We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

News Releases from Region 07

Nineteen Emergency Planning and Emergency Response Agencies Honored For Their Work in Reducing Chemical Risk

Contact Information: 
David Bryan (bryan.david@epa.gov)

Environmental News


(Lenexa, Kan., Sept. 30, 2015) - Nineteen emergency planning organizations were honored Aug. 8 by the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)/Tribal Emergency Response Commission (TERC) Emergency Planning and Response Regional Conference for their exemplary work in reducing chemical risk in the county. The regional conference includes the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska, as well as nine tribal nations.

LEPCs and TERCs were created in 1986 by the federal Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA). LEPC/TERCs help reduce the community's risks from accidents involving hazardous chemicals. LEPCs normally include representatives from fire departments and districts, law enforcement agencies, emergency medical services agencies, private industry, city and county emergency management officials, local media, and state and federal agencies. Because of the importance of making this information available to all communities, EPA recognizes tribal governments as the appropriate implementing authority of EPCRA in Indian Country.

Organizations honored include:

Small LEPC
Cass County, Iowa
Adair-Guthrie Counties, Iowa
Anderson County, Kansas
Linn County, Missouri

Mid-Sized LEPC
Reno County, Kansas
Laclede County, Missouri
Howard County, Nebraska

Large LEPC
Region V, Iowa - Pocahontas, Humboldt, Wright, Sac, Calhoun, Webster, Hamilton, Carroll, and Greene counties
Sedgwick County, Kansas
St. Louis County, Missouri
Homestead, Nebraska

CJ BioAmerica - Fort Dodge, Iowa
East Kansas Agri-Energy - Anderson County
St. Louis Metro Transit Authority - Missouri
Union Pacific - Nebraska
Omaha Public Power District - Nebraska

Social Media
Adair-Guthrie LEPC, Iowa
Mercer County, Missouri

Web Site
Franklin County, Missouri

NOTE TO EDITORS: Photos and details of award recipients are available upon request.

The Local Emergency Planning Committee/Tribal Emergency Response Commission Emergency Planning and Response Regional Conference has recognized outstanding achievement in community preparedness since 2001. The conference is organized by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Kansas Division of Emergency Management, Missouri Emergency Response Commission, Nebraska State Emergency Response Commission, U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency, and Occupational Safety and Health Administration, as well as representatives from industries and LEPCs.

# # #

Learn more about Local Emergency Planning Committees

Learn more about Tribal Emergency Response Commissions

View all Region 7 news releases

Connect with EPA Region 7 on Facebook: www.facebook.com/eparegion7

Follow us on Twitter: @EPARegion7