WHITE HOUSE ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ADVISORY COUNCIL (WHEJAC) WORKGROUPS

WHEJAC workgroups were established to develop draft recommendations to assist the WHEJAC in providing independent advice and recommendations to the Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) and to the White House Interagency Council on Environmental Justice (IAC) on how to increase the Federal Government's efforts to address current and historic environmental injustice. The workgroups were created in support of the President's Executive Order on Tackling the Climate Crisis at Home and Abroad.

1. WHEJAC Carbon Management Workgroup

Established June 2023

CHARGE: What are the core elements of a multi-agency strategy – apart from carbon capture usage and storage (CCUS) – that can address potential use of carbon management while protecting communities?

MEMBERS: LaTricea Adams – Dr. Beverly Wright - Angelo Logan – Catherine Coleman Flowers – Jerome Foster – Juan Parras – Dr. Kyle Whyte - Dr. Nicky Sheats – Peggy Shepard – Dr. Rachel Morello Frosch – Maria López-Núñez – Dr. Robert Bullard

2. WHEJAC Executive Order 14096 Workgroup

Established December 2023

CHARGE: Provide advice and recommendations to the White House Council on Environmental Quality and the White House Environmental Justice Interagency Council to inform the Federal government's implementation of Executive Order 14096.

MEMBERS: LaTricea Adams – Dr. Kyle Whyte - Michele Roberts – Harold Mitchell – Dr. Beverly Wright – Miya Yoshitani – Tom Cormons – Peggy Shepard – Maria Belen Power – Angelo Logan – Maria López-Núñez

3. WHEJAC Indigenous Peoples and Tribal Nations Workgroup

Established: January 2022

CHARGE: Provide recommendations for improving federal policy regarding environmental justice for Tribal communities and Indigenous Peoples as it relates to addressing disproportionately high and adverse human health, environmental, climate-related, and other cumulative impacts, as well as the accompanying economic challenges of such impacts, and

underinvestment in housing, transportation, water and wastewater, infrastructure, and health care. The working group's recommendations will adopt the precautionary principle to first do no harm.

MEMBERS: Susana Almanza - Jade Begay - Carletta Tilousi – Viola Waghiyi – Dr. Kyle Whyte

4. WHEJAC Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool Workgroup

Established March 2021

CHARGE: Provide advice and recommendations to the WHEJAC to inform future versions of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST) and ensure that the tool continues to accurately identify disadvantaged communities. The recommendations and advice should focus on identifying:

- I. Relevant datasets that are publicly available, nationally consistent, and available at the census tract level, which could be considered for incorporation into the tool;
- II. Potential improvements to the methodology, including to better reflect cumulative burdens in the tool;
- III. Potential approaches for improving linguistic outreach;
- IV. Potential ways to enhance the usability of the tool, and
- V. Any other possible strategies that would support updates and further implementation.

MEMBERS: Jade Begay - Catherine Coleman Flowers - Jerome Foster II - Dr. Rachel Morello-Frosch - Juan Parras – Dr. Nicky Sheats - Michele Roberts - Viola Waghiyi

5. WHEJAC Environmental Justice Scorecard Workgroup

Established September 2021

CHARGE: Provide advice and recommendations to the Interagency Council on performance metrics that will help evaluate and assess progress on the agency's progress in addressing current and historic environmental injustice.

MEMBERS: Dr. Robert Bullard - Maria López-Núñez - Richard Moore - Dr. Rachel Morello-Frosch - Peggy Shepard - Michele Roberts – Dr. Kyle Whyte Dr. Beverly Wright

6. WHEJAC Climate Planning, Preparedness, Response, Recovery and Impacts Workgroup

Established January 2022

<u>Biden-Harris Administration Commitments to Enhance Climate Change Resilience and Disaster Management</u>

CHARGE: Provide advice and recommendations to the Environmental Justice Interagency Council and the Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality on a whole-of-government approach to environmental justice, including climate change mitigation, resilience, and disaster management.

MEMBERS: Jade Begay - Catherine Coleman Flowers - Angelo Logan - Maria López-Núñez - Richard Moore - Rachel Morello-Frosch - Juan Parras Michele Roberts - Miya Yoshitani