An official website of the United States government.

News Releases from Headquarters

EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt Meets with National Tribal Caucus Chairman

Contact Information: 
U.S. EPA Media Relations (

WASHINGTON-- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Scott Pruitt held a working meeting on Wednesday with Evaristo Cruz, chairman of the National Tribal Caucus (NTC), to discuss environmental challenges in Indian country. The meeting is the latest in Administrator Pruitt’s efforts to restore and strengthen relationships with key tribal partners and local communities.

The NTC is a national body of high-level tribal advisors. Their focus is to identify and address tribal environmental issues that are national, cross-agency or cross-media, and issues that are emerging or urgent.

In addition to leading the NTC, Chairman Cruz is Director of Environmental and Natural Resources for Ysleta del Sur Pueblo of Texas. He also volunteers as State of Texas Tribal Representative on EPA’s Region 6 Regional Tribal Operations Committee, and as the Federal Native American Tribal Representative on EPA’s Good Neighbor Environmental Board.

“Chairman Cruz and the National Tribal Caucus are important partners that help EPA achieve its mission to protect the health of all Americans,” said Administrator Pruitt. “I look forward to working towards the agency’s commitment to the 1984 EPA Indian Policy, and working closely and continuously with the National Tribal Caucus to ensure clean water, air and land for America’s tribes.”

“As an NTC representative,” said Chairman Cruz, “I’m pleased that Administrator Pruitt sat down with us to talk about priorities in Native American communities. We look forward to continue to work with him and continue the legacy EPA has in cooperating with tribes.”

Administrator Pruitt meets with National Tribal Caucus Chairman Cruz at EPA headquartersPHOTO: Administrator Scott Pruitt meets with National Tribal Caucus Chairman Evaristo Cruz, at EPA headquarters in Washington, D.C., on April 5, 2017.