We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Contact Us About NPDES Permits Around the Nation

Report an environmental violation

Report possible violations of environmental laws and regulations.

Use the map or tabs to find NPDES program contacts for the EPA Region in your area. 

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington


Region 1

EPA Region 1 serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and 10 Tribes.

About Region 1's NPDES program

Massachusetts & New Hampshire Contacts

NPDES Permits in Massachusetts or New Hampshire are issued by EPA New England. To view the administrative record or to obtain hard copies of additional attachments for a specific Massachusetts or New Hampshire permit issued by EPA New England please contact:

Olga Vergara (vergara.olga@epa.gov)
(617) 918-1519
MA NPDES Contact

Shelley Puleo (puleo.shelly@epa.gov)
(617) 918-1545
NH NPDES Contact

For all other permit related questions contact:

Contact a member of the NPDES Permiting Staff (PDF) (2 pp, 121 K, about PDF)

Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island & Vermont Contacts

NPDES Permits in Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, and Vermont are issued by the state's environmental agency. Please visit our delegated state pages for copies of recently issued NPDES permits and links to the state agencies that run their own NPDES program.

Comment Forms for EPA New England
Send us comments or questions via an online form. Click on your state to comment.

Region 2

EPA Region 2 serves New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and 8 Tribes.

Virginia S. Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permitting Section
212-637-4241

Region 3

EPA Region 3 serves Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Brian Trulear (trulear.brian@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permits Branch
215-814-5723

John Lovell (lovell.john@epa.gov
Pretreatment Coordinator
215-814-5783

Francisco Cruz (cruz.francisco@epa.gov)
Mining Permits Team Lead
215-814-5734

Elizabeth Ottinger (ottinger.elizabeth@epa.gov)
Stormwater & Pretreatment
215-814-5783

Mailing Address

EPA Region 3
1650 Arch St 3WP41
Philadelphia, PA 19103

Region 4

EPA Region 4 serves Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and 6 Tribes.

Chris Thomas (thomas.chris@epa.gov)
Chief, Sustainable Communities and Watershed Branch (oversees MS4 and construction stormwater NPDES permits)
404-562-9459

Molly Davis (davis.molly@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permitting Section
404-562-9236

Natalie Ellington (ellington.natalie@epa.gov)
Chief, Western Communities and Watershed Section (oversees MS4 and construction stormwater NPDES permits in AL, KY, MS and TN)
404-562-9453

Mark Nuhfer (nuhfer.mark@epa.gov)
Chief, Eastern Communities and Watershed Section (oversees MS4 and construction stormwater NPDES permits in FL, GA, NC and SC)
404-562-9390

Mailing Address

EPA Region 4
Water Protection Division - NPDES
61 Forsyth Street SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Region 5

EPA Region 5 serves Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, and 35 Tribes.

Illinois

Jason Hewitt (hewitt.jason@epa.gov)
312-353-3114

Indiana

Janet Pellegrini (pellegrini.janet@epa.gov)
312-886-4298

Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin

John Colletti (colletti.john@epa.gov)
312-886-6106

Ohio

Julianne Socha (socha.julianne@epa.gov)
312-886-4436

Region 6

EPA Region 6 serves Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklakoma, Texas, and 66 Tribes.

Stacey Dwyer (dwyer.stacey@epa.gov)
Associate Director, NPDES Permits and TMDL Branch
214-665-7170

Region 7

EPA Region 7 serves Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and 9 Tribes.

Iowa

Tanya Nix (nix.tanya@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7170

Nebraska

Kimberly Hill (hill.kimberly@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7841

Missouri

Sunny Wellesley (wellesley.sunny@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7136

Kansas

Donna Porter (porter.donna@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7929

Pretreatment

Paul Marshall (marshall.paul@epa.gov)
913-551-7419

Stormwater

Mark Matthews (matthews.mark@epa.gov)
913-551-7635

Mailing Address

EPA Region 7
Water, Wetlands, and Pesticides Division
11201 Renner Blvd.
Lenexa, KS 66219

Region 8

EPA Region 8 serves Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and 27 Tribes. 

