An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Impaired Waters and TMDLs

Contact Us About Impaired Waters and TMDLs

Report an environmental violation

Report possible violations of environmental laws and regulations.

For general questions or comments about impaired waters and TMDLs, please use the form below. Be sure to include your e-mail address if you’d like a response.

For questions about a particular waterbody in your area, use the map below to find the impaired waters and TMDL contacts for your EPA Regional Office:

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington


Region 1 TMDL Contacts

Ralph Abele (abele.ralph@epa.gov)
Chief, Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1629

Connecticut

Mary Garren (garren.mary@epa.gov)
CT TMDL Coordinator
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1322

Maine

Bonnie Blalock (blalock.bonnie@epa.gov)
ME TMDL Coordinator
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1253

Massachusetts

Ivy Mlsna (mlsna.ivy@epa.gov)
MA TMDL Coordinator
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1311

New Hampshire

Toby Stover (stover.toby@epa.gov)
NH TMDL Coordinator
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1604

Rhode Island

Steve Winnett (winnett.steven@epa.gov)
RI TMDL Coordinator
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1687

Vermont

Eric Perkins (perkins.eric@epa.gov)
VT TMDL Coordinator
Watershed and Nonpoint Source Management Section (WNP)
(617) 918-1602

EPA New England TMDL Coordinator

Steve Winnett (winnett.steven@epa.gov)
Water Quality Standards Section (WQS)
(617) 918-1687

Top of Page


Region 2 TMDL Contacts

Regional 303(d) Listing Coordinator
NJ, PR, USVI 303(d)/305(b) List Lead
Jacqueline Ríos (rios.jacqueline@epa.gov)
212-637-3859

New York 303(d)/305(b) List
St. Regis Mohawk Tribe 305(b) Lead
Aimee Boucher (boucher.aimee@epa.gov)
212-637-3837

Regional TMDL Coordinator
NJ, NY TMDL Lead
Rosella O'Connor (oconnor.rosella@epa.gov)
212-637-3823

Top of Page


Region 3 TMDL Contacts

Standards and TMDLs Section Chief
Gregory Voigt (voigt.gregory@epa.gov)
(215) 814-5737

Regional Monitoring and Assessment Coordinator
Bill Richardson (richardson.william@epa.gov)
(215) 814-5765

Delaware

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Ashley Toy (toy.ashley@epa.gov)
(215) 814-2774

State 303(d)/TMDL Contact
DE Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC)
Bradford Smith (bradford.smith@state.de.us)
DNREC Division of Water Resources
29 South State St.
Dover, DE 19901

District of Columbia

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Raffy Marano (marano.raffaela@epa.gov)
(215) 814-2397

District 303(d)/TMDL Contact
DC Dept. of Energy and Environment (DOEE)
Jeffrey Seltzer (jeffrey.seltzer@dc.gov), Associate Director
DNREC Division of Water Resources
1200 First St. NE
Washington, DC 20002

Maryland

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Jillian Adair (adair.jillian@epa.gov)
(215) 814-5713

State TMDL Contact
MD Dept. of the Environment (MDE)
Gregory Busch (gregory.busch@maryland.gov)
Water and Science Administration, MDE
1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 540
Baltimore, MD 21230-1718

State 303(d) Contact
MD Dept. of the Environment (MDE)
Matthew Stover (matthew.stover@maryland.gov)
Water and Science Administration, MDE
1800 Washington Blvd., Suite 540
Baltimore, MD 21230-1718

Pennsylvania

EPA 303(d) Contact
Bill Richardson (richardson.william@epa.gov)
(215) 814-5675

EPA TMDL Contact
Ashley Toy (toy.ashley@epa.gov)
(215) 814-2774

State 303(d) Contact
PA. Dept. of Environmental Protection (PADEP)
Gary Walters (gawalters@pa.gov), Assessment Section Chief
PADEP
400 Market St.
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8555

State TMDL Contact
PA. Dept. of Environmental Protection (PADEP)
Bill Brown (willbrown@state.pa.us)
PADEP Watershed Protection Division
400 Market St.
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8555

