An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Major Recordkeeping Requirements for Stationary Refrigeration

Primary tasks

EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act include recordkeeping requirements that are specific to different persons or companies involved with stationary refrigeration and air-conditioning equipment. This page provides a brief overview of these requirements.

Technicians

Technicians must keep a copy of their proof of certification at their place of business.

Technicians servicing appliances that contain 50 or more pounds of ozone-depleting refrigerant must provide the owner with an invoice that indicates the amount of refrigerant added to the appliance. Technicians must also provide records of leak inspections and tests performed to verify repairs of leaking appliances that contain 50 or more pounds of ozone-depleting refrigerant.

Technicians disposing of appliances containing between 5 and 50 pounds of refrigerant must keep records of the disposal. These are typically field-installed appliances such as residential AC split systems. This requirement applies to appliances containing ozone-depleting and substitute refrigerant, such as HFCs. The records primarily include: location and date of recovery, type of refrigerant recovered, monthly totals of the amounts recovered, and amounts sent for reclamation.

Additional information about servicing stationary refrigeration and air-conditioning equipment.

Owners or Operators

Owners or operators of appliances that contain 50 or more pounds of ozone-depleting refrigerant must keep servicing records documenting the date and type of service, as well as the quantity of refrigerant added. Owners or operators must also  maintain records of leak inspections and tests performed to verify repairs of leaking appliances.

Owners or operators must submit a report to EPA for any appliance containing 50 or more pounds of ozone-depleting refrigerant that leaks 125 percent or more of the full charge in a calendar year. This report must describe efforts to identify leaks and repair the appliance. Reports are due on March 1 for an appliance that leaked more than 125 percent of its full charge in the prior year.

Additional information for owners or operators of:

Reclaimers

Reclaimers must maintain records of the names and addresses of persons sending them material for reclamation and the quantity of material sent to them for reclamation. This information must be maintained on a transactional basis.

Reclaimers must report to EPA by February 1 the total quantity of refrigerant sent to them the previous year for reclamation, the mass of refrigerant reclaimed that year, and the mass of waste products generated that year. 

Additional information about refrigerant reclamation.

Retailers and Wholesalers

EPA has developed a brief fact sheet that explains the recordkeeping requirements for refrigerant retailers and wholesalers.

Where to Submit Reports

EPA prefers that the information be submitted electronically to 608reports@epa.gov.

You may also send reports by U.S. mail to:

Section 608 Recycling Program Manager (Reclaimer Certification)
Mail Code 6205T
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20460

Please contact EPA at 608reports@epa.gov to arrange for receipt if sending via courier.