An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Region 10 Tribal Contacts

On this page:

Tribal Coordinators

EPA tribal coordinators work in our Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit and serve as liaisons to tribes in certain geographic areas as well as grant project officers.

Manager, Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit, Stacy Murphy (murphy.stacy@epa.gov), 206-553-2106.

Mailing address: EPA Region 10, Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit, Regional Administrator's Division (TTAU-202), 1200 6th Avenue, Suite 155, Seattle, WA 98101.

Name/Email Phone Number Staff Location Geographic Focus Area
EPA Region 10 Tribal Coordinators
Todd Bender (bender.todd@epa.gov) 206-553-0344 Seattle NW Arctic, Norton Sound
Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov) 206-553-7263 Seattle Cook Inlet, Kodiak
Kris Carre (carre.kristine@epa.gov) 503-326-7024 Portland Oregon, Washington
Susan Conbere (conbere.susan@epa.gov) 206-553-6243 Seattle Koyukuk, Kuskokwim Delta, Lower Kuskokwim, Middle Yukon
Michelle Davis (davis.michellev@epa.gov) 907-271-3434 Anchorage Prince William Sound, Southeast
Sherry Davis (davis.sherry@epa.gov) 907-271-6322 Anchorage Eastern Interior, Upper Yukon, Yukon Delta
Westley Foster (foster.westley@epa.gov) 206-553-1604 Seattle Idaho, Oregon, Washington
Kristy Fry (fry.kristy@epa.gov) 206-553-1085 Seattle Kuskokwim Delta, Lower Yukon, Yukon Delta
Santina Gay (gay.santina@epa.gov) 907-271-3413 Anchorage Aleutians & Pribilofs, Bristol Bay, Lake Iliamna
Mahri Lowinger (lowinger.mahri@epa.gov) 907-271-6334 Anchorage Kuskokwim Delta, Middle & Upper Kuskokwim, Middle Yukon
Alan Moomaw (moomaw.alan@epa.gov) 360-753-8071 Lacey Idaho, Washington
Michael Ortiz (ortiz.michael@epa.gov) 206-553-6234 Seattle Copper River, Kuskokwim Delta, Prince William Sound
Cathy Villa (villa.catherine@epa.gov) 907-271-1270 Anchorage Arctic, NW Arctic

Top of Page

GAP Project Officers

EPA Project Officers assigned to Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) grants.

