We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Region 10 Tribal Contacts

On this page:

Tribal Coordinators

EPA tribal coordinators work in our Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit and serve as liaisons to tribes in certain geographic areas as well as grant project officers.

Manager, Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit, Stacy Murphy (murphy.stacy@epa.gov), 206-553-2106;

Mailing address: EPA Region 10, Tribal Trust and Assistance Unit, Regional Administrator's Division (TTAU-202), 1200 6th Avenue, Suite 900, Seattle, WA 98101.

Name/Email Phone Number Staff Location Geographic Focus Area
EPA Region 10 Tribal Coordinators
Todd Bender (bender.todd@epa.gov) 206-553-0344 Seattle Norton Sound; Bering Strait
Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov) 206-553-7263 Seattle Southcentral Alaska; Kodiak
Kris Carre (carre.kristine@epa.gov) 503-326-7024 Portland Oregon; Washington
Susan Conbere (conbere.susan@epa.gov) 206-553-6243 Seattle Copper River; Yukon-Koyukuk
Don Creek (creek.don@epa.gov) 503-326-5015 Portland Oregon
Michelle Davis (davis.michellev@epa.gov) 907-271-3434 Anchorage Southeast
Westley Foster (foster.westley@epa.gov) 206-553-1604 Seattle Washington; Bristol Bay Region of Alaska
Santina Gay (gay.santina@epa.gov) 907-271-3413 Anchorage Lower Kuskokwim
Sherry Davis (davis.sherry@epa.gov) 907-271-6322 Anchorage Upper Yukon; Tanana
Nica Klaber (klaber.nica@epa.gov) 206-553-2570 Seattle Lower Yukon
Mahri Lowinger (lowinger.mahri@epa.gov) 907-271-6334 Anchorage Kuskokwim; Nelson Island
Alan Moomaw (moomaw.alan@epa.gov) 360-753-8071 Lacey Washington
Michael Ortiz (ortiz.michael@epa.gov) 206-553-6234 Seattle Lower Yukon; Lower Kuskokwim; Copper River; Bristol Bay
Neverley Shoemake (shoemake.neverley@epa.gov) 907-271-3206 Anchorage Bristol Bay; Aleutian-Pribilofs
Cathy Villa (villa.catherine@epa.gov) 907-271-1270 Anchorage Arctic; North Slope
Jim Zokan (zokan.jim@epa.gov) 208-378-5691 Boise Idaho

Top of Page

GAP Project Officers

EPA Project Officers assigned to Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) grants.

