An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Regulations for Emissions from Vehicles and Engines

Federal Fleets using Low-Greenhouse Gas Emitting Vehicles

You will need Free Viewers and Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.
On this page:


Section 141 of the 2007 Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) requires federal agencies to acquire low greenhouse gas (GHG) emitting vehicles.

Each model year (MY), EPA evaluates the GHG emissions performance of the light-duty (LD) fleet to determine the maximum allowable GHG emissions level to be designated a low GHG-emitting vehicle.

Top of Page

How do we define a low-GHG emitting vehicle?

EISA 141 compliance levels are based on specific CO2 gram/mile maximum emissions levels. The CO2 emissions level threshold for any given model year is estimated at the levels needed to designate approximately 25% of cars and 25% of LD trucks and medium-duty passenger vehicles (MDPVs) as low emitting. EPA will set EISA 141 thresholds at either these levels for cars and trucks/MDPVs, or at the CO2 emissions compliance levels in the current vehicle standards, whichever are lower.

EISA 141 Compliance Thresholds
(maximum grams/mile of CO2 emissions)

Vehicle Type MY 2019 MY2020 MY2021
Passenger Cars 285 275 265
Light-duty Trucks, MDPVs 370 360 360

As of MY 2016, FFVs must meet the same thresholds as other cars and trucks regardless of the fuel used. For more details, see the Guidance Document in the: Guidance document and other resources section

Top of Page

What vehicles are considered low GHG-emitting?

Find a low GHG-emitting passenger car, truck, or FFV* for


* Some FFVs only qualify when operated with E-85. These vehicles must be operated with E-85 in order to qualify as low GHG-emitting.

Top of Page

What are the compliance levels by agency/office?

This chart displays the EISA 141 compliance levels by federal agency as reported in the Federal Automotive Statistical Tool.**

Agency/Office Fiscal Year
Fiscal Year
Corps of Engineers, Civil Works 20% 26%
Defense Agencies 89% 77%
Department of Agriculture 78% 49%
Department of Air Force 40% 9%
Department of Army 43% 46%
Department of Commerce 100% 40%
Department of Energy 88% 45%
Department of Health and Human Services 57% 52%
Department of Homeland Security 71% 93%
Department of Housing and Urban Development 66% 81%
Department of Justice 30% 23%
Department of Labor 100% 95%
Department of Navy 14% 41%
Department of State 19% 15%
Department of the Interior 32% 53%
Department of the Treasury 100% 100%
Department of Transportation 100% 77%
Department of Veterans Affairs 75% 90%
Environmental Protection Agency 100% 100%
General Services Administration 76% 74%
National Aeronautics and Space Administration 100% 100%
Office of Personnel Management 83% 98%
Peace Corps 100% 0%
Social Security Administration 83% 95%
Tennessee Valley Authority 95% 93%
U.S. Postal Service 100% 100%
United States Marine Corps 69% 94%

*Vehicles that use the "functional needs" or "alternative measures" exceptions are considered compliant. For details, see page 8-9 in the guidance document listed in the section below.

**For simplicity, only agencies with 40 or more vehicle acquisitions for the most current fiscal year are displayed. Agencies with fewer acquisitions are still subject to EISA 141.

Top of Page

Guidance document and other resources

Guidance Document

GHG Assessment Tool

Please contact us if you need an earlier version of the tool.

Help with "Alternative Measures"

For assistance with "alternative measures," agencies should look into U.S. EPA climate-related partnership programs that provide a wide variety of services and resources to measure and reduce GHG emissions. These programs include:

Top of Page

Regulations for Emissions from Vehicles and Engines Home