Virginia

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Irene Shandruk (shandruk.irene@epa.gov)
(215) 814-2166

State 303(d) Contact
VA Dept. of Environmental Quality (VADEQ)
Sandra Mueller (sandra.mueller@deq.virginia.gov), Manager
VADEQ Water Monitoring and Assessment Program
P.O. Box 1105
Richmond, VA 23218

State TMDL Contact
VA Dept. of Environmental Quality (VADEQ)
Kelly Meadows (kelly.meadows@deq.virginia.gov), Manager
VADEQ Watershed Programs
P.O. Box 10009
629 E Main St.
Richmond, VA 23240

West Virginia

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Jennifer Sincock (sincock.jennifer@epa.gov)
(215) 814-5766

State 303(d) Contact
WV Dept. of Environmental Protection (WVDEP)
John Wirts (john.c.wirts@wv.gov), Assistant Director
WVDEP Division of Water and Waste Management
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, WV 25304-2345

State TMDL Contact
WV Dept. of Environmental Protection (WVDEP)
Mindy Neil (mindy.s.neil@wv.gov), TMDL Program Manager
WVDEP Division of Water and Waste Management
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, WV 25304-2345

Top of Page


Region 4 TMDL Contacts

Alabama

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
Chauncey Orr (orr.chauncey@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9149

State 303(d)​
Chris Johnson (CLJohnson@adem.state.al.us)
AL Dept.of Environmental Management (ADEM)
1400 Coliseum Boulevard
Montgomery, AL 36110
(334) 271-7827

State TMDL
Kimberly Minton (kminton@adem.state.al.us)
AL Dept.of Environmental Management (ADEM)
1400 Coliseum Boulevard
Montgomery, AL 36110
(334) 271-7826

Florida

EPA TMDL
Laila Hudda (hudda.laila@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9007

EPA 303(d)
Marion Hopkins (hopkins.marion@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9481

State 303(d)​
Kevin O'Donnell (kevin.odonnell@dep.state.fl.us)
Watershed Assessment Section
FL Dept. of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road - Mail Station 3560
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 245-8469

State TMDL
Erin Rasnake (erin.rasnake@dep.state.fl.us)
Water Quality Evaluation & TMDL Program
FL Dept. of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road-Mail Station 3555
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2400
(850) 245-8338

Georgia

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
Bonita Johnson (johnson.bonita@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9388

State 303(d)​/TMDL
Elizabeth A. Booth (elizabeth.booth@dnr.state.ga.us)
GA Dept. of Natural Resources
Environmental Protection Division
Watershed Planning and Monitoring Program
2 MLK, Jr. Dr. S.E., Suite 1152
Atlanta, GA 30334
(404) 463-4929

Kentucky

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
Margaret Stebbins (stebbins.margaret@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9393

State 303(d)​
Katie McKone (katie.mckone@ky.gov)
Division of Water
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 782-7016

State TMDL
Alicia Jacobs (Alicia.Jacobs@ky.gov)
TMDL Section Supervisor
Division of Water
300 Sower Blvd.
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-3410

Mississippi

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
William Melville (melville.william@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9266

State 303(d)​
Charles Thompson (cthompson@mdeq.ms.gov)
MS Dept. of Env. Quality
P.O. Box 2261
Jackson, MS 39225-0385
(601) 961-5795

State TMDL
Shawn Clark (sclark@mdeq.ms.gov)
MS Dept. of Env. Quality
P.O. Box 2261
Jackson, MS 39225-0385
(601) 961-5629

North Carolina

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
Marion Hopkins (hopkins.marion@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9481

State 303(d)​/TMDL
Pam Behm (pamela.behm@ncdenr.gov)
NC Division of Water Resources
1611 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1611
(919) 707-3687

South Carolina

EPA 303(d)/TMDL
Joe Pohnan (pohnan.joseph@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9731

