An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Particulate Matter (PM) Pollution

National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for PM

On this page:

Rule Summary

On April 14, 2020, after carefully reviewing the most recent available scientific evidence and technical information, and consulting with the Agency’s independent scientific advisors, the EPA is proposing to retain, without revision, the existing primary (health-based) and secondary (welfare-based) National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for particulate matter.

Currently, the EPA has primary and secondary standards for PM2.5 (annual average standards with levels of 12.0 µg/m3 and 15.0 µg/m3, respectively; 24-hour standards with 98th percentile forms and levels of 35 µg/m3) and PM10 (24-hour standards with one-expected exceedance forms and levels of 150 µg/m3). 

Rule History

04/29/2020 - Public Hearing Notice

04/14/2020 – Proposed Action

01/15/2013 – Final Decision in the 2012 PM NAAQS Review

Additional Resources

Fact Sheet Regarding Proposed Action

Scientific and Technical Documents Supporting the 2020 Review of the PM NAAQS

Information on the Review of Secondary Standards for Ecological Effects of Oxides of Nitrogen, Oxides of Sulfur and Particulate Matter