We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

NPDES Stormwater Permit Program in New England

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA’s About PDF page to learn more.

Some following links exit the site. Exit

The Clean Water Act authorizes EPA and states, which are delegated the authority by EPA, to regulate point sources that discharge pollutants into waters of the United States through the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program. So-called "point sources" are generated from a variety of municipal and industrial operations, including treated wastewater, process water, cooling water, and stormwater runoff from drainage systems. The NPDES Stormwater Program (national EPA NPDES site), in place since 1990, regulates discharges from municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s), construction activities, industrial activities, and those designated by EPA due to water quality impacts.

On this page:


EPA Contacts

Regional Stormwater Coordinator
Thelma Murphy (murphy.thelma@epa.gov), 617-918-1615

MS4 Program
Newton Tedder (tedder.newton@epa.gov), 617-918-1038

Construction General Permit (CGP) Program
Suzanne Warner (warner.suzanne@epa.gov), 617-918-1383

Industrial/Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP) Program
Dave Gray (gray.davidj@epa.gov), 617-918-1577

Residual Designation Authority (RDA) Permitting
Mark Voorhees (voorhees.mark@epa.gov), 617-918-1537

State Contacts

CTDEEP Water Regulating and Discharges
Chris Stone (chris.stone@ct.gov), 860-424-3850

Maine DEP Stormwater Program
Brian Kavanah (brian.w.kavanah@maine.gov), 207-287-7700

MassDEP Stormwater Program
Frederick Civian (Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us), 617-292-5821

New Hampshire
NHDES Stormwater Program
Jeff Andrews (Jeff.Andrews@des.nh.gov), (603) 271-2984

Rhode Island
RIDEM Stormwater Program
Margarita Chatterton (margarita.chatterton@dem.ri.gov), 401-222-4700 x 7605

Vermont DEC Stormwater Program
Padraic Monks (padraic.monks@state.us.vt), 802-490-6169

Top of Page

EPA Region 1 Issued Large & Medium MS4 Permits

Top of Page

EPA Region 1 Small MS4 Program for Massachusetts and New Hampshire

Top of Page

Construction Activities

Top of Page

Industrial Activities

Top of Page

Residual Designations

The Clean Water Act (CWA) and related regulations define the specific industrial and municipal stormwater sources that must be authorized by an NPDES permit. The CWA recognizes that other sources, such as commercial properties, may need to be regulated on a case-by-case or category-by-category basis based on additional information or localized conditions. The authority to regulate other sources based on the localized adverse impact of stormwater on water quality through NPDES permits is commonly referred to as the "Residual Designation" authority.

Top of Page

Tools and Resources

Top of Page