An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

Contact Us: Animal Feeding Operations (AFOs)

Headquarters Contact

George Utting (utting.george@epa.gov) (202) 564-0744

Regional Contacts

Region 1: Boston (serving CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)
Damien Houlihan (houlihan.damien@epa.gov)
Phone: (617) 918-1586 

Region 2: New York City (serving NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Andrea Coats (coats.andrea@epa.gov)
Phone: (212) 637-3850  

Region 3: Philadelphia (serving DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)
Mark Zolandz (zolandz.mark@epa.gov)
Phone: (215) 814-2319

Region 4: Atlanta (serving AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)
Erica Jones (jones.erica@epa.gov)
Phone: (404) 562-9264

Region 5: Chicago (serving IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
Cheryl Burdett (burdett.cheryl@epa.gov)
Phone: (312) 886-1463

John Colletti (colletti.john@epa.gov)
Phone: (312) 886-6106
CAFO Tribal Contact

Julianne Socha (socha.julianne@epa.gov)
Phone: (312) 886-4436

Region 6: Dallas (serving AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
William Cooper (cooper.williamf@epa.gov)
Phone: (214) 665-6443

Denise Hamilton (hamilton.denise@epa.gov)
Phone: (214) 665-2775

Region 7: Kansas City (serving IA, KS, MO, and NE)
Mark Matthews (matthews.mark@epa.gov)
Phone: (913) 551-7635

Region 8: Denver (serving CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)
Qian Zhang (zhang.qian@epa.gov)
Phone: (303) 312-6267

Region 9: San Francisco (serving AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)
Becky Mitschele (mitschele.becky@epa.gov)
Phone: (415) 972-3492

Region 10: Seattle (serving AK, ID, OR, and WA)
Nicholas Peak (peak.nicholas@epa.gov)
Phone: (208) 378-5765

Top of Page

Steven Potokar (potokar.steven@epa.gov)
Phone: (206-553-6354)
CAFO Enforcement Coordinator

Top of Page

State and Territory Agency Contacts

A    C    D    F    G    H    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W

Alabama

Alabama Department of Environmental Management
Office of Field Services, Field Operations Division
Richard Hulcher (rfh@adem.state.al.us)
Phone: (334) 394-4311

Alaska

US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Alaska)
David Domingo (domingo.david@epa.gov)
Phone: (206) 553-0531

Arizona

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Jennifer Coffey (coffey.jennifer@azdeq.gov)
Phone: (602) 771-4253

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Mo Shafii (shafii@adeq.state.ar.us)
Phone: (501) 682-0616

Top of Page

California

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 1 – North Coast Region
Cherie Blatt (cherie.blatt@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (707) 576-2755
CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 2 – San Francisco Bay Region
Laurie Taul (laurie.taul@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (510) 622-2508

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 3 – Central Coast Region
Sheila Soderberg (ssoderberg@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (805) 549-3592

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 4 – Los Angeles Region
Mazhar Ali (mazhar.ali@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (213) 576-6652

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 5 – Central Valley Region
Charlene Herbst (charlene.herbst@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (916) 464-4724

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 6 – Lahontan Region
Ghasem Pour-ghasemi (ghasem.pourghasemi@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (760) 241-7309

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 7 – Colorado River Basin Region
Kai Dunn (kai.dunn@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (760) 776-8986

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 8 – Santa Ana Region
Ed Kashak (ed.kashak@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (951) 782-3292

CA Regional Water Quality Control Board, Region 9 – San Diego Region
John Odermatt (john.odermatt@waterboards.ca.gov)
Phone: (619) 521-5906

Colorado

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment / Division of Environmental Health and Sustainability / Environmental Agriculture Program
Chad DeVolin (chad.devolin@state.co.us)
Phone: (303) 692-3520

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Water Management / Permitting and Enforcement Division
Michael Harder (harder.michael@po.state.ct.us)
Phone: (806) 424-3701

Top of Page

Delaware

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control / Division of Water / Surface Water Discharge Section
Bryan A. Ashby (bryan.ashby@state.de.us)
Phone: (302) 739-9946

District of Columbia

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for DC)
Kelly Shenk (shenk.kelly@epa.gov)
Phone: (410) 267-5728

Top of Page

Florida

Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Mary K. Smith (mary.k.smith@dep.state.fl.us)
Phone: (850) 245-8591