Tribe, Village or Grant Name Location EPA Project Officer Phone Number
Project Officers for Tribal Grants in Region 10
Tribes: Brevig Mission, Chinik (Golovin), Council, Elim, Gambell, King Island, Koyuk, Mary's Igloo, Nome, Saint Michael, Savoonga, Shaktoolik, Solomon, Stebbins, Teller, Unalakleet, White Mountain;
Consortia: Kawerak, Inc., Norton Sound Health Corporation, Tribal Solid Waste Advisory Network
Alaska Todd Bender (bender.todd@epa.gov) 206-553-0344
Tribes: Afognak, Akhiok, Chickaloon, Eklutna, Kaguyak, Karluk, Kenaitze, Knik, Larsen Bay, Nanwalek (English Bay), Ninilchik, Old Harbor, Ouzinkie, Port Graham, Port Lions, Salamatof, Seldovia, Sun'aq, Tangirnaq (Woody Island), Tyonek;
Consortia: Cook Inlet Tribal Council, Chugach Regional Resources Commission, Kodiak Area Native Association
Alaska Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov) 206-553-7263
Tribes: Akiachak, Akiak, Alatna, Allakaket, Anvik, Evansville (Bettles Field), Galena (Louden), Grayling (Holikachuk), Holy Cross, Hughes, Huslia, Iqurmiut (Russian Mission), Kaltag, Koyukuk, Kwethluk, Napakiak, Napaskiak, Nulato, Orutsararmiut (Bethel), Oscarville, Ruby, Shageluk;
Consortia: Yukon-Koyukuk Consortium
Alaska Susan Conbere (conbere.susan@epa.gov) 206-553-6243
Tribes: Angoon, Chilkat (Klukwan), Chilkoot (Haines), Craig, Douglas, Eyak (Cordova), Hoonah, Hydaburg, Kake, Kasaan, Ketchikan, Klawock, Metlakatla, Petersburg, Saxman, Sitka, Skagway, Tlingit and Haida, Wrangell, Yakutat Alaska Michelle Davis (davis.michellev@epa.gov) 907-271-3434
Tribes: Arctic, Beaver, Birch Creek, Cantwell, Chalkyitsik, Circle, Dot Lake, Eagle, Fort Yukon, Healy Lake, Manley, Minto, Nenana, Northway, Rampart, Stevens, Tanacross, Tanana, Tetlin, Venetie Tribal Government, Venetie Village Council;
Consortia: Council of Athabascan Tribal Governments, Copper Valley Development Association, Tanana Chiefs Conference
Alaska Sherry Davis (davis.sherry@epa.gov) 907-271-6322
Tribes: Alakanuk, Algaaciq (St. Mary's), Andreafski, Asa'carsarmiut (Mountain Village), Atmautluak, Bill Moore's Slough, Chevak, Chuloonawick, Emmonak, Hamilton, Hooper Bay, Kasigluk, Kotlik, Marshall (Fortuna Ledge), Nunam Iqua, Nunapitchuk, Ohogamuit, Paimiut, Pilot Station, Pitkas Point, Scammon Bay;
Consortia: Yukon River Inter-Tribal Watershed Council
Alaska Kristy Fry (fry.kristy@epa.gov) 206-553-1085
Tribes: Akutan, Atka, Belkofski, Chignik Bay, Chignik Lagoon, Chignik Lake, False Pass, Ivanof Bay, Kanatak, King Cove, Nelson Lagoon, Nikolski, Pauloff, Perryville, Pilot Point, Port Heiden, Pribilof, Saint George, Saint Paul, Sand Point, Ugashik, Unalaska, Unga;
Consortia: Alaska Inter-Tribal Council, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, Aleutian/Pribilof Islands Association
Alaska Santina Gay (gay.santina@epa.gov) 907-271-3413
Tribes: Aniak, Chefornak, Chuathbaluk (Russian Mission), Crooked Creek, Georgetown, Kalskag, Kipnuk, Lime, Lower Kalskag, McGrath, Mekoryuk, Napaimute, Newtok, Nightmute, Nikolai, Nunakauyarmiut (Tooksook Bay), Red Devil, Sleetmute, Stony River, Takotna, Telida, Tuluksak, Tununak, Umkumiut;
Consortia: Association of Village Council Presidents, Kuskokwim Native Association, Nelson Island Consortium
Alaska Mahri Lowinger (lowinger.mahri@epa.gov) 907-271-6334
Tribes: Cheesh'na, Chenega (Chanega), Chitina, Eek, Gakona, Goodnews Bay, Gulkana, Kluti-Kaah, (Copper Center), Kongiganak, Kwigillingok, Kwinhagak (Quinhagak), Mentasta, Platinum, Tatitlek, Tazlina, Tuntutuliak;
Consortia: Copper River Native Association, Mount Sanford Tribal Consortium, Regional Tribal Operations Committee
Alaska Michael Ortiz (ortiz.michael@epa.gov) 206-553-6234
Tribes: Ambler, Anaktuvuk, Atqasuk (Atkasook), Barrow, Buckland, Deering, Diomede (Inalik), Inupiat Community of the Arctic Slope, Kaktovik (Barter Island), Kiana, Kivalena, Kobuk, Kotzubue, Noatak, Noorvik, Nuiqsut (Nooiksut), Point Hope, Point Lay, Selawik, Shishmaref, Shungnak, Wainwright, Wales
Consortia: Maniilaq Association
Alaska Cathy Villa (villa.catherine@epa.gov) 907-271-1270
Tribes: Chehalis, Coos, Coquille, Cow Creek, Cowlitz, Grand Ronde, Klamath, Shoalwater Bay, Siletz, Warm Springs
Consortia: Columbia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission
Oregon, Washington Kris Carre (carre.kristine@epa.gov) 503-326-7024
Tribes: Burns Paiute, Lummi, Nooksack, Puyallup, Samish, Sauk-Suiattle, Shoshone-Bannock, Snoqualmie, Stillaguamish, Swinomish, Tulalip, Umatilla, Upper Skagit, Yakama
Consortia: Skagit River System Cooperative, Upper Snake River Tribes Foundation
Washington Westley Foster (foster.westley@epa.gov) 206-553-1604
Tribes: Coeur d'Alene, Colville, Hoh, Jamestown S'Klallam, Kalispel, Kootenai, Lower Elwha, Makah, Muckleshoot, Nez Perce, Nisqually, Port Gamble, Quileute, Quinault, Skokomish, Spokane, Squaxin, Suquamish
Consortia: Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
Washington Alan Moomaw (moomaw.alan@epa.gov) 360-753-8071

Top of Page

Tribal Specialists

EPA tribal specialists serve as general points of contact for tribal work within each of our programatic divisions.

