
K.A.R. 28-19-546 Class II Operating Permits; Annual Emission 
Inventory and Fees.   
 
 
The owner or operator of each stationary source that is required to 

apply for a Class II operating permit shall comply with this 

regulation.  

(a) Annual emissions inventory.  

(1) Each owner or operator shall submit to the department an 

annual emissions inventory for each stationary source for the year 

preceding the calendar year in which the owner or operator is 

required to apply for an operating permit and each year thereafter.  

(2) Each annual emissions inventory shall be submitted for any 

regulated pollutant deemed necessary by the secretary from each 

emission unit, as defined in K.A.R. 28-19-200, and shall include the 

following:  

(A) All operating information;  

(B) actual emissions, including fugitive emissions, calculated 

pursuant to K.A.R. 28-19-210;  

(C) any quantity of emissions regardless of operating hours, 

including sources that did not operate; and  

(D) emissions from each source only while operating in Kansas, 

if the source operates both in Kansas and out of state.  

(b) Annual emissions fees.  

(1) Each owner or operator shall pay to the department annual 

emissions fees calculated by the department based on information 

provided in the annual emissions inventory.  
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(2) For calendar year 2025 and for each subsequent calendar 

year, the annual emissions fees shall be the sum of the hazardous air 

pollutant (HAP) emissions fee and the criteria emissions fee as 

follows:  

(A) The HAP emissions fee shall be $80.00 per ton of emissions 

multiplied by the total number of tons of HAP emissions rounded to 

the nearest ton.  

(B) The criteria emissions fee shall be $56.00 per ton of 

emissions multiplied by the total number of tons of emissions, with a 

maximum of 4,000 tons of each of the following pollutants rounded to 

the nearest ton:  

(i) Sulfur dioxide;  

(ii) nitrogen oxides;  

(iii) PM10, excluding PM10 emissions already accounted for as 

HAP emissions in paragraph (b)(2)(A); and  

(iv) volatile organic compounds (VOCs), excluding VOC emissions 

already accounted for as HAP emissions in paragraph (b)(2)(A).  

(c) Submittal.  

(1) Each annual emissions inventory shall be signed by a 

responsible official, as defined in K.A.R. 28-19-200, and shall be 

due on or before April 1 of each year or, if April 1 is a Saturday or 

Sunday, on or before the next business day following April 1.  

(2) Each payment for annual emissions fees shall be payable to 

the Kansas department of health and environment by check, bank draft, 
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credit card, or money order. Each payment shall be due on or before 

April 1 of each year or, if April 1 is a Saturday or Sunday, on or 

before the next business day following April 1.  

(3) If there is a change in the owner or operator of the 

stationary source, the owner or operator at the time the submission 

is due shall be responsible for submitting the annual emissions 

inventory and annual emissions fees. For purposes of determining the 

annual emissions inventory required by subsection (a) for any period 

in which there was any other owner or operator of the stationary 

source, the owner or operator may assume current operating and 

emission information if the owner or operator is unable to obtain 

actual information from any previous owner or operator.  

(d) Late fee and refund.  

(1) Each owner or operator who fails to submit the annual 

emissions inventory and pay the annual emissions fees by the due date 

specified in subsection (c) shall pay a late fee. The late fee shall 

be $200.00 per day or 0.10 percent of the annual emissions fees per 

day, whichever is greater.  

(2) Any overpayment of $100.00 or more made by the owner or 

operator of a stationary source may be refunded. Overpayments in any 

amount less than $100.00 shall not be refunded. (Authorized by K.S.A. 

65-3005 and 65- 3024; implementing K.S.A. 65-3007 and 65-3024; 

effective Jan. 23, 1995; amended Feb. 20, 1998; amended Sept. 23, 
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2005; amended Dec. 23, 2022.)  
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EPA Rulemakings 
 
CFR:   40 52.870(c) 
FRM:   90 FR 17554 (4/28/25), eff. date May 28, 2025. 
PRM:   90 FR 3731 (1/15/25) 
State Submission: 2/20/23 
State Effective Date: 12/23/22 
APDB File: KS-122  
Description:  This revision amends K.A.R. 28-19-546 by adding new paragraphs (a) through (d) to 
align with the Class I annual emissions inventory and fee regulation K.A.R. 28-19-517. New paragraph (b) 
establishes annual emission fees beginning in calendar year 2025 of $56 per ton of criteria emissions 
and $80 per ton of HAP emissions. New paragraph (c) describes the submittal requirements for both 
inventory and fees and new paragraph (d) adds late fee and refund language. 
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 52.870(c) 
FRM:   73 FR 7468 (02/08/2008) 
PRM:   75 FR 7504 (02/08/2008) 
State Submission: 03/08/2006; 8/16/2007 
State Effective Date: 9/23/2005 
APDB File:  KS-80; EPA-R07-OAR-2007-0829 
Description: This revision changed the date for emission inventory submittals to April 1 and clarified 
that if April 1 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline for submission falls on the next business 
day.  
 
CFR:   40 C.F.R. 52.870(c)(30)(i)(B) 
FRM:   60 FR 36361 (7/17/95) 
PRM:   60 FR 36377 (7/17/95) 
State Submission: 2/17/95 
State Effective Date: 1/23/95 
APDB File: KS-39 
Description: This revision adopted this new rule to establish the class II operating permit procedures 
available for sources that would otherwise be required to obtain a class I permit. 
 
 
 
Difference Between the State and EPA-Approved Regulation 
 
The word “electronically” in paragraph (a)(1) is not approved. 
 


