An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Ecoregional Criteria

Download GIS Data for Level III Ecoregions

Photo of Ecoregions map

The U.S. is divided into 14 distinct eco-regions.

We publish recommended water quality criteria to reduce problems associated with excess nutrients in waterbodies in specific areas of the country. We work with states and tribes to adopt regional-specific and locally appropriate water quality criteria for nutrients in lakes, reservoirs, rivers, streams, and wetlands in fourteen ecoregions.

Criteria Documents