An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

EPA’s Pacific Southwest Tribal Program

EPA’s Pacific Southwest Region (Region 9) is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian Country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The regional office serves 148 federally recognized tribes within Arizona, California and Nevada.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC)

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA.

Region 9 holds quarterly RTOC meetings.

Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 9

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Inter-tribal Consortia. For more information regarding the administration of GAP in Region 9, see the GAP Officers contact list.

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 9

For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 9, see the regional procedures below.

Federally-Recognized Tribes within Region 9

Hawaii has no Indian nations designated at this time.
Map showing tribal lands in EPA's Region 9

The following links exit the site Exit

Top of Page