We’ve made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Green Infrastructure

Green Infrastructure Collaborative

GI Collaborative LogoOn October 8, 2014, EPA joined with other federal agencies, nongovernmental organizations, and private-sector entities to form the Green Infrastructure Collaborative, a network-based learning alliance created to help communities more easily implement green infrastructure.

The Green Infrastructure Collaborative Statement of Support  outlines commitments from members to advance adoption of green infrastructure to support water quality and community development goals. The collaborative will build capacity for implementing green infrastructure practices by providing a platform for national stakeholders to:

  • Leverage joint efforts to publicize the multiple community benefits of green infrastructure,
  • Build and share knowledge around emerging green infrastructure technologies and policy issues, and
  • Facilitate shared inquiry into the best ways to encourage adoption of green infrastructure technologies at the community level.

Collaborative members plan to work closely together to align public and private knowledge and resources to promote green infrastructure. They will highlight the broad community benefits of green infrastructure including improving air quality, reducing energy use, mitigating climate change, and increasing resilience to climate change impacts.

On this page:

Collaborative Members

A Federal Letter of Support for the Green Infrastructure Collaborative was released by seven federal agencies. Each agency is committed to taking specific actions to promote green infrastructure. Joining EPA, the cooperating agencies are the:EPA Building

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture,
  • U.S. Department of Defense,
  • U.S. Department of Energy,
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development,
  • U.S. Department of the Interior, and
  • U.S. Department of Transportation.

The Green Infrastructure Collaborative includes more than 20 academic, nongovernmental, and private sector organizations committed to advancing the implementation of green infrastructure strategies.

The following links exit the site Exit

American Public Transportation Association
Rich Weaver (rweaver@apta.com)
Director, Planning, Policy, & Sustainability
Phone: 202-496-4809

American Rivers
Gary Belan (gbelan@americanrivers.org)
Director, Clean Water Program
Phone: 202-347-7550

American Society of Civil Engineers
Brian Parsons (bparsons@asce.org)
Director, Environmental & Water Resources Institute
Phone: 703-295-6380

American Society of Landscape Architects
Mark Cason (mcason@asla.org)
Government Affairs Manager
Phone: 202-216-2370

Amigos De Los Rios
Claire Robinson(claire@amigosdelosrios.org)
Managing Director
Phone: 626-791-1611

Association of Clean Water Administrators
Julia Anastasio (janastasio@acwa-us.org)
Executive Director and General Counsel
Phone: 202-756-0600

The Center for Neighborhood Technology
Harriet Festing (hfesting@cnt.org)
Director, Water Program
Phone: 773-269 - 4042

The Conservation Fund
Kris Hoellen (khoellen@conservationfund.org)
Vice President of Sustainable Programs
Director of the Conservation Leadership Network
Phone: 703-525-6300

Environmental Defense Fund
Shannon Cunniff (scunniff@edf.org)
Deputy Director, Water Program
Phone: 202-387-3500

Green Infrastructure Center
Karen Firehock (firehock@gicinc.org)
Executive Director
Phone: 434-244-0322

Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure
William Bertera (Bertera@sustainableinfrastructure.org)
Executive Director
Phone: 202-218-6725

International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO Group)
Dain Hansen (dain.hansen@iapmo.org)
Vice President of Government Relations
Phone: 202-414-6177

Low Impact Development Center
Neil Weinstein (nweinstein@lowimpactdevelopment.org)
Executive Director
Phone: 301-982-5559

Mid-Atlantic Green Infrastructure Consortium
Robert G. Traver, Ph.D., PE, D.WRE, F.EWRI, F. ASCE (robert.traver@villanova.edu)
Professor and Director
Villanova Center for the Advancement of Sustainability in Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Villanova University
Phone: 610-519-7899

National Association for Clean Water Agencies
Brenna Mannion (bmannion@nacwa.org)
Director of Regulatory Affairs & Outreach
Phone: 202-533-1839

National Association of Development Organizations
Megan McConville (mmcconville@nado.org)
Program Manager
Phone: 202-624-7843

National Association of Flood & Stormwater Management Agencies (NAFSMA)
Susan Gilson (sgilson@nafsma.org)
Executive Director
Phone: 202-289-8625

National Recreation and Park Association
Kevin O'Hara (kohara@nrpa.org)
Vice President of Urban and Government Affairs
Phone: 703-858-2157

