Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Waste Site Cleanup & Reuse in New England

RCRA Corrective Action

Find a Cleanup Site
Regional Search
Search by name, street, or town.
List RCRA Corrective Action Sites by State:
CT | ME | MA | NH | RI | VT
 Advanced Search
* Find environmental info by zip code!
National Search
Cleanups in My Community

The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) was enacted by Congress in 1976. RCRA's primary goals are to protect human health and the environment from the potential hazards of waste disposal, to conserve energy and natural resources, to reduce the amount of waste generated, and to ensure that wastes are managed in an environmentally sound manner. For a more in-depth overview of RCRA and its programs, see information on RCRA Enforcement and the RCRA Orientation Manual.

Congress amended RCRA in 1984 with the Hazardous and Solid Waste Amendments (HSWA) to require facilities that have treated, stored, or disposed of hazardous wastes (TSDs) to clean up environmental contaminants released into soil, ground water, surface water, and air at their sites regardless of the time of the release. This cleanup at TSD facilities is termed RCRA Corrective Action.

The Corrective Action program requires RCRA TSD facilities to address the investigation and cleanup of these hazardous releases themselves, in accordance with state and federal requirements. There are 167 New England facilities that are part of the Corrective Action Baseline of sites. The degree of investigation and subsequent Corrective Action necessary to protect human health and the environment varies significantly among facilities. Cleanup progress at these sites is measured, in part, by interim cleanup milestones known as Environmental Indicators (EIs). Information on New England RCRA Corrective Action facilities is available on-line via one of the links below:

When EPA determines that state programs are equivalent to the federal RCRA program, the Corrective Action program may be delegated to the state. At this time all six New England sites are authorized to run their own corrective action programs.

For more detailed program information:

National and Regional Documents



Jump to main content.