About Region 8's NPDES program

EPA Contacts

Colleen Rathbone (rathbone.colleen@epa.gov)
Chief, Wastewater Unit
303-312-6133

Amy Clark (clark.amy@epa.gov)
Stormwater Coordinator, Utah State Oversight
303-312-7014

Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov)
Pretreatment Coordinator, Colorado State Oversight
303-312-6382

Paul Garrison (garrison.paul@epa.gov)
Decentralized Wastewater Treatment Coordinator, South Dakota State Oversight
303-312-6016

VelRey Lozano (lozano.velrey@epa.gov)
Whole Effluent Toxicity (WET) Coordinator, Tribal Lagoon Permits, North Dakota State Oversight
303-312-6128

David Rise (rise.david@epa.gov)
Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations, Montana State Oversight
406-457-5012

Qian Zhang (zhang.qian@epa.gov)
Effluent Limitation Guidelines Coordinator, Wyoming State Oversight
303-312-6267


State Contacts

Colorado

Ellen Kutzer (ellen.kutzer@state.co.us), 303-692-3599
Water Quality Control Division
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530

Montana

Jon Kenning (JKenning@mt.gov), 406-444-0420
Water Protection Bureau
Montana Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, Montana 59620

North Dakota

Karl Rockeman (krockema@nd.gov), 701-328-5210
Division of Water Quality
North Dakota Department of Health
1200 Missouri Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-5520

South Dakota

Kelli Buscher (kelli.buscher@state.sd.us), 605-773-3351
South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Joe Foss Building
523 East Capital
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-3181

Utah

Jeanne Riley (jriley@utah.gov), 801-536-4369
Division of Water Quality
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 144870
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4870

Wyoming

Bill DiRienzo (bill.dirienzo@wyo.gov), 307-777-7081
Water Quality Division
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Herschler Building, 4th Floor West
122 W. 25th Street
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

Region 9

EPA Region 9 serves Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau, and 148 Tribes.

NPDES Permits & Stormwater

David Smith (smith.davidw@epa.gov), Manager
(415) 972-3464

Stormwater

Eugene Bromley (bromley.eugene@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3510

Region 10

EPA Region 10 serves Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and 271 Tribes. 

Manager and Team Leads

Michael Lidgard (lidgard.michael@epa.gov)
Manager, NPDES Permits Unit
206-553-1755

Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov)
Lead, EPA-Issued NPDES Permits in Region 10 (includes all tribal permits, all non-tribal permits in Idaho, all federal facilities permits in Washington, and all permits for discharges to federal waters with Region 10).
206-553-6258

Karen Burgess (burgess.karen@epa.gov)
Lead, State Oversight for State-Issued NPDES Permits in Region 10 (includes all permits for discharges in Alaska, Oregon, and Washington except those issued by EPA Region 10 as indicated above).
206-553-1644

Subject Area Contacts

Aquaculture Permitting

Lisa Kusnierz (kusnierz.lisa@epa.gov)
208-378-5626

Biosolids/Sewage Sludge

Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov)
206-553-1099

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs)

Nick Peak (peak.nicholas@epa.gov)
202-564-9602

Idaho Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Authorization (IPDES)

Karen Burgess (burgess.karen@epa.gov)
2016-553-1644

Mining Permitting

Cindi Godsey (godsey.cindi@epa.gov)
206-553-1676

Oil and Gas Permitting

Erin Seyfried (seyfried.erin@epa.gov)
206-553-1448

Pesticide Permitting

Dirk Helder (helder.dirk@epa.gov)
208-378-5749

Pretreatment Program

Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov)
206-553-1099

Seafood Permitting

Ashley Grompe (grompe.ashley@epa.gov)
206-553-1284

Stormwater Permitting: Multi-Sector (Industrial) and Construction Stormwater

Margaret McCauley (mccauley.margaret@epa.gov)
206-553-1772

Stormwater Permitting: Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s)

Misha Vakoc (vakoc.misha@epa.gov)
206-553-6650

Tribal Coordinator

Margaret McCauley (mccauley.margaret@epa.gov)
206-553-1772

Whole Effluent Toxicity (WET) Test and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) Compliance

Jamey Stoddard (stoddard.jamey@epa.gov)
206-553-6110

Mailing Address

U.S. EPA, Region 10
Office of Water and Watersheds
NPDES Permits Unit
1200 Sixth Avenue (OWW-191)
Seattle, Washington 98101