We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Soil Fumigants

Complying with Required State and Tribal Notification before Soil Fumigations

Soil fumigant labels include the requirement for users to check this Web page to determine if they must notify the appropriate state or tribal lead agency for the area in which they are making an application.

The following information must be provided to those state and tribal lead agencies requiring notice:

  • Location of the application blocks,
  • Fumigant(s) applied including EPA registration number,
  • Applicator and property owner/operator contact information, and
  • Time period that fumigation may occur. 

Information for Applicators

States shown in grey on the map require notifications. Use the drop-down lists to select the state or tribe where you would be applying fumigants to obtain contact information.

in States on Tribal Lands

Contact information for state or tribal application inquiries will be displayed below.

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
in-state toll-free number 1-800-478-2577

In California, notification of pending
soil fumigations must be provided to the
County Agricultural Commissioner (CAC) of the
county in which the fumigation will take place.
Other county specific restrictions may apply.
Contact/notify your Local CAC
www.cdfa.ca.gov/exec/county/countymap/ Exit

Mary Begin
District Department of the Environment,
Hazardous Materials Branch
1200 First Street, NE,5th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
Mary Begin (mary.begin@dc.gov)
Fax: 202-481-3770

Iowa Department of Agriculture
Pesticide Bureau

Chuck Eckermann (chuck.eckermann@iowaagriculture.gov)

Beth Sandburg (beth.sandburg@iowaagriculture.gov)

Mark Lohafer (mark.lohafer@iowaagriculture.gov)

Fax: 515-242-6497

Dale Anderson (Dale.anderson@ky.gov)
Kentucky Department of Agriculture

Maine Board of Pesticides Control
Henry Jennings, Director (Henry.Jennings@maine.gov)

And copy:

Raymond Connors, Manager of Compliance (Raymond.g.connors@maine.gov)

Dennis W. Howard, Chief (Howarddw@mda.state.md.us)
Maryland Department of Agriculture,
Pesticide Regulation Section
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
Fax: 410-841-2765

Missouri Department of Agriculture Pesticide Program
PO Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Fax: 573-751-0005

Montana Department of Agriculture
Technical Services Bureau

Tim Creger
Nebraska Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 94756
Lincoln, NE 68509-4756
(402) 471-2394
Fax: (402) 471-6892
Preferred: tim.creger@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire Division of Pesticide Control

Send to BOTH:

David Rousseau, Director (david.rousseau@agr.nh.gov)
ATTN: David J. Rousseau, Director
Rober Bruleigh (robert.bruleigh@agr.nh.gov)

Fax: 603-271-1109

Anthony Lamanno
New York State Department of
Environmental Conservation,
Bureau of Pest Management,
Compliance and Lab Services

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture,
Food, & Forestry

Bill Taylor (bill.taylor@ag.ok.gov)
(405) 522-6347

Jason Baker (jason.baker@ag.ok.gov)
(405) 522-5993

Puerto Rico Department of Agriculture,
Agrological Laboratory
# 7 Carr 693
Dorado, PR 00646

(787) 796-1735
Fax: 787-796-4426

Steven Scandariato (steven.scandariato@dem.ri.gov)
Rhode Island Department of
Environmental Management

Tennessee Department of Agriculture
PO Box 40627
Nashville, TN  37204

Ricky Foster (ricky.foster@tn.gov)
Kathy Booker (kathy.booker@tn.gov)

Fax: 615-837-5012

Clark Burgess (cburgess@utah.gov)
Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
350 N Redwood Rd.
PO Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

St. Thomas:
Ms. Shamika Blaize
Department of Planning & Natural Resources,
Division of Environmental Protection
8100 Lindberg Bay, Ste. 61
Cyril E. King Airport, 2nd Floor
St. Thomas, VI 00802

Grant Bishop, Assistant Director (GBishop@ag.state.wv.us)
West Virginia Department of Agriculture,
Regulatory and Environmental Affairs Division,
Pesticide Regulatory Programs
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, WV 25305-0190
(304) 558-2209
Fax: (304) 558-2228

Ak-Chin Indian Community
Environmental Protection Department

Neil Abbott (nabbott@ak-chin.nsn.us)
(520) 568-1157

Cheyenne Garcia (ccgarcia@ak-chin.nsn.us)

Brenda Ball (bball@ak-chin.nsn.us)

Fax Preferred: (520)568-1141
Attention: Pesticide Control Specialist

Hualapai Department of Natural Resources

Alex Cabillo, Manager (acabillo@hotmail.com)
Water Resource

Annette Morgan, Manager (naturalresources1@citlink.net)
Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks

Fax: 520-562-3198

Yakama Nation
Joe Herrera (jherrera@yakama.com)
Pesticide Program Specialist

509-865-5121, x6043

Gila River Indian Community
Department of Environmental Quality

Ralph Morris

Tony McCandless

Hope Mix

Fax: 520-562-3198

Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians
Environmental Program

Manuel Savala (msavala@kaibabpaiute-nsn.gov)
Tribal Chairman

LeAnn Skrzynski (kptenv@scinternet.net)
Environmental Program Director

Pala Band of Mission Indian

Jesse Castro, Pesticide Technician (jcastro@palatribe.com)

Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community
Environmental Protection & Natural Resources

(480) 362-7500

Shoshone Paiute Tribes of the
Duck Valley Reservation

Heather Lawrence (lawrence.heather@shopai.org)

Claudia Thomas (thomas.claudia@shopai.org)

Yoruk Tribe Environmental Program
PO Box 1027
Klamath, CA  95548

Suzanne Fluharty (sfluharty@yuroktribe.nsn.us)
(707) 482-1822 ext 1013

Notification is not required

Map of the United StatesAlaskaDistrict of ColumbiaDistrict of ColumbiaHawaiiIowaKansasKentuckyMaineMarylandMarylandMissouriMontanaNebraskaNew HampshireNew HampshireNew YorkNew YorkOklahomaPuerto RicoTennesseeUtahVirgin IslandsWest VirginiaCaliforniaRhode IslandRhode IslandMinnesotaMichiganWashingtonOregonNevadaArizonaIdahoWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaArkansasLouisianaWisconsinIllinoisIndianaOhioMississippiAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaVirginiaPennsylvaniaTexasVermont
Rhode IslandMassachusettsConnecticutNew JerseyMassachusettsVermontDelawareDelaware