Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA’s top leader presents commendation to Rockville citizens for volunteerism

Release Date: 09/24/2007
Contact Information: Roy Seneca (EPA), 215-814-5567

(Rockville, Md. – September 24, 2007) Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Stephen L. Johnson presented eight Rockville, Md., residents with the President’s Volunteer Service Award today for their outstanding work to improve public health and create a healthier environment.

All eight residents serve on the city’s Commission on the Environment, a volunteer organization that advises the mayor and city council on environmental issues.

“Today we honor the citizen volunteers who serve on Rockville’s Commission on the Environment for answering President Bush’s call to serve a cause greater than themselves,” said Johnson. “Dedicated volunteers like these are inspiring others to join them in delivering America a brighter, healthier future.”

The awardees include commission chairperson Faith Klareich, Doug Beard, Kris Dighe, Beri Kravitz, Audra Lew, Tolulope Odunlami, Geoffrey Sanders and Sura Yakowitz. Also recognized with an award was the deceased Jerry Leighton, who provided longstanding volunteer service to the commission.

Some of the valuable work done by the commission included reviewing and commenting on a draft water quality protection ordinance, reviewing a proposal to reinvent how Rockville handles refuse and recycling, commenting on energy-efficiency and green-building opportunities for a proposed community center, and recommending a green building and development policy.

In his January 2002 State of the Union address, President Bush called on all Americans to make a difference in their communities through volunteer service. The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President's Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteerism. More information on the President’s Volunteer Service Award is available at