An official website of the United States government.

South Dakota NPDES Permits

In South Dakota, EPA issues all NPDES permits on tribal lands (see table below). All other permits are issued by the South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources.

For state-issued permits, visit South Dakota's NPDES Permitting ProgramExit

Related pages:

Click on the facility/permit name to view the permit and supporting documents.

NPDES Permits Issued by EPA in South Dakota
Location Facility or Permit Name Permit Number Permit Status Effective Date Expiration Date
Various General Permit for Wastewater Discharges Associated with Drinking Water Production in Indian Country SDDW#### Final 2019-07-31 2024-06-30
Various General Permit for Wastewater Lagoons in Indian Country SDG589### Final 2016-01-01 2020-12-31
Pine Ridge Reservation (Oglala County) Prairie Wind Casino Wastewater Treatment Plant SD0034760 Final 2019-07-31 2024-06-30
Standing Rock Indian Reservation (Corson County) Standing Rock Rural Water System SD0030996 Final 2018-01-01 2022-12-31
Rosebud Indian Reservation (Todd County) Rosebud Casino and Hotel Wastewater Treatment Facility SD0034584 Final 2017-10-01 2022-09-30
Yankton Sioux Tribe Reservation (Charles Mix County) City of Wagner Wastewater Treatment Facility SD0020184 Final 2017-10-01 2022-09-30
Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation (Dewey County) City of Eagle Butte Wastewater Treatment Facility SD0020192 Final 2021-07-01 2026-06-30
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Reservation (Corson County) Wulf Cattle Depot SD0034606 Final 2021-04-01 2026-03-31
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Reservation (Corson County) Grand River Casino and Resort Wastewater Treatment Facility SD0034752 Final 2019-02-01 2024-01-31
Lower Brule Reservation (Lyman County) Lower Brule Lagoon System SD0020800 Final 2016-02-01 2020-12-31