An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Safer Choice

Safer Choice Partner of the Year Award Winners 2017

On May 15, 2017, EPA recognized winners at the Partner of the Year Awards Ceremony for their work in advancing the goal of chemical safety through exemplary participation in or promotion of Safer Choice. 

Learn more about the 2017 Safer Choice Partner of the Year Awards:

Go back to the Partner of the Year Awards home page.

2017 Safer Choice Partner of the Year Award Winners by Category

Click on an award winner to learn more about why they were recognized as a 2017 Safer Choice Partner of the Year.

Formulators-Product Manufacturers

Amway Corporation, Ada, MI
Anderson Chemical Company, Litchfield, MN
Berkley Green, Uniontown, PA
Boulder Clean, Boulder, CO
Case Medical, Inc., South Hackensack, NJ
Clean Control Corporation, Warner Robins, GA
Cot'n Wash, Inc. DBA, Philadelphia, PA
Earth Friendly Products, Garden Grove, CA
GOJO Industries, Inc., Akron, OH
Jelmar, LLC, Skokie, IL
Krud Kutter Inc. A Rust-Oleum Co., Cumming, GA
Osprey Biotechnics, Inc., Sarasota, FL
PRIDE Industries, Roseville, CA
Reckitt Benckiser, LLC (RB), Parsippany, NJ
Seventh Generation, Burlington, VT
State Industrial Products, Mayfield Heights, OH
The Clorox Company, Oakland, CA


AkzoNobel Surface Chemistry, Chicago, IL
BASF Corporation, Florham Park, NJ
Rivertop Renewables, Missoula, MT
Stepan Company, Northfield, IL
The Dow Chemical Company, Midland, MI

Purchasers and Distributors

Solutex, Inc., Sterling, VA


Albertsons Companies, Boise, ID
Wegmans Food Markets, Inc., Rochester, NY


American Cleaning Institute, Washington, DC
American Sustainable Business Council, Washington, DC
Consumer Specialty Products Association, Washington, DC
ISSA, The Worldwide Cleaning Industry Association, Northbrook, IL
Local Hazardous Waste Management Program in King County, WA
McFadden and Associates, LLC, Canby, OR
The Ashkin Group, Los Angeles, CA

Criteria for the 2017 Awards

For the 2017 awards, we recognized program participants who demonstrated leadership in furthering safer chemistry and products. Program participants that submitted complete applications were evaluated against the following five criteria:

  1. Participation in the Safer Choice Program
  2. Use of the Safer Choice label
  3. Promotion and use of products using the Safer Choice label
  4. Outreach and education on the Safer Choice Program to consumers and end-users
  5. Innovations in safer chemistry and other efforts to advance the Safer Choice Program

Responses were weighted and points assigned based on the applicant/award category.

More Information about the Awards

For more information, please contact Chen Wen ( or 202-564-8849).