An official website of the United States government.

Region 5 Tribal Program

EPA Region 5 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The Region serves 35 federally recognized tribes within the states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

On this page:

The Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 5

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Intertribal Consortia

Top of Page

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 5

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 5, see the regional procedures below.

Top of Page

Federally Recognized Tribes in Region 5

The following links exit the site Exit

Tribes/Consortia in Michigan

Tribes/Consortia in Wisconsin

Tribes/Consortia in Minnesota

Top of Page