Contact Us


All News Releases By Date


EPA Recognizes Patuxent Resevoirs Watershed Committee for ‘Extraordinary Actions’ to Protect Watershed

Release Date: 4/1/2003
Contact Information: Roy Seneca, (215) 814-5567

Roy Seneca, (215) 814-5567

PHILADELPHIA - The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency presented the Patuxent Reservoirs Watershed Technical Advisory Committee, Laurel, Md., a Clean Waters Partner award for taking “extraordinary actions” to protect watersheds.

The advisory committee consists of representatives from three counties, two soil conservation districts, a local water utility and a bi-county park and planning commission that have banded together to protect local water resources, which include many miles of streams and two drinking water reservoirs.

“The proactive environmental work being done by the Patuxent Reservoirs Watershed Technical Advisory Committee demonstrates how local organizations can work together to play an important role in protecting our nation’s waters,” said Donald S. Welsh, regional administrator for EPA’s mid-Atlantic region.

The advisory committee is among 79 organizations and municipalities selected nationwide as Clean Water Partners. The program is part of EPA’s celebration of the Year of Clean Water. EPA Administrator Christie Whitman and Assistant Administrator G. Tracy Mehan III presented the awards during ceremonies today.

Although the advisory committee is the lead organization receiving the award, certificates were presented to all groups on the committee, which include the following Maryland organizations:

• Howard County Department of Planning and Zoning
• Howard County Department of Public Works, Stormwater Division
• Howard County Health Department
• Howard Soil Conservation District
• Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
• Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection
• Montgomery Soil Conservation District
• Prince Georges County Department of Environmental Resources
• Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission

Applications for the awards were announced in the Federal Register in April 2002. Each applicant had to complete a compliance screening and was reviewed by a panel including EPA, the Water Environment Federation, Association of Metropolitan Sewerage Agencies (AMSA) and National League of Cities.