State 303(d)/TMDL​
Wade Cantrell (Cantrewm@dhec.sc.gov)
SC Dept. of Health & Env. Control
Bureau of Water
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 898-3548

State TMDL
Wade Cantrell (Cantrewm@dhec.sc.gov)
SC Dept. of Health & Env. Control
Bureau of Water
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
(803) 898-3548

Tennessee

EPA TMDL
Amy Feingold (feingold.amy@epa.gov)
(404) 562-9414

State 303(d)​
Greg Denton (gregory.denton@tn.gov)
TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 11th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 532-0699

State TMDL
David M. Duhl (david.duhl@tn.gov)
TN Dept. of Environment & Conservation
Division of Water Resources, Water Quality Branch
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 11th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 532-0438

Top of Page


Region 5 TMDL Contacts

  • Watersheds and Wetlands Branch Chief - Dave Pfeifer (pfeifer.david@epa.gov), 312-353-9029
  • Watersheds Section Chief (Acting) - Dave Werbach (werbach.david@epa.gov), 312-886-4242
  • Special Projects Manager - Christine Urban (urban.christine@epa.gov), 312-886-3493
  • Regional TMDL Coordinator - Dave Werbach (werbach.david@epa.gov), 312-886-4242
  • Regional ATTAINS Coordinator - Vilma Rivera-Carrero (rivera-carrero.vilma@epa.gov), 312-886-7795
  • Regional 303(d) List Coordinator - Donna Keclik (keclik.donna@epa.gov), 312-886-6766

303(d) List Reviewers

Top of Page


Region 6 TMDL Contacts

Arkansas

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Selena Medrano (medrano.selena@epa.gov)
(214) 665-2776

Louisiana

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Tami Sundquist (sundquist.tami@epa.gov)
(214) 665-8360

New Mexico

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Rob Cook (cook.robert@epa.gov)
(214) 665-7141

Oklahoma

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Lindsey Griffin (griffin.lindsey@epa.gov)
(214) 665-2797

Texas

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Britt Dean (dean.britt@epa.gov)
(214) 665-2722

Top of Page


Region 7 TMDL Contacts

Standards and Water Quality Branch Chief
Amy Shields (shields.amy@epa.gov), 
913-551-7396

Regional TMDL Coordinator
Jennifer Kissel (kissel.jennifer@epa.gov)
913-551-7982

Regional 303(d) Listing, ATTAINS, Data Management Coordinator
Debby White (white.debby@epa.gov)
913-551-7886

