We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Underground Injection Control (UIC)

Underground Injection Control in EPA Region 6 (AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)

EPA Region 6 serves Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 tribes.

On this page:

Public notices for proposed permits

  • None at this time. 

Contact information

Mailing Address

Ground Water/UIC Section (6WQ-SG)
US EPA Region 6
1445 Ross Ave.
Dallas, TX 75202-2733
214-665-7150
Fax: 214-665-2191

Section Chief Philip Dellinger (dellinger.philip@epa.gov) 214-665-8324

Contacts by Topic Contact Name and Email Phone Number
Contact Information for UIC Staff in Region 6
Aquifer Exemptions Lisa Pham (pham.lisa@epa.gov) 214-665-8326
Aquifer Storage & Recovery Michael Overbay (overbay.michael@epa.gov) 214-665-6482
Class I Well Permitting/Land Ban Exemptions Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193
Class II Contact Bill Hurlbut (hurlbut.william@epa.gov) 214-665-8305
Class III Contact Lisa Pham (pham.lisa@epa.gov) 214-665-8326
Class VI Contact Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193
Compliance Assistance & Enforcement (all well classes) David Aguinaga (aguinaga.david@epa.gov) 214-665-6439
Field Inspection Contact Willie Lane (lane.willie@epa.gov) 214-665-8460
Financial Assurance for Injection Wells Bill Hurlbut (hurlbut.william@epa.gov) 214-665-8305
Hydraulic Fracturing Michael Overbay (overbay.michael@epa.gov) 214-665-6482
Interstate Oil & Gas Commission Liaison Rob Lawrence (lawrence.rob@epa.gov) 214-665-6580
National UIC Technical Workgroup Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193
Public Noticing Evelyn Rosborough (rosborough.evelyn@epa.gov) 214-665-7515

Top of Page


Regional guidance and guideline documents

Guidelines for Completing Class I Injection Well No Migration Petitions

Top of Page


Primacy enforcement authority information

UIC in Arkansas

Who regulates UIC wells in Arkansas
Class Agency  The following links exit the site Exit Contact
I Arkansas Department of Environmental QualityExit Linda Hanson (hanson@adeq.state.ar.us) 501-682-0646
II Arkansas Oil and Gas CommissionExit Gary Looney (gary.looney@aogc.state.ar.us) 870-862-4965
III
 
Arkansas Department of Environmental QualityExit Linda Hanson (hanson@adeq.state.ar.us) 501-682-0646
IV
 
Arkansas Department of Environmental QualityExit Linda Hanson (hanson@adeq.state.ar.us) 501-682-0646
V Arkansas Department of Environmental QualityExit Linda Hanson (hanson@adeq.state.ar.us) 501-682-0646
VI U.S. EPA R6

Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193

Arkansas Source Water Assessment and Protection Program Exit

US EPA R6 Contact:
Omar T. Martinez (martinez.omar@epa.gov)
214-665-8485
 

Top of Page


UIC in Louisiana

Who regulates UIC wells in Louisiana
Class Agency The following links exit the site Exit Contact
I Louisiana Department of Natural ResourcesExit Stephen Lee (stephen.lee@la.gov) 225-342-5569
II Louisiana Department of Natural ResourcesExit Stephen Lee (stephen.lee@la.gov) 225-342-5569
III Louisiana Department of Natural ResourcesExit Stephen Lee (stephen.lee@la.gov) 225-342-5569
IV Louisiana Department of Natural ResourcesExit Stephen Lee (stephen.lee@la.gov) 225-342-5569
V Louisiana Department of Natural ResourcesExit Stephen Lee (stephen.lee@la.gov) 225-342-5569
VI US EPA R6

Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193

Louisiana Source Water Protection ProgramExit

US EPA R6 Contact:
Jana Harvill (harvill.jana@epa.gov)
214-665-8369

Top of Page


UIC in New Mexico

Who regulates UIC wells in New Mexico
Class Agency  The following links exit the site Exit Contact
I New Mexico Environment Department (Others)Exit Pamela E. Homer (Pamela.Homer2@state.nm.us) 505-827-0018
I New Mexico Oil Conservation Division (Non-exempt oilfield refinery waste)Exit Daniel Sanchez (daniel.sanchez@state.nm.us) 505-476-3493
II New Mexico Oil Conservation Division Exit Daniel Sanchez (daniel.sanchez@state.nm.us) 505-476-3493
III New Mexico Environment Department (Others) Exit Pamela E. Homer (Pamela.Homer2@state.nm.us) 505-827-0018
III New Mexico Oil Conservation Division (Brine solution mining) Exit Daniel Sanchez (daniel.sanchez@state.nm.us) 505-476-3493
IV New Mexico Environment DepartmentExit Pamela E. Homer (Pamela.Homer2@state.nm.us) 505-827-0018
V New Mexico Environment Department (Others) Exit Pamela E. Homer (Pamela.Homer2@state.nm.us) 505-827-0018
V New Mexico Oil Conservation Division (Wells associated with geothermal, oil and gas production, brine mining and oil field service related facilities) Exit Daniel Sanchez (daniel.sanchez@state.nm.us) 505-476-3493
VI US EPA R6

Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193

New Mexico Source Water Protection Program Exit

US EPA R6 Contact:
Lisa Pham (pham.lisa@epa.gov)
214-665-8326

Top of Page


UIC in Oklahoma

Who regulates UIC wells in Oklahoma
Class Agency The following links exit the site Exit Contact
I Oklahoma Department of Environmental QualityExit Hillary Young (hillary.young@deq.ok.gov) 405-702-5188
II Oklahoma Corporation CommissionExit Patricia Downey (p.downey@occemail.com) 405-522-2745
III Oklahoma Department of Environmental QualityExit Hillary Young (hillary.young@deq.ok.gov) 405-702-5188
IV Oklahoma Department of Environmental QualityExit Hillary Young (hillary.young@deq.ok.gov) 405-702-5188
V Oklahoma Department of Environmental QualityExit Hillary Young (hillary.young@deq.ok.gov) 405-702-5188
VI US EPA R6

Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193

Oklahoma Source Water Protection Program Exit

US EPA R6 Contact:
Class 2 Wells
Nancy Dorsey (dorsey.nancy@epa.gov)
214-665-2294

US EPA R6 Contact:
Class 1, 3, 4, 5 Wells
Lauren Ray (ray.lauren@epa.gov)
214-665-2756

Top of Page


UIC in Texas

Who regulates UIC wells in Texas
Class Agency Contact
I Texas Commission on Environmental QualityExit Lorrie Council (lorrie.council@tceq.texas.gov) 512-239-6461
II Railroad Commission of Texas Exit David Hill (david.hill@rrc.state.tx.us) 512-463-3011
III Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (Others) Exit Lorrie Council (lorrie.council@tceq.texas.gov) 512-239-6461
III Railroad Commission of Texas (Solution Brine mining)Exit David Hill (david.hill@rrc.state.tx.us) 512-463-3011
IV Texas Commission on Environmental QualityExit Lorrie Council (lorrie.council@tceq.texas.gov) 512-239-6461
V Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (Others)Exit Lorrie Council (lorrie.council@tceq.texas.gov) 512-239-6461
V Railroad Commission of Texas (Geothermal and in situ coal combustion)Exit David Hill (david.hill@rrc.state.tx.us) 512-463-3011
VI US EPA R6

Brian Graves (graves.brian@epa.gov) 214-665-7193

Texas Source Water Protection Program Exit

US EPA R6 Contact:
Class 2 Wells
Mike Frazier (frazier.mike@epa.gov)
214-665-7236

US EPA R6 Contact:
Class 1, 3, 4, 5 Wells
Jose Torres (torres.jose@epa.gov)
214-665-8092

Top of Page


Tribal UIC permitting information

Regional UIC Direct Implementation (DI) Program Contact
Bill Hurlbut (hurlbut.william@epa.gov), UIC DI Coordinator, Ground Water/UIC Section (6WQ-SG) Safe Drinking Water Branch, Water Division, Environmental Protection Agency - Region 6, 1445 Ross Avenue, Dallas, Texas 75202. Ph: 214-665-8305/Fax: 214-665-2191.

EPA implements the UIC program on tribal lands in EPA Region 6 except for the Five Civilized TribesExit in Oklahoma. The Oklahoma Corporation Commission implements the UIC program for the Five Civilized Tribes.

EPA issues and maintains active tribal UIC permits in Oklahoma and New Mexico. Tribes with UIC permitting activity include:

  • Osage Nation (Oklahoma) 
  • Ute Mountain Ute (New Mexico)
  • Jicarilla Apache (New Mexico)

Currently there is no tribal UIC permitting activity in Texas, Louisiana, or Arkansas.

Class II injection well owners and operators planning injection activities on tribal lands in EPA Region 6 must submit an injection well application package.

Owners or operators planning to operate a Class II injection well on tribal lands in EPA Region 6, except on Osage Nation land, should contact Bill Hurlbut (hurlbut.william@epa.gov) for an application package.

For wells to be located on Osage Nation land, owners and operators should access the permit application directly from the Osage Nation.

Osage Nation underground injection control well application package Exit

Top of Page