An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Scientific Diving

Where Our Dive Units are Located

EPA has scientific divers based in 9 offices around the country (see map below).

U.S. map showing the locations of EPA's scientific diving units in Boston, MA; Edison, NJ; Philadelphia, PA; Atlanta, GA; Sabine Island, FL; Dallas TX; Newport, OR; and Seattle, WA.
  • Boston, MA (EPA Region 1), Eric Nelson (nelson.ericp@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Edison, NJ (EPA Region 2), Alan Humphrey (humphrey.alan@epa.gov), Chair, Diving Safety Board
  • Philadelphia, PA (EPA Region 3), Steve Donahue (donohue.steven@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Atlanta, GA (EPA Region 4), Tara Houda (houda.tara@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Athens, GA (EPA Region 4), Mel Parsons (parsons.mel@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Sabine Island, Florida (Office of Research and Development, Gulf Ecology Division), Diver Training Center, Cheryl Hankins (hankins.cheryl@epa.gov)
  • Dallas, TX (Region 6), Nick Gannon (gannon.nick@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Newport, OR (Office of Research and Development, Western Ecology Division), T Chris Mochon-Collura (mochoncollura.tchris@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer
  • Seattle, WA (Region 10), Sean Sheldrake (sheldrake.sean@epa.gov), Unit Diving Officer

How to Work with EPA Divers

Our divers primarily support EPA's programs, but we also participate in joint diving activities under formal reciprocity agreements with a variety of organizations, including federal and state agencies, universities, and private sector groups.

If your agency or organization is interested in conducting a joint diving project with EPA, contact the Unit Diving Officer nearest you in the list above.