Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Honors Recipients of 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards

Release Date: 06/22/2009
Contact Information: Dale Kemery 202-564-7839 202-564-4355

June 22, 2009

EPA Honors Recipients of 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards

WASHINGTON – For the 14th year, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is recognizing chemical technologies developed by leading researchers and industrial innovators who are making significant contributions to pollution prevention in the United States. The awards will be made this evening, June 22, at the Green Chemistry Challenge Awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards are given in five categories: Academic, Small Business, Greener Synthetic Pathways, Greener Reaction Conditions and Designing Greener Chemicals. The 2009 Award winners are:

    Professor Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Virent Energy Systems, Inc., Madison, Wis.
    Eastman Chemical Company, Kingsport, Tenn.
    CEM Corporation, Matthews, N.C
    Procter & Gamble Company, Cincinnati, Ohio, jointly with Cook Composites and Polymers Company, North Kansas City, Mo.

EPA’s Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge promotes research and development of less-hazardous alternatives to existing technologies that reduce or eliminate waste, particularly hazardous waste, in industrial production. An independent panel of technical experts convened by the American Chemical Society selected the winners from nearly 100 nominated technologies. Over the past 14 years, awardees’ work has led to the elimination of more than 1.3 billion pounds of hazardous chemicals and solvents, nearly 43 billion gallons of water, and about 450 million pounds of carbon dioxide. These benefits are in addition to significant energy and cost savings by the winners and their customers.

More information:
Listen to Podcasts about this year’s winners:
Watch the Green Chemistry Green Scene Video: