We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Ozone Pollution

Infrastructure State Implementation Plan (SIP) Requirements and Guidance

The Clean Air Act requires states to submit state implementation plans (SIPs) that implement, maintain, and enforce a new or revised national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) within 3 years of EPA issuing the standard. The Infrastructure SIP is required for all states.

On this page:

Infrastructure Requirements List

These section numbers refer to sections of the Clean Air Act:

Section 110(a)(2)(A) Emission limits and other control measures
Section 110(a)(2)(B) Ambient air quality monitoring/data system
Section 110(a)(2)(C) Program for enforcement of control measures
Section 110(a)(2)(D)(i) - I Prong 1: Interstate transport - significant contribution
Section 110(a)(2)(D)(i) - I Prong 2: Interstate transport - interfere with maintenance
Section 110(a)(2)(D)(i) - II Prong 3: Interstate transport - prevention of significant deterioration
Section 110(a)(2)(D)(i) - II Prong 4: Interstate transport - protect visibility
Section 110(a)(2)(D)(ii) - Interstate and international pollution abatement
Section 110(a)(2)(E) Adequate authority and resources
Section 110(a)(2)(F) Stationary source monitoring system
Section 110(a)(2)(G) Emergency power
Section 110(a)(2)(H) Future SIP revisions
Section 110(a)(2)(J) Consultation with government officials; Public notification; PSD and visibility protection
Section 110(a)(2)(K) Air quality modeling/data
Section 110(a)(2)(L) Permitting fees
Section 110(a)(2)(M) Consultation/participation by affected local entities

Top of Page

Infrastructure SIP Contacts

Region 1 Anne Arnold arnold.anne@epa.gov 617-918-1047
Richard Burkhart burkhart.richard@epa.gov 617-918-1664
 

includes Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Conneticut, Rhode Island, and FREDS entry

Region 2 Kenneth Fradkin fradkin.kenneth@epa.gov 212-637-3702
 

includes New Jersey, New York, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Region 3 Ruth Knapp knapp.ruth@epa.gov 215-814-2191
Gregory Becoat (FREDS) becoat.gregory@epa.gov 215-814-2036
 

includes Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virgina, West Virginia, District of Columbia

Region 4 Nacosta Ward ward.nacosta@epa.gov 404-562-9140
Sean Lakeman (FREDS) lakeman.sean@epa.gov 404-562-9043
 

includes Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Region 5 Sarah Arra arra.sarah@epa.gov 312-886-9401
Christos Panos (FREDS) panos.christos@epa.gov 312-353-8328
 

includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnisota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Region 6 Sherry Fuerst fuerst.sherry@epa.gov 214-665-6454
Carl Young (FREDS) young.carl@epa.gov 214-665-6645
 

includes Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 7 Amy Algoe-Eakin algoe-eakin.amy@epa.gov 913-551-7942
Jan Simpson (FREDS) simpson.jan@epa.gov 913-551-7089
 

includes Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

Region 8 Abby Fulton fulton.abby@epa.gov 303-312-6563
 

includes Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and FREDS entry

Region 9 Andrew Steckel steckel.andrew@epa.gov 415-947-4115
Kevin Gong gong.kevin@epa.gov 415-972-3073
Vernese Gholson gholson.vernese@epa.gov 415-947-4200
 

includes Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific territories of American Samoa, Guam, and Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands

Region 10 Kristin Hall hall.kristen@epa.gov 206-553-6357
 

includes Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and FREDS entry

Top of Page

Guidance on Development and Submission of Infrastructure SIPs

You may need Adobe Reader to view files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.