

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY WASHINGTON, D.C. 20460

THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

March 27, 2023

MEMORANDUM

SUBJECT: Notification:

Inquiry into the East Palestine Train Derailment

OSRE-FY23-G-0058

FROM: Sean W. O'Donnell San W. O'Ponual

TO: Debra Shore, Regional Administrator

EPA Region 5

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Office of Inspector General is initiating an inquiry into the EPA's response to the February 3, 2023 train derailment in East Palestine, Ohio. As part of this inquiry, we will conduct interviews, gather data, and analyze a variety of issues, including hazardous waste disposal, air and water monitoring, soil and sediment sampling, and risk communication. We may contact individuals in relevant EPA Region 5 divisions as well other EPA program offices.

We respectfully note that the OIG is authorized by the Inspector General Act of 1978, as amended, to have timely access to personnel and all materials necessary to complete its objectives. Similarly, EPA Manual 6500, Functions and Activities of the Office of Inspector General (1994), requires that each EPA employee cooperate with and fully disclose information to the OIG. Administrator Michael S. Regan, in an April 28, 2021 email message to EPA employees, conveyed his "expectation that EPA personnel provide OIG timely access to records or other information" and observed that "full cooperation with the OIG is in the best interest of the public we serve." We will request that you immediately resolve the situation if an Agency employee or contractor refuses to provide requested materials to the OIG or otherwise fails to cooperate with the OIG. Consistent with the IG Act, we may report unresolved access matters to the administrator and to Congress.

We will post this memorandum on our <u>public website</u>. Anyone with knowledge of potential fraud, waste, abuse, misconduct, or mismanagement related to this inquiry should contact the OIG's Hotline at (888) 546-8740 or via an electronic form on the "OIG Hotline" <u>webpage</u>.

Questions about this topic should be directed to the OIG's public affairs office at (202) 566-2391.

cc: Janet McCabe, Deputy Administrator
Dan Utech, Chief of Staff, Office of the Administrator
Jon Monger, Assistant Deputy Administrator
Wesley J. Carpenter, Deputy Chief of Staff for Management, Office of the Administrator
Barry Breen, Acting Assistant Administrator for Land and Emergency Management

Ann Heard, Acting Deputy Assistant Administrator for Land and Emergency Management Kathleen Salyer, Director, Office of Emergency Management, Office of Land and Emergency Management

Kecia Thornton, Audit Follow-Up Coordinator, Office of Land and Emergency Management

Andrew LeBlanc, Agency Follow-Up Coordinator

José Kercado, Backup Agency Follow-Up Coordinator

Maria Michalos, Acting Associate Administrator for Public Affairs

Lance McCluney, Director, Office of Administrative and Executive Services, Office of the Administrator

Cheryl Newton, Deputy Administrator, Region 5

Dale Meyer, Acting Audit Follow-Up Coordinator, Region 5

Regional Audit Follow-Up Coordinators, Regions 1–10

Nicole N. Murley, Deputy Inspector General

Benjamin May, Counsel to the Inspector General

Kellie J. Walker, Chief of Staff, Office of Inspector General

Katherine Trimble, Assistant Inspector General for Audit

Paul H. Bergstrand, Assistant Inspector General for Special Review and Evaluation

Jason Abend, Assistant Inspector General for Investigations

Michael C. Zola, Assistant Inspector General for Congressional and Public Affairs

Jee Kim, Senior Advisor to the Inspector General

Aimee Peralta, Senior Advisor to the Inspector General

Tom Collick, Deputy Counsel to the Inspector General

Sandra John, Acting Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Audit

Marcus Gullett, Acting Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Audit

Erin Barnes-Weaver, Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Evaluation

Kristin Kafka, Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Administrative Investigations

James Hatfield, Special Advisor, Office of Audit, Office of Inspector General

Susan Barvenik, Associate Deputy Counsel to the Inspector General

Jennifer Kaplan, Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Congressional and Public Affairs

Lynn Carlson, Deputy Assistant Inspector General for Congressional and Public Affairs

Lori Hoffman, Congressional and Media Liaison, Office of Inspector General