

OFFICE OF CHEMICAL SAFETY AND POLLUTION PREVENTION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20460

April 18, 2024

Kelly E. Lester
Jonathan Kalmuss-Katz
Earthjustice
48 Wall Street, 15th Floor
New York, New York 10005
(332) 251-0243
(212)823-4989
klester@earthjustice.org
jkalmusskatz@earthjustice.org

Robert M. Sussman Sussman & Associates 3101 Garfield Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20008 (202) 716-0118 bobsussman1@comcast.net

Dear Ms. Lester, Mr. Kalmuss-Katz, and Mr. Sussman:

I am writing to confirm that on April 11, 2024, the Environmental Protection Agency received your petition, submitted on behalf of Center for Environmental Health, Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility, Alaska Community Action on Toxics, Clean Cape Fear, Clean Water Action, Delaware Riverkeeper, and Merrimack Citizens for Clean Water, requesting that EPA "establish regulations pursuant to Section 6 of [the Toxic Substances Control Act (]TSCA[)], 15 U.S.C. [section] 2605, prohibiting the manufacturing, processing, use, distribution in commerce, and disposal of three perand polyfluoroalkyl substances ([']PFAS['])—perfluorooctanoic acid (CASRN 335-67-1) ([']PFOA[']), perfluorononanoic acid (CASRN 375-95-1) ([']PFNA[']), and perfluorodecanoic acid (CASRN 335-76-2) ([']PFDA['])—formed during the fluorination of plastic containers."

Your petition has been filed pursuant to section 21 for the TSCA and, as required under this section, the EPA will either grant or deny the portions of your petition eligible for TSCA section 21 within 90 days of the date we received your petition (i.e., by July 10, 2024).

If EPA grants your petition, then the Agency will promptly commence an appropriate proceeding. If EPA denies your petition in whole or in part, then the Agency will publish the reasons for denial in the *Federal Register*.

If you have any questions relating to your petition or the EPA's guidelines for TSCA section 21 petitions, feel free to contact Thomas Groeneveld of my staff at (202) 566-1188 or groeneveld.thomas@epa.gov.

Sincerely,

Mary Elissa Reaves, Ph.D.
Director
Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics