An official website of the United States government.

Due to a lapse in appropriations, EPA websites will not be regularly updated. In the event of an environmental emergency imminently threatening the safety of human life or where necessary to protect certain property, the EPA website will be updated with appropriate information. Please note that all information on the EPA website may not be up to date, and transactions and inquiries submitted to the EPA website may not be processed or responded to until appropriations are enacted.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Lead Designations

Lead Designations - Table of EPA Initial Nonattainment Designations

This table identifies all counties EPA designated as nonattainment in the initial round of designations. Each is a partial county and is identified by a (p). EPA deferred final designations decisions on all other areas of the country until October 2011 so that additional lead air quality data could be collected and evaluated.

See also - state recommendations and EPA responses

State Area Name State Recommended Nonattainment Counties EPA Recommended Nonattainment Counties EPA Designated Nonattainment Counties
Alabama Troy None Pike (p) Pike (p)
California Los Angeles County within the South Coast Air Basin, excluding San Clemente and Santa Catalina Islands (Southern Los Angeles) Los Angeles (p) Los Angeles (p) Los Angeles (p)
Florida Tampa None Hillsborough (p) Hillsborough (p)
Illinois Granite City Madison (p) Madison (p) Madison (p)
Indiana Muncie Delaware (p) Delaware (p) Delaware (p)
Minnesota Eagan Dakota (p) Dakota (p) Dakota (p)
Missouri Iron Dent (p)
Iron (p)
Reynolds (p)
Dent (p)
Iron (p)
Reynolds (p)
Dent (p)
Iron (p)
Reynolds (p)
Jefferson Jefferson (p) Jefferson (p) Jefferson (p)
Ohio Bellefontaine Logan (p) Logan (p) Logan (p)
Cleveland Cuyahoga (p) Cuyahoga (p) Cuyahoga (p)
Delta Fulton (p) Fulton (p) Fulton (p)
Pennsylvania Lower Beaver Valley Beaver (p) Beaver (p) Beaver (p)
Lyons Berks (p) Berks (p) Berks (p)
North Reading Berks (p) Berks (p) Berks (p)
Tennessee Bristol Sullivan (p) Sullivan (p) Sullivan (p)
Texas Frisco Collin (p) Collin (p) Collin (p)

11 states 16 Nonattainment Areas 15 Partial Counties (2 parts of Berks County, PA are in 2 separate areas) 17 Partial Counties (2 parts of Berks County, PA are in 2 separate areas) 17 Partial Counties (2 parts of Berks County, PA are in 2 separate areas)