Watershed Academy Webcast Seminars

Local watershed organizations, municipal leaders and others are invited to sign up for these free, online webcast training sessions. Attendees must register in advance to participate in webcasts. During the webcasts, trainees log onto the web to participate in live training conducted by expert instructors. Your computer must have the capability of playing sound in order to attend the webcasts. The Watershed Academy offers a certificate to those who attend webcasts. Streaming audio versions of past webcasts are available.

EPA’s Watershed Academy is pleased to sponsor its 91st free Webcast Seminar:

Wed., Nov. 30, 2016

“Understanding Nutrient Issues Affecting Ohio’s Inland Lakes”

Speakers:

  • Rick Wilson, Environmental Specialist, Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, Columbus, OH
  • Shannon Brattebo, Environmental Engineer, Tetra Tech, Spokane, WA
  • Dr. Harry Gibbons, Scientist, Tetra Tech, Seattle, WA

Please join us for a webcast presenting information on the evolution of Ohio’s efforts to restore and protect inland lakes from nutrient related impairments through the strategic collection and use of data along with engagement of appropriate watershed stakeholders.

USEPA is providing technical assistance to Ohio to advance the State’s nutrient reduction efforts, specifically reducing the occurrence and impact of harmful algal blooms in inland lakes and lakes that are sources of drinking water. Recently, Tetra Tech developed conceptual lake management plans for Kiser Lake and Lake Alma. Both lakes are managed by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources as part of the state park system.  

Rick Wilson will discuss collaboration with Inland Lakes and drinking water program staff to prioritize lakes, recent steps to develop more robust lake management planning, and lessons learned at Grand Lake St. Marys and Buckeye Lake. Tetra Tech will discuss two case studies at Kiser Lake and Lake Alma and then tie these plans to lake management planning topics that can be applied in other states, including minimum data needs, defining the problems and causes in lakes, and the importance of adaptive management and long-term monitoring.

The webcast presentation will be posted in advance at https://www.epa.gov/watershedacademy/watershed-academy-webcast-seminars. Also, webcast participants are eligible to receive a certificate for their attendance.

2 hour audio Web broadcast

Eastern: 1:00p.m.–3:00p.m.

Central: 12:00p.m.–2:00p.m.

Mountain: 11:00a.m.–1:00p.m.

Pacific: 10:00a.m.–12:00p.m.