An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

About EPA

EPA Region 7 (Midwest)

Iowa wheatfield
Map of EPA Region 7IowaKansasMissouriNebraska

Follow Region 7 on
Facebook & Twitter

EPA Region 7 FacebookEPA Region 7 Twitter

Serving Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Nine Tribal Nations

What we do

EPA Region 7 protects human health and the environment in our nation’s Heartland. Our ecosystems are numerous and the range is broad, encompassing the Sandhills of Nebraska, Flint Hills of Kansas, winding Missouri and Mississippi rivers, prairies and plains of Iowa, and forests and delta of Missouri, not to mention all of the rich agricultural lands throughout our region.

EPA Region 7’s three priority areas:
  • Protecting children from exposure to lead (Pb)
  • Working with the Agriculture community
  • Revitalizing land for communities (Superfund, Brownfields and more)

EPA's Region 7 office includes:

Key programs and projects

Regional focus areas

  • Air - Improve the air quality in the region. Look for ways to support clean air efforts.
  • Land - Put our time and energy into sites where we can make great strides and create a significant difference. Be a stimulus to help communities connect the green infrastructure tools available to them.
  • Chemical Safety - Ensure the safe use and proper storage of chemicals to protect the citizens of our region.
  • Water - Address challenges across the Heartland related to improving water quality. Work with stakeholders to do our part to mitigate effects downstream.
  • Environmental Justice - Bring focused support to the environmentally overburdened, underserved, and economically distressed.

Top of Page