Natural Resources Defense Council
Steve Fleischli (sfleischli@nrdc.org)
Director, Water Program
Phone: 202-289-2394

Jon Devine (jdevine@nrdc.org)
Senior Attorney
Phone: 202-289-6868

Tree People
Andy Lipkis (alipkis@treepeople.org)
President
Phone: 818-753-4600

Trust for Public Land
Joel Pannell (Joel.Pannell@tpl.org)
Senior Legislative Representative
Phone: 202-543-7552

U.S. Water Alliance
Lorraine L. Koss (lkoss@uswa.us)
Senior Vice President
Phone: 202-533-1819

University of New Hampshire Stormwater Center
Tom Ballestero (tom.ballestero@unh.edu)
Director University of New Hampshire
Phone: 603-862-1405

Water Environment Federation
Chris French (cfrench@wef.org)
Director, Stormwater Programs
Phone: 703-684-2423

Willamette Partnership
Bobby Cochran (cochran@willamettepartnership.org)
Executive Director
Phone: 503-946-8350

World Resources Institute
Todd Gartner (TGartner@wri.org)
Senior Associate Manager, Natural Infrastructure for Water
Phone: 202-729-7600

Top of Page

Green Infrastructure Collaborative Resources

The Green Infrastructure Statement of Intent signed in 2007 established an initiative to promote and encourage the use of green infrastructure. The partners that signed the statement were EPA and the:Artist rendering of building with green infrastructure features.

  • National Association of Clean Water Agencies,
  • Natural Resources Defense Council,
  • Low Impact Development Center, and
  • Association of State and the Interstate Water Pollution Control Administrators (now the Association of Clean Water Administrators).

American Rivers, the Water Environment Federation, and the US Water Alliance joined the partnership after the original signing. The Green Infrastructure Collaborative builds upon activities associated with that initiative, with members working together and sharing resources, tools, and research to advance green infrastructure implementation. Learn more about collaborative members in this section and the resources they are contributing to the effort.

Founded in 1973, American Rivers Exitis a conservation organization centered on protecting and restoring America's rivers and streams. American Rivers is a strong supporter of moving the focus from gray to green infrastructure.American Rivers Logo

The Association of Clean Water Administrators (ACWA) Exit has been working since 1961 to protect ACWA Logothe nation's waters. It brings together state, interstate, and territorial clean water professionals to foster the exchange of ideas and strategies to advance national water protection. In its Call for Change, ACWA recognizes green infrastructure as a strategy that requires more support and attention across the country in the 21st century.

Low Impact Development Logo The Low Impact Development Center (LID Center) Exit is a nonprofit organization that combines land use planning and engineering principles to promote development that re-creates preexisting hydrologic site conditions. It has worked extensively with EPA and stakeholders to develop green infrastructure initiatives.

  • Urban Design Tools Exit —This site provides watershed managers with a set of tools and techniques that can be used to meet regulatory and receiving water protection program goals for urban retrofits, redevelopment projects, and new development sites.
  • Rain Garden Design Templates Exit —This site displays a series of rain garden and bioretention design templates that can be used by landscape architects, landscape contractors, and garden clubs.

The National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) Exit has been at the forefront in NACWA logoadvocating the use of green infrastructure to address the nation's clean water challenges resulting from wet weather. NACWA regularly engages with Congress to promote green infrastructure applications for wet weather management and secure greater investment in water infrastructure.

The Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) Exit is one of the nation's largest environmental NRDC Logostakeholder groups and is a staunch supporter of green infrastructure. Their website includes a variety of reports, fact sheets, and case studies on the use of green infrastructure to protect and restore our nation's waters.

The Trust for Public Land Exit is a non-for-profit group whose mission is to create parks and protect land for people, ensuring healthy, livable communities for generations to come.

WEF LogoThe Water Environment Federation (WEF)  Exit is a not-for-profit association that provides technical education and training for thousands of water quality professionals. WEF offers training on green infrastructure design and implementation through conferences and archived webcasts. WEF also is working with EPA to identify and overcome barriers to green infrastructure.

US Water AllianceThe U.S. Water Alliance Exit is a nonprofit organization working to promote holistic, watershed-based approaches to water quality and quantity challenges. Launched in 2008, the alliance advances its mission through issue analysis, education and outreach, and recognition of national leaders.

  • U.S. Water Prize Exit —The U.S. Water Prize honors individuals, institutions, and organizations for outstanding achievement in the advancement of sustainable solutions to our nation's water challenges.

Top of Page