An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Gasoline Standards

State Fuels

The federal Clean Air Act establishes national fuel emission standards, but also allows states to adopt unique fuel programs to meet local air quality needs. The combination of federal and state fuel programs is intended to balance the importance of standard fuel quality across the country with the need for sufficient flexibility to address specific air quality issues at the state or local level.

State fuel programs are sometimes referred to as "boutique." Most of these programs set lower gasoline volatility requirements than the federal standards, and most are effective for only part of the year. For more information on these programs, please view the list of states with boutique fuel programs.

EPA issued a Federal Register notice listing fuels approved in State Implementation Plans (SIPs) as of September 1, 2004. The list includes the states and Petroleum Administration for Defense Districts (PADDs) where the fuels are used. Issuance of this list is required by the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

Current List of Boutique Fuel Programs:1

Type of Fuel Control PADD** Region - State
RVP of 7.8 psi 1
3 - PA
5 - IN
6 - TX (May 1-Oct. 1)*
RVP of 7.0 psi 2
7 - KS
5 - MI
7 - MO
6 - TX 
Low Emission Diesel 3 6-TX
Cleaner Burning Gasoline (Summer) 5 9 - AZ (May 1 - Sept 30)
Cleaner Burning Gasoline (non-Summer) 5 9 - AZ (Oct 1- Apr 30)
Winter Gasoline (aromatics & sulfur) 5 9 - NV

*Dates listed in parentheses refer to summer gasoline programs with different RVP control periods from the federal RVP control period, which runs from June 1 through September 15.

**Petroleum Administration for Defense Districts (PADDs)

1 The following state fuel programs are no longer being implemented and have been removed the states’ approved SIPs since the boutique list was published in the Federal Register on December 28, 2006.  (See 71 FR 78195.)  Therefore, these state fuel programs are no longer listed on this web page.

Illinois – RVP of 7.2 psi:  EPA published a direct final rule on October 6, 2014 (79 FR 60065) that removed Illinois’s gasoline rule that applied to 8 counties in its portion of the St. Louis, MO-IL ozone area.

Georgia – RVP of 7.0 psi with gasoline sulfur provisions:  EPA published a final rule on September 1, 2015 (80 FR 52627) that removed Georgia’s gasoline rule that covered the 45-county Atlanta area from the approved SIP.   

Ohio – RVP of 7.8 psi:  EPA published a final rule on April 7, 2017 (82 FR 16932) that removed Ohio’s gasoline rule that applied to 8 counties in the Cincinnati and Dayton areas from the approved SIP.

Maine - RVP of 7.8 psi:  EPA published a final rule on July 19, 2017 (82 FR 33012) that removed Maine’s gasoline rule from the approved SIP.  That rule had applied to 7 counties in the southern part of the state (Androscoggin, Cumberland, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, and York counties).  Currently, the sale of RFG is required in those 7 counties.