An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Contact Us About NPDES Permits Around the Nation

Find NPDES program contacts in each EPA Region.

Report an environmental violation

Report possible violations of environmental laws and regulations.

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

For offshore permits in the Gulf of Mexico, contact Region 4 (eastern Gulf of Mexico) or Region 6 (western/central Gulf of Mexico).


Region 1

EPA Region 1 serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, and 10 Tribes.

About Region 1's NPDES program

Massachusetts & New Hampshire Contacts

NPDES Permits in Massachusetts or New Hampshire are issued by EPA New England. To view the administrative record or to obtain hard copies of additional attachments for a specific Massachusetts or New Hampshire permit issued by EPA New England please contact:

Shelley Puleo (puleo.shelly@epa.gov)
(617) 918-1545
MA & NH NPDES Contact

For all other permit related questions contact:

Contact a member of the NPDES Permiting Staff (PDF) (2 pp, 160 K, about PDF)

Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island & Vermont Contacts

NPDES Permits in Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, and Vermont are issued by the state's environmental agency. Please visit our delegated state pages for copies of recently issued NPDES permits and links to the state agencies that run their own NPDES program.

Comment Forms for EPA New England
Send us comments or questions via an online form. Click on your state to comment.

Region 2

EPA Region 2 serves New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and 8 Tribes.

Virginia S. Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permitting Section
212-637-4241

Region 3

EPA Region 3 serves Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Brian Trulear (trulear.brian@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permits Branch
215-814-5723

Margaret Green (green.margaret@epa.gov)
215-814-5736
Pretreatment

Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov)
215-814-2714
Pretreatment

Francisco Cruz (cruz.francisco@epa.gov)
215-814-5734
Mining Permits

Elizabeth Ottinger (ottinger.elizabeth@epa.gov)
215-814-5783
Stormwater

Mailing Address

EPA Region 3
1650 Arch St 3WP41
Philadelphia, PA 19103

Region 4

EPA Region 4 serves Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and 6 Tribes.

Chris Thomas (thomas.chris@epa.gov)
Chief, Permitting and Grants Branch
404-562-9459

Craig Hesterlee (hesterlee.craig@epa.gov)
Chief, NPDES Permitting Section
404-562-9749

Mailing Address

EPA Region 4
Water Division - NPDES
61 Forsyth Street SW
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Region 5

EPA Region 5 serves Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, and 35 Tribes.

Illinois

Jason Hewitt (hewitt.jason@epa.gov)
312-353-3114

Indiana

Janet Pellegrini (pellegrini.janet@epa.gov)
312-886-4298

Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin

John Colletti (colletti.john@epa.gov)
312-886-6106

Ohio

Julianne Socha (socha.julianne@epa.gov)
312-886-4436

Region 6

EPA Region 6 serves Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklakoma, Texas, and 66 Tribes.

Maria Martinez (martinez.maria@epa.gov)
Associate Director, Permitting and Water Quality Branch
214-665-2230

For stormwater issues, visit NPDES Stormwater Program in Region 6.

Region 7

EPA Region 7 serves Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and 9 Tribes.

Iowa

Tanya Nix (nix.tanya@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7170

Nebraska

John Dunn (dunn.john@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7594

Missouri

Sunny Wellesley (wellesley.sunny@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7136

Kansas

Michael Tate (tate.michael@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7773

Pretreatment

Paul Marshall (marshall.paul@epa.gov)
913-551-7419

Stormwater

Mark Matthews (matthews.mark@epa.gov)
913-551-7635

Tribal

Carter Tharp (tharp.carter@epa.gov)
NPDES Permits
913-551-7936

Mailing Address

EPA Region 7
Water Division
11201 Renner Blvd.
Lenexa, KS 66219

Region 8

EPA Region 8 serves Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, and 27 Tribes. 

About Region 8's NPDES program

EPA Contacts

Stephanie DeJong (dejong.stephanie@epa.gov)
Chief, Wastewater Unit
303-312-6362

Amy Clark (clark.amy@epa.gov)
Stormwater Coordinator, Utah State Oversight
303-312-7014

Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov)
Effluent Limitation Guidelines Coordinator, Pretreatment Coordinator, Colorado State Oversight
303-312-6382

Paul Garrison (garrison.paul@epa.gov)
Decentralized Wastewater Treatment Coordinator, Drinking Water General Permit, South Dakota State Oversight
303-312-6016

Erik Makus (makus.erik@epa.gov)
Nutrients, Water Quality Trading, Montana State Oversight
406-457-4017

Alysia Tien (tien.alysia@epa.gov)
Whole Effluent Toxicity (WET), North Dakota State Oversight
406-457-4017

Qian Zhang (zhang.qian@epa.gov)

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations, Wyoming State Oversight
303-312-6267


State Contacts

Colorado

Meg Parish (meg.parish@state.co.us), 303-692-3419
Water Quality Control Division
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530

Montana

Jon Kenning (JKenning@mt.gov), 406-444-0420
Water Protection Bureau
Montana Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, Montana 59620

North Dakota

Karl Rockeman (krockema@nd.gov), 701-328-5210
Division of Water Quality
North Dakota Department of Health
1200 Missouri Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-5520

South Dakota

Kelli Buscher (kelli.buscher@state.sd.us), 605-773-3351
South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Joe Foss Building
523 East Capital
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-3181

Utah

Jeanne Riley (jriley@utah.gov), 801-536-4369
Division of Water Quality
Utah Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 144870
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4870

Wyoming

Jason Thomas (jason.thomas@wyo.gov), 307-777-5504
Water Quality Division
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Herschler Building, 4th Floor West
122 W. 25th Street
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

Region 9

EPA Pacific Southwest (Region 9) serves Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau, and 148 Tribes.

NPDES Permits

Elizabeth Sablad (sablad.elizabeth@epa.gov), Manager
(415) 972-3044

Arizona Tribal Lands (excluding Navajo Nation)

Gary Sheth (sheth.gary@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3516

Navajo Nation

Gary Sheth (sheth.gary@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3516

California Tribal Lands

Gary Sheth (sheth.gary@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3516

California (excluding Tribal Lands)

Becky Mitschele (mitschele.becky@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3492

Hawaii

Peter Kozelka (kozelka.peter@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3448

Nevada

Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3492

American Samoa

Pascal Mues (mues.pascal@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3768

Guam

Jamie Marincola (marincola.jamespaul@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3520

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Peter Kozelka (kozelka.peter@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3448

Stormwater

Eugene Bromley (bromley.eugene@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3510

Pretreatment

Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3492

Biosolids

Lauren Fondahl (fondahl.lauren@epa.gov)
(415) 972-3514

Region 10

EPA Region 10 serves Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and 271 Tribes. 

Manager

Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov)
Manager, NPDES Permits Section
206-553-6258

Subject Area Contacts

Aquaculture Permitting

Lisa Kusnierz (kusnierz.lisa@epa.gov)
208-378-5626

Biosolids/Sewage Sludge

Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov)
206-553-1099

Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations (CAFOs)

Nick Peak (peak.nicholas@epa.gov)
208-378-5765

Idaho Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Authorization (IPDES)

Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov)
206-553-6258

Mining Permitting

Cindi Godsey (godsey.cindi@epa.gov)
206-553-1676

Oil and Gas Permitting

Erin Seyfried (seyfried.erin@epa.gov)
206-553-1448

Pesticide Permitting

Bilin Basu (basu.bilin@epa.gov)
206-553-0029

Pretreatment Program

Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov)
206-553-1099

Seafood Permitting

Ashley Grompe (grompe.ashley@epa.gov)
206-553-1284

Stormwater Permitting: Multi-Sector (Industrial) and Construction Stormwater

Margaret McCauley (mccauley.margaret@epa.gov)
206-553-1772

Stormwater Permitting: Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s)

Misha Vakoc (vakoc.misha@epa.gov)
206-553-6650

Tribal Coordinator

Margaret McCauley (mccauley.margaret@epa.gov)
206-553-1772

Whole Effluent Toxicity (WET) Test and National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) Compliance

Jamey Stoddard (stoddard.jamey@epa.gov)
206-553-6110

Mailing Address

U.S. EPA, Region 10
Water Division
NPDES Permits Section
1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 155 (19-C04)
Seattle, Washington 98101