Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


Early Smog Reductions in 14 U.S. Communities

Release Date: 11/27/2006
Contact Information: John Millett, (202) 564-4355 /

(11/27/06) Fourteen communities across the United States remain ahead of schedule in the effort to reduce ground-level ozone -- or smog -- as part of a program that encourages steps to protect air quality. The progress these areas have made under EPA's Early Actions Compacts program puts them on track to meet clean air requirements one to two years sooner than required.

Early Action Compacts provide a strong incentive for state and local governments, civic leaders and business interests to develop innovative, cost-effective strategies for improving ozone air quality in ways that are tailored to individual communities. Fifteen additional Early Action Compact areas already meet the 8-hour ozone standard, but chose to join the compact to ensure that they stay in attainment while continuing voluntary steps to protect the health and quality of life in their communities.

Today's final rule changes the date Clean Air Act Requirements would take effect for 13 Early Action Compacts from Dec. 31, 2006 to April 15, 2008 and to July 1, 2007 for the Denver area. If all these areas meet the 8-hour standard for ground-level ozone by Dec. 31, 2007, which they are on track to do, they will be designated as in attainment. The areas are: Frederick County/Winchester, Va.; Roanoke area, Va.; Washington County/Hagerstown, Md.; Berkeley & Jefferson Counties, W.Va.; Hickory-Morganton-Lenoir area, N.C.; Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point area, N.C.; Fayetteville, N.C.; Greenville-Spartanburg-Anderson, S.C.; Columbia area, S.C.; Chattanooga area, Tenn./Ga.; Nashville area, Tenn.; Johnson City-Kingsport-Bristol area, Tenn.; San Antonio area, Texas; and Denver-Boulder-Greeley-Ft. Collins-Love area, Colo.

Information on the rule:

Fact sheet: