An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

About Region 10's NPDES Permit Program

This page contains information about EPA's NPDES permitting program in Region 10, which serves Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington and 271 federally recognized tribes. 

On this page:
Related pages:

Find NPDES Permits in Region 10


EPA issues the following NPDES permits in Alaska:

  • Federally-owned facilities located in Denali National Park.
  • Facilities operating outside State waters (three miles offshore).
  • Facilities that have been issued Clean Water Act Section 301(h) waivers from secondary treatment standards.
  • All permits on tribal lands.

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation issues all other permits.


EPA currently issues all NPDES permits in Idaho. However, Idaho is seeking approval from EPA to administer the Idaho Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (IPDES) program regulating discharges of pollutants into waters of the U.S. under its jurisdiction. Visit Idaho NPDES Program Authorization for more information.


EPA issues all NPDES permits on tribal lands in Oregon. The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (ODEQ) issues all other permits.


EPA issues NPDES permits for federally-owned facilities and all permits on tribal lands in Washington. The Washington Department of Ecology (Ecology) issues all other permits.

Tribal lands

EPA issues all NPDES permits on tribal lands. See links above for EPA-issued permits within each state. 

Top of Page

Regional Permitting Guidance

Other NPDES Permitting Resources

Top of Page