EPA Region 10 Tribal Specialists
Name/Email Phone Number Office/Division
Tribal Specialists Team Lead
Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov)
206-553-7263 About the Office of the Regional Administrator
J.R. Herbst (herbst.john@epa.gov) 206-553-2106 About the Office of the Regional Administrator
Sandra Brozusky (brozusky.sandra@epa.gov) 206-553-5317 About the Air and Radiation Division
Charissa Bujak (bujak.charissa@epa.gov) 208-378-5754 About the Enforcement and Compliance Assurance Division
Gabriela Carvalho (carvalho.gabriela@epa.gov) 206-553-6698 About the Land, Chemicals, and Redevelopment Division
Lon Kissinger (kissinger.lon@epa.gov) 206-553-2115 About the Laboratory Services and Applied Science Division
Joanne Moore (moore.joanne@epa.gov) 206-553-0310 About the Superfund and Emergency Management Division
Mark Romelli (romelli.mark@epa.gov) 206-553-1690 About the Mission Support Division
Ted Yackulic (yackulic.ted@epa.gov) 206-553-1218 About the Office of Regional Counsel
Lisa Castañon (castañon.lisa@epa.gov) 206-553-0464 About the Office of Regional Counsel
Jayshika Ramrakha (ramrakha.jayshika@epa.gov) 206-553-1788 About the Water Division
Catherine Gockel (gockel.catherine@epa.gov) 206-553-0325 About the Water Division

Top of Page

Tribal Air Contacts

EPA Region 10 staff with expertise on various air-related issues on tribal lands.

EPA Region 10 Tribal Air Team
Name/Email Phone Number Focus Area/Expertise Air Grants (CAA 105/103)
Sandra Brozusky (brozusky.sandra@epa.gov) 206-553-5317 Tribal Air Team Lead  
Sarah Fredrick (fredrick.sarah@epa.gov) 206-553-1601 Tribal air grants, tribal diesel grants Makah, DERA Grants
Chris Hall (hall.chris@epa.gov) 206-553-0521 Air monitoring and quality assurance  
Doug Hardesty (hardesty.doug@epa.gov) 208-378-5759 Air permits Lead  
Doug Jager (jager.doug@epa.gov) 206-553-2961 Air monitoring network design  
Kayla Krauss (krauss.kayla@epa.gov) 206-553-2728 Alaska tribal air, tribal air grants, tribal diesel grants ANTHC, Umatilla, Warm Springs, Coos Lower Umpqua Siuslaw, Kootenai, Coeur d’Alene, Swinomish, Yakama, Colville, Chehalis, Quinault, Spokane, Makah, Tulalip, DERA grants
Aaron Lambert (lambert.aaron@epa.gov) 206-553-5122 Federal Air Rules for Reservations (FARR)  
Jay McAlpine (mcalpine.jay@epa.gov) 206-553-0094 Atmospheric scientist, air modeling  
Jim McAuley (mcauley.jim@epa.gov) 206-553-1987 Radiation Safety Officer, radon  
Mike McGown (mcgown.mike@epa.gov) 208-378-5764 Smoke management, tribal air grants Nez Perce, Shoshone-Bannock
Erin McTigue (mctigue.erin@epa.gov) 206-553-1254 Alaska tribal air, tribal indoor air  
Gretchen Stewart (stewart.gretchen@epa.gov) 206-553-0527 Children's health, schools, indoor air  
Bill Todd (todd.bill@epa.gov) 206-553-6914 FARR registration, emission inventories, burn bans  
Lucita Valiere (valiere.lucita@epa.gov) 206-553-8087 Tribal Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) Lead, VW settlement, tribal diesel grants DERA grants
Claudia Vaupel (vaupel.claudia@epa.gov) 206-553-6121 Air Planning Team Lead, State Implementation Plans (SIPs)  
India Young (young.india@epa.gov) 206-553-1219 Tribal air grants Colville, CLUSI, Chehalis, Quinault, Tulalip

Top of Page