We’ve made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Underground Injection Control (UIC)

Underground Injection Control in Region 9 (AZ, CA, HI, NV, MP, GU)

On this page:

State-Specific Efforts

Permitting and Registration Information

Tribal UIC

Final Rulemaking for the Navajo Nation Class II Underground Injection Control Program

Contact Information

David Albright (albright.david@epa.gov)
U.S. EPA, Region 9
Manager, Drinking Water Protection Section, WTR-3-2
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 972-3971

Contact for EPA UIC Staff and Regional Partners in the Pacific Southwest
Area EPA Contacts State/Tribal Partnerships Contacts
Contact for EPA UIC Staff and Regional Partners in the Pacific Southwest

Arizona

Nancy Rumrill (rumrill.nancy@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3293
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ)

Aquifer Protection Program Exit
(602) 771-2322 or (602) 771-4362

California

Deep Wells
Joel Coffman (coffman.joel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3530

Shallow Wells
Leslie Greenberg (greenberg.leslie@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3349

Department of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources (DOGGR)

Guam

David Albright (albright.david@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3971
Guam Environmental Protection Agency

Water Pollution Control ProgramExit

Hawaii

Large Capacity Cesspool Project

Kate Rao (rao.kate@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3533

Department of Health, Safe Drinking Water Branch

Safe Drinking Water BranchExit
(808) 586-4258

Department of Health, Wastewater Branch
Wastewater BranchExit
(808) 586-4294

Navajo Nation

Joel Coffman (coffman.joel@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3530
Navajo Nation Underground Injection Control Program Exit

Nevada

Leslie Greenberg (greenberg.leslie@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3349
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Underground Injection Control Program Exit

Northern Mariana Islands

David Albright (albright.david@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3971

CNMI Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality Exit

Tribes

Leslie Greenberg (greenberg.leslie@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3349
N/A

All Other Region 9 UIC Inventory Questions

r9iWells@epa.gov N/A

Top of Page