We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

News Releases

News Releases from Region 04

Nominations for EPA Region 4 Rain Catcher Award-Deadline is March 15, 2017

Contact Information: 
Dawn Harris Young, (harris-young.dawn@epa.gov)
(404) 562-8421 (Direct), (404) 562-8400 (Main)

ATLANTA – For the fourth consecutive year, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is accepting nominations for the Rain Catcher Awards for excellence in implementation of stormwater green infrastructure projects during the past year. Award categories are available for Municipal, Commercial, Tribal, and Neighborhood/Community levels.

Nominations are due to EPA by March 15, 2017. The awardees will be honored at a ceremony in Charleston, SC on May 17, 2017. 

For award criteria and nomination instructions, visit the About EPA Region 4 web page at: https://www.epa.gov/ga/epa-region-4-rain-catcher-awards

The EPA Region 4 Rain Catcher Award recognizes excellence in the implementation of stormwater green infrastructure practices. Green infrastructure uses natural systems and/or engineered systems designed to mimic natural processes to more effectively manage urban stormwater and reduce receiving water impacts. EPA and its partner organizations have promoted the use of green infrastructure for many years as part of a comprehensive approach to achieving healthier waters. Green infrastructure reduces the volume of stormwater discharges by managing rainwater close to where it falls and removes many of the pollutants present in runoff, making it an effective strategy for addressing wet weather pollution and improving water quality.

Connect with EPA Region 4 on Facebook: www.facebook.com/eparegion4.

And on Twitter: @EPASoutheast.