An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Underground Injection Control (UIC)

Underground Injection Control in EPA Region 4 (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)

Serving Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and six tribes. 

On this page:

Public notices for proposed permits

None at this time.


UIC regulations and permitting

The safe drinking water act mandates that each state must have a UIC program. Many States have been given primary enforcement responsibility (primacy) for their UIC programs. Please see the Who regulates UIC wells in Region 4 section for information on who is responsible for regulating UIC program in the EPA Region 4.

Top of Page


Who regulates UIC wells in Region 4

UIC in Alabama

Who regulates UIC wells in Alabama
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I, III, IV and V Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM) Exit Joe Kelly (jrk@adem.state.al.us) 334-271-7844
II Alabama Oil & Gas Board Exit Butch Gregory (bgregory@ogb.state.al.us) 205-247-3575
VI U.S. EPA Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in Florida

Who regulates UIC wells in Florida
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I, III, IV and V Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP) Exit

Joni Synatschk (Joni.Synatschk@dep.state.fl.us)

850-245-8599

II U.S. EPA Region 4 Jason B. Meadows (meadows.jasonb@epa.gov) 404-562-9399
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in Georgia

Who regulates UIC Wells in Georgia
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I, II, III, IV and V Georgia Environmental Protection Department (GA EPD) Exit Abigail Knapp (abigail.knapp@dnr.ga.gov) 404-463-0671
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC In Kentucky

Who regulates UIC wells in Kentucky
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I , III, and V U.S. EPA Region 4 Jason B. Meadows (meadows.jasonb@epa.gov) 404-562-9399
II Kentucky Division of Oil and Gas Exit Dennis Hatfield (Dennis.Hatfield@ky.gov) 502-573-0147
IV and V U.S. EPA Region 4  Robert Olive (olive.robert@epa.gov) 404-562-9423
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in Mississippi

Who regulates UIC wells in Mississippi
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I, III, IV and V Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Exit Jimmy Sparks (jsparks@mdeq.ms.gov) 601-961-5640
II Mississippi State Oil and Gas Board (OGB)Exit David Snodgrass (dsnodgrass@ogb.state.ms.us) 601-576-4930
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in North Carolina

Who Regulates UIC wells in North Carolina
Class  Agency Contact Phone Number
I, II, III, IV and V North Carolina Department of Environment Quality (DEQ) Exit Michael Rogers (michael.rogers@ncdenr.gov) 919-807-6412
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in South Carolina

Who regulates Wells in South Carolina
Class  Agency Contact Phone Number
I, II, III, IV and V South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DEHC) Exit Bruce Crawford (crawfobd@dhec.sc.gov) 803-898-4177
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

UIC in Tennessee

Who regulates UIC wells in Tennessee
Class Agency Contact Phone Number
I, II, III, IV and V Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (DEC) Exit Brian Ham (brian.ham@tn.gov) 615-532-9224
VI U.S. EPA Region 4 Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

Top of Page


Tribal UIC

In Region 4, EPA retains the authority to implement the UIC program for all classes of injection wells on 6 Federally recognized tribes: Catawba Indian Nation, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians, Seminole Tribe of Florida, Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida and Poarch Band of Creek Indians.

Top of Page


Contact information

Mailing Address

GW, UIC and GIS Section
US EPA Region 4
61 Forsyth St., SW
Atlanta, GA 30303-8960
404-562-9385
Fax: 404-562-9439

Section Chief, Alanna Conley (conley.alanna@epa.gov) 404-562-9768

Contacts by UIC Well Class

  • Class I - Jason Meadows (meadows.jasonb@epa.gov) 404-562-9399
  • Class II – Jason Meadows (meadows.jasonb@epa.gov) 404-562-9399
  • Class IV - Robert Olive (olive.robert@epa.gov) 404-562-9423
  • Class V – Robert Olive (olive.robert@epa.gov) 404-562-9423
  • Class VI – Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474

Contacts by Topic

  • Land Ban Exemptions - Richard Hall (hall.richard@epa.gov) 404-562-8067
  • Compliance Assistance & Enforcement (All Well Classes) – Carol Chen (chen.carol@epa.gov) 404-562-9415; Anthony Shelton (shelton.anthony@epa.gov) 404-562-9636
  • Financial Assurance for Plugging Injection Wells – Miriam Lester (lester.miriam@epa.gov) 404-562-9292
  • Hydraulic Fracturing – Larry Cole (cole.larry@epa.gov) 404-562-9474
  • Scheduling Mechanical Integrity Tests - Carol Chen (chen.carol@epa.gov) 404-562-9415
  • EPA Point of Contact for Region 4 States

Top of Page