Tribe, Village or Grant Name Location EPA Project Officer Phone Number
Project Officers for Tribal Grants in Region 10
Afognak, Akhiok, Chenega, Chickaloon, Eklutna, Kenaitze, Knik, Larsen Bay, Nanwalek, Ninilchik, Old Harbor, Ouzinkie, Port Graham, Port Lions, Seldovia, Sun'aq, Tatitlek, Tyonek Alaska Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov) 206-553-7263
Akiachak, Atmautluak, Eek, Goodnews Bay, Kasigluk, Kongiganak, Kwethluk, Kwigillingok, Kwinhagak, Napakiak, Napaskiak, Nunapitchuk, Tuluksak, Tuntutuliak, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, Association of Village Council Presidents  Alaska Santina Gay (gay.santina@epa.gov) 907-271-3413
Algaaciq, Alakanuk, Anvik, Asa'caramiut, Chevak, Emmonak, Grayling, Holy Cross, Hooper Bay, Iqurmiut, Nunam Iqua, Pitka's Point, Scammon Bay, Yupiit of Andreafski, Yukon River Inter-Tribal Wastershed Council Alaska Nica Klaber (klaber.nica@epa.gov) 206-553-2570
Belkofski, Chignik Bay, Chignik Lagoon, Chignik Lake, Illiamna, Ivanof Bay, King Cove, Kokhanok, Nelson Lagoon, Newhalen, Nondalton, Pauloff Harbor, Pedro Bay, Sand Point, St. Paul, Unalaska, Unga, Aleutian Pribilof Islands Association, Bristol Bay Area Health Corporation, Bristol Bay Native Association Alaska Neverley Shoemake (shoemake.neverley@epa.gov) 907-271-3206
Bill Moore's Slough, Brevig Mission, Chinik, Council, Diomede, Elim, Gambell, Kotlik, Koyuk, Mary’s Igloo, Nome Eskimo Community, Saint Michael, Shaktoolik, Solomon, Stebbins, Teller, Unalakleet, White Mountain, Kawerak, Norton Sound Health Corporation Alaska Todd Bender (bender.todd@epa.gov) 206-553-0344
Arctic Village, Beaver, Birch Creek, Cantwell, Chalkyitsik, Circle, Dot Lake, Eagle, Fort Yukon, Minto, Nenana, Northway, Rampart, Tanacross, Tetlin, Tanana, Native Village of Venetie, Venetie Village Council, Council of Athabascan Tribal Governments, Tanana Chiefs Conference Alaska Sherry Kimmons (kimmons.sherry@epa.gov) 907-271-6322
Ambler, Barrow, Buckland, Deering, Inupiat Community of the Arctic Slope, Kiana, Kivalina, Kobuk, Kotzebue, Noatak, Noorvik, Nuiqsut, Point Lay, Selawik, Shishmaref, Shungnak, Wainwright, Wales, Maniilaq Alaska Cathy Villa (villa.catherine@epa.gov) 907-271-1270
Angoon, Central Council of the Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska, Chilkat (Klukwan), Chilkoot, Craig, Douglas, Eyak, Hoonah, Hydaburg, Kake, Kasaan, Ketchikan, Klawock, Petersburg, Sitka, Skagway, Wrangell, Yakutat, Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) Alaska Michelle Davis (davis.michellev@epa.gov) 907-271-3434
Aniak, Chefornak, Chuathbaluk, Crooked Creek, Georgetown, Kalskag, Kipnuk, Lower Kalskag, McGrath, Mekoryuk, Napaimute, Newtok, Nightmute, Nunakauyak, Sleetmute, Stony River, Telida, Tuluksak, Tununak, Kuskokwim River Watershed Council, Nelson Island Consortia Alaska Mahri Lowinger (lowinger.mahri@epa.gov) 907-271-6334
Akiak, Aleknagik, Egegik, Ekuk, Gakona, Gulkana, Igiugig, Kluti Kaah, Levelock, Manokotak, Marshall, Ohogamiut, Orutsaramiut, Pilot Point, Pilot Station, Port Heiden, Tazlina, Togiak, Twin Hills, Ugashik, Copper River Native Association Alaska Michael Ortiz (ortiz.michael@epa.gov) 206-553-6234
Alatna, Allakaket, Cheesh-Na, Chitina, Evansville, Galena, Hughes, Huslia, Kaltag, Koyukuk, Mentasta Lake, Nulato, Ruby, Mt. Sanford Tribal Consortium, Yukon-Koyukuk Tribal Consortium Alaska Susan Conbere (conbere.susan@epa.gov) 206-553-6243
Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians, Burns-Paiute, Coeur d'Alene, Colville, Kalispel, Kootenai, Nez Perce, Shoshone-Bannock, Spokane, Umatilla, Upper Snake River Tribes Foundation, Yakima Idaho, Oregon, Washington Jim Zokan (zokan.jim@epa.gov) 208-378-5691
Curyung, Ekwok, Koliganek, Lummi, New Stuyahok, Nooksack, Portage Creek, Puyallup, Samish, Sauk-Suiattle, Snoqualmie, Stillaguamish, Swinomish, Tulalip, Upper Skagit Alaska, Washington Westley Foster (foster.westley@epa.gov) 206-553-1604
Hoh, Jamestown S'Klallam, Lower Elwha Klallam, Makah, Muckleshoot, Nisqually, Port Gamble, Quileute, Quinault, Skokomish, Squaxin Island, Suquamish Washington Alan Moomaw (moomaw.alan@epa.gov) 360-753-8071

Chehalis, Coos, Lower Umpqua & Siuslaw, Cowlitz, Coquille, Cow Creek, Grand Ronde, Klamath, Lower Umpqua & Siuslaw, Shoalwater Bay, Siletz, Warm Springs

Oregon, Washington Kris Carre (carre.kristine@epa.gov) 503-326-7024

Top of Page

Tribal Specialists

EPA tribal specialists serve as general points of contact for tribal work within each of our program offices.

