An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Contacts in the Office of Pesticide Programs, Biological and Economic Analysis Division

The Biological and Economic Analysis Division (BEAD) provides pesticide use-related information and economic analyses in support of pesticide regulatory activities. Information about how much and the manner in which pesticides are actually used helps EPA evaluate potential exposures, the need for various pesticides and the potential economic impacts of regulatory options.

BEAD's laboratories validate analytical methods for pesticide residues, test public health antimicrobials to ensure that they work as intended and study genetic response to antimicrobial agents. These laboratories provide technical assistance to states and support state and federal compliance activities.

On this page:

Name E-Mail Phone Area of Responsibility

Immediate Office
Fax: 703-308-8091

Kimberly Nesci Nesci.kimberly@epa.gov 703-308-8059 Acting Division Director
Neil Anderson Anderson.neil@epa.gov 703-308-8187 Deputy Director
Francine Pettiford-Wright Pettiford-wright.francine@epa.gov 703-308-8200 Executive Assistant
Environmental Science Center Office 410-305-2800 Laboratories, Fort Meade, MD
 

Top of Page

Biological Analysis Branch
Fax: 703-308-8091

Biological aspects of pest control practices

Monisha Kaul kaul.monisha@epa.gov 703 305-0098 Branch Chief
Jonathan Becker becker.jonathan@epa.gov 703-308-9434 Senior Scientist Advisor
Bill Chism chism.bill@epa.gov 703-308-8136 Senior Biologist
Colwell Cook cook.colwell@epa.gov 703-308-8146 Team Leader
 

Top of Page

Science Information & Analysis Branch
Fax: 703-308-8091

Pesticide Use and Usage Analysis 

Mark Suarez suarez.mark@epa.gov 703-305-0120 Acting Branch Chief
Steve Jarboe jarboe.steve@epa.gov 703-308-8105 Senior Scientist
Carolyn Y. Russell russell.carolyny@epa.gov 703-308-8181 Administrative Assistant
Cynthia Doucouré doucoure.cynthia@epa.gov 703-308-8133 Communications; Quality Assurance
Officer
Vacant     Senior Financial Control Officer
 

Top of Page

Economic Analysis Branch
Fax: 703-308-8091

Economic impact analyses & statistics on pesticide use

Timothy Kiely kiely.timothy@epa.gov 703-308-8112 Branch Chief
TJ Wyatt wyatt.tj@epa.gov 703-308-7228 Senior Economist
Derek Berwald berwald.derek@epa.gov 703-308-8115 Senior Economist
Brett Gelso gelso.brett@epa.gov 703-347-0596 Team Leader
 

Top of Page

OPP Microbiology Laboratory 
Office at Environmental Science Center, (ESC), Fort Meade, MD 
Phone: 410-305-2600 Fax: 410-305-3094

About the OPP Microbiology Laboratory

Microbial and fungal pest control practices; Efficacy Testing

Susan Lawrence lawrence.susan@epa.gov 410-305-2954 Branch Chief
Steve Tomasino, Ph D. tomasino.stephen@epa.gov 410-305-2976 Senior Scientist
Kiran Verma verma.kiran@epa.gov 410-305-2957 Quality Assurance Officer
Michele Cottrill cottrill.michele@epa.gov 410-305-2955 Alternate Quality Assurance
Officer
 

Top of Page

Analytical Chemistry Branch
Analytical Chemistry Laboratory, Environmental Science Center, Fort Meade, MD
Fax: 410-305-3091, Repository Fax: 410-305-2999

About the Analytical Chemistry Laboratory

Chemical analysis of pesticides and related compounds; EPA National Pesticide Standards Repository

Thuy Nguyen nguyen.thuy@epa.gov 410-305-2905 Branch Chief
Yaorong Qian qian.yaorong@epa.gov 410-305-2636 Senior Chemist
Paul Golden golden.paul@epa.gov 410-305-2960 Team Leader
Terry Cole cole.theresa@epa.gov 410-305-2907

410-305-2931
National Pesticide Standards
Repository
Repository (Direct Line)
 

Top of Page