Joaquin Council of Governments nguyen@sjcog.org

Rosa Park, Executive Director, Stanislaus Council of Governments rpark@stancog.org

Darin Grossi , Executive Director, Tuolumne County Transportation Council dgrossi@co.tuolumne.ca.us

Hasan Ikhrata, Executive Director, San Diego Association of Governments hasan.ikhrata@sandag.org

Kome Ajise, Executive Director, Southern California Association of Governments ajise@scag.ca.gov

Sam Pournazeri, Branch Chief, Mobile Source Analysis Branch sam.pournazeri@arb.ca.gov