EPA Region 10 Tribal Specialists
Name/Email Phone Number Program Office
Katherine Brown (brown.katherine@epa.gov)
Tribal Specialists Team Lead
206-553-7263 About the Regional Administrator's Division
J.R. Herbst (herbst.john@epa.gov) 206-553-2106 Regional Administrator's Division
Mehrdad Khatibi (khatibi.mehrdad@epa.gov) 206-553-1603 About the Office of Air and Waste
Gabriela Carvalho (carvalho.gabriela@epa.gov) 206-553-6698 Office of Air and Waste
Charissa Bujak (bujak.charissa@epa.gov)  208-378-5754 About the Office of Compliance and Enforcement
Bruce Duncan (duncan.bruce@epa.gov) 206-553-0218 About the Office of Environmental Review and Assessment
Joanne Moore (moore.joanne@epa.gov) 206-553-0310 About the Office of Environmental Cleanup
Michel Rodriguez (rodriguez.michel@epa.gov) 206-553-1901 About the Office of Management Programs
Ted Yackulic (yackulic.ted@epa.gov) 206-553-1218 About the Office of Regional Counsel
Lisa Castañon (castañon.lisa@epa.gov) 206-553-0464 Office of Regional Counsel
Jayshika Ramrakha (ramrakha.jayshika@epa.gov) 206-553-1788 About the Office of Water and Watersheds
Catherine Gockel (gockel.catherine@epa.gov)  206-553-0325 Office of Water and Watersheds

Top of Page

Tribal Air Team

EPA Region 10 staff with expertise on various air-related issues on tribal lands.

EPA Region 10 Tribal Air Team
Name/Email Phone Number Focus Area/Expertise Air Grants (CAA 105/103)
Andra Bosneag (bosneag.andra@epa.gov) 206-553-1226 Burn bans, FARR Yakama, Colville, Chehalis, Quinault, Shoshone Bannock, Spokane, Makah
Chris Hall (hall.chris@epa.gov) 206-553-0521 Air monitoring and quality assurance  
Doug Hardesty (hardesty.doug@epa.gov) 208-378-5759 Air permits lead  
Doug Jager (jager.doug@epa.gov) 206-553-2961 Air monitoring, network design  
Mehrdad Khatibi (khatibi.mehrdad@epa.gov) 206-553-1603 Tribal air team lead, FARR  
Debbie Kline (kline.debbie@epa.gov) 206-553-1236 Grants Tulalip
Kayla Krauss (krauss.kayla@epa.gov) 206-553-2728 Alaska tribal air ANTHC, Umatilla, Warm Springs, Kootenai, Coeur d’Alene, Lower Umpqua Coos Suislaw, Swinomish
Jay McAlpine (mcalpine.jay@epa.gov) 206-553-0094 Atmospheric scientist, regional air modeling contact  
Jim McAuley (mcauley.jim@epa.gov) 206-553-1987 Radiation Safety Officer State Indoor Radon Grants (SIRG)
Mike McGown (mcgown.mike@epa.gov) 208-378-5764  Smoke management Nez Perce
Erin McTigue (mctigue.erin@epa.gov) 206-553-1254 Alaska tribal air, tribal indoor air  
Aaron Lambert (lambert.aaron@epa.gov) 206-553-5122 FARR enforcement lead  
Gretchen Stewart (stewart.gretchen@epa.gov) 206-553-0527 Children's health, schools, indoor air  
Bill Todd (todd.bill@epa.gov) 206-553-6914 FARR registration, emission inventories  
Lucita Valiere (valiere.lucita@epa.gov) 206-553-8087 Tribal DERA (Clean Diesel)  
Claudia Vaupel (vaupel.claudia@epa.gov) 206-553-6121 Air Planning Team Lead, State Implementation Plans (SIPs)  

Top of Page