Top of Page


Region 8 TMDL Contacts

Colorado

EPA Listing:
Shera Reems (reems.shera@epa.gov)
303-312-6888

State Listing:
Sarah Wheeler (sarah.wheeler@state.co.us)
303-692-3436

EPA TMDL:
Peter Brumm (brumm.peter@epa.gov)
406-457-5029

State TMDL:
Jeff Ullman (jeff.ullman@state.co.us)
303-692-3599

Montana

EPA Listing:
Tina Laidlaw (laidlaw.tina@epa.gov)
405-457-5016

State Listing:
Darrin Kron (dkron@mt.gov)
406-444-4765

EPA TMDL:
Peter Brumm (brumm.peter@epa.gov)
406-457-5029

State TMDL:
Kristy Fortman (kristy.fortman@mt.gov)
406-444-7425

North Dakota

EPA Listing:
Kris Jensen (jensen.kris@epa.gov)
303-312-6237

State Listing:
Aaron Larsen (allarsen@nd.gov)
701-328-5230

EPA TMDL:
Jason Gildea (gildea.jason@epa.gov)
406-457-5028

State TMDL:
Aaron Larsen (allarsen@nd.gov)
701-328-5230

South Dakota

EPA Listing:
Liz Rogers (rogers.liz@epa.gov)
303-312-6794

State Listing:
Shannon Minerich (shannon.minerich@state.sd.us)
605-773-3351

EPA TMDL:
Peter Brumm (brumm.peter@epa.gov)
406-457-5029

State TMDL:
Paul Lorenzen (paul.lorenzen@state.sd.us)
605-773-4047

Utah

EPA Listing:
Shera Reems (reems.shera@epa.gov)
303-312-6888

State Listing:
Emilie Flemer (eflemer@utah.gov)
801-536-4105

EPA TMDL:
Jason Gildea (gildea.jason@epa.gov)
406-457-5028

State TMDL:
Jodi Gardberg (jgardberg@utah.gov)
801-536-4372

Wyoming

EPA Listing:
Tom Johnson (johnson.tom@epa.gov)
303-312-6226

State Listing:
Ron Steg  (ron.steg@wyo.gov)
307-335-6980

EPA TMDL:
Jason Gildea (gildea.jason@epa.gov)
406-457-5028

State TMDL:
Ron Steg  (ron.steg@wyo.gov)
307-335-6980

Tribes

Top of Page


Region 9 TMDL Contacts

Standards and TMDL Section Chief (Acting) - TMDLs, 303(d) listing, montoring, WQ standards
Terry Fleming (fleming.terrence@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3462

Regional TMDL and 303(d) Listing Coordinator
Dave Guiliano (guiliano.dave@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4133

American Samoa

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Daniel Oros (oros.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3583

Arizona

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Matt Bolt (bolt.matthew@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3578

California

EPA Statewide 303(d) Listing Contact
Terry Fleming (fleming.terrence@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3462

EPA Statewide TMDL Contact
Dave Guiliano (guiliano.dave@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4133

EPA TMDL Liaisons for Regional Water Quality Control Boards:

North Coast - Regional Board 1
Suesan Saucerman (saucerman.suesan@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3522

San Francisco Bay - Regional Board 2
Daniel Oros (oros.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3583

Central Coast - Regional Board 3
Matt Mitchell (mitchell.matthew@epa.gov)
(417) 972-3508

Los Angeles - Regional Board 4
Diane Fleck (fleck.diane@epa.gov)
(415) 244-1836

Central Valley - Regional Board 5
Matt Mitchell (mitchell.matthew@epa.gov)
(417) 972-3508

Debra Denton (denton.debra@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3477

Lahontan - Regional Board 6
Matt Mitchell (mitchell.matthew@epa.gov)
(417) 972-3508

Colorado River - Regional Board 7
Dave Guiliano (guiliano.dave@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4133

Santa Ana - Regional Board 8
Diane Fleck (fleck.diane@epa.gov)
(415) 244-1836

San Diego - Regional Board 9
Diane Fleck (fleck.diane@epa.gov)
(415) 244-1836

Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI)

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Daniel Oros (oros.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3583

Guam

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Daniel Oros (oros.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3583

Hawaii

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Daniel Oros (oros.daniel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3583

Nevada

EPA 303(d)/TMDL Contact
Dave Guiliano (guiliano.dave@epa.gov)
(415) 947-4133

Top of Page


Region 10 TMDL Contacts

  • Watersheds Section Chief- Dave Croxton (croxton.david@epa.gov), (206) 553-6694
  • Alaska TMDL Program Manager - Jayne Carlin (carlin.jayne@epa.gov), (206) 553-8512
  • Idaho TMDL Program Manager - Lisa Kusnierz (kusnierz.lisa@epa.gov), (208) 378-5774
  • Oregon TMDL Program Manager - Claire Schary (schary.claire@epa.gov), (206) 553-8514
  • Washington TMDL Program Manager - Laurie Mann (mann.laurie@epa.gov), (206) 553-1583
  • Assessment Program Manager - Jill Fullagar (fullagar.jill@epa.gov), (206) 553-2582
  • Water Quality Trading Program Manager - Claire Schary (schary.claire@epa.gov), (206) 553-8514
  • Watershed Stormwater Coordinator - Jayshika Ramrakha (ramrakha.jayshika@epa.gov), (206) 553-1788

Top of Page


Contact Form for Questions/Comments about Impaired Waters and TMDLs

Please enter a name to address you by.
Please enter your comments.