Top of Page

Georgia

Georgia Environmental Protection Division / Water Protection Branch
Jill Causse (jill.causse@dnr.state.ga.us)
Phone: (404) 675-1616
Jamila Norman (jamila.norman@dnr.state.ga.us)
Phone: (404) 675-1687

Guam

US EPA, Region 09 (Permitting Authority for Guam)
Becky Mitschele (mitschele.becky@epa.gov)
Phone: (415) 972-3963 

Top of Page

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Health / Environmental Management Division / Clean Water Branch
Denis Lau (dlau@eha.health.state.hi.us)
Phone: (808) 586-4352 

Top of Page

Idaho

US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Idaho)
Nicholas Peak (peak.nicholas@epa.gov)
Phone: (208) 378-5765 

Illinois

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency / Division of Water Pollution Control / Permit Section, Facility Evaluation Unit
Daniel L. Heacock (dan.heacock@illinois.gov)
Phone: (217) 782-3362

Indiana

Indiana Department of Environmental Management / Office of Land Quality
Charles Grady (cgrady@idem.in.gov)
Phone: (317) 234-6965
Dennis Lasiter (dlasiter@idem.in.gov)
Phone: (317) 232-8732

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Reza Khosravi (reza.khosravi@dnr.iowa.gov)
Phone: (515) 725-8408

Top of Page

Kansas

Kansas Department of Health & Environment / Bureau of Water / Livestock Waste Management
Tara Mahin (tmahin@kdheks.gov)
Phone: (785) 296-5550

Kentucky

Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection / Division of Water
Sara Beard (sara.beard@ky.gov)
Phone: (502) 564-3410

Top of Page

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Tom Killeen (tom_k@deq.state.la.us)
Phone: (225) 765-0100

Top of Page

Maine

Maine Department of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Land and Water Quality / Division of Water Resource Regulations
Gregg Wood (gregg.wood@maine.gov)
Phone: (207) 287-7693

Maryland

Maryland Department of the Environment / Animal Feeding Operations Division
Gary F. Kelman (gary.kelman@maryland.gov)
Phone: (410) 537-4423

Massachusetts

US EPA, Region 01 (Permitting Authority for Massachusetts)
Damien Houlihan (houlihan.damien@epa.gov)
Phone: (617) 918-1586

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Management
David Ferris (ferris.david@state.ma.us)
Phone: (617) 654-6514

Michigan

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality / Water Resources Division / Lakes Michigan and Superior Permits Unit
Mike Bitondo (bitondom@michigan.gov)
Phone: (517) 284-5594

Bruce Washburn (washburnb2@michigan.gov)
Phone: (269) 330-6079

Minnesota

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Lisa M. Scheirer (lisa.scheirer@state.mn.us)
Phone: (218) 846-8122

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
Bryan Collins (bryan_collins@deq.state.ms.us)
Phone: (601) 961-5239 

Missouri

Missouri Department of Natural Resources / Water Protection Program
Greg Caldwell (greg.caldwell@dnr.mo.gov)
Phone: (573) 526-1426

Montana

Montana Department of Environmental Quality / Water Protection Bureau
Kari Smith (karsmith@mt.gov)
Phone: (406) 444-1454

Top of Page

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division / Agriculture Section
Benjamin Miller (ben.miller@nebraska.gov)
Phone: (402) 471-0282 

Nevada

Nevada Division of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Water Pollution Control
Michele “Mickie” Reid (mreid@ndep.nv.gov)
Phone: (775) 687- 9434 

New Hampshire

US EPA, Region 01 in New England (Permitting Authority in New Hampshire)
Damien Houlihan (houlihan.damien@epa.gov)
Phone: (617) 918-1586

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services / Wastewater Engineering Bureau
Stergios Spanos (stergios.spanos@des.state.nh.us)
Phone: (603) 271-6637

New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection / Bureau of Nonpoint Pollution Control
Bruce Friedman (bfriedman@dep.state.nj.us)
Phone: (609) 633-7021

New Mexico

EPA Region 6 / Water Quality Division / NPDES Permit Oversight Section 6WQ-PO
Michael Carrillo (carrillo.michael@epa.gov)
Phone: (214) 665-7381 

New York

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation / Bureau of Water Resource Management

Jacqueline Lendrum (jacqueline.lendrum@dec.ny.gov)
Phone: (518) 402-8086

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality / Division of Water Resources

Christine Lawson (christine.lawson@ncdenr.gov)
Phone: (919) 807-6354

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Health / Division of Water Quality
Marty Haroldson (mharolds@nd.gov)
Phone: (701) 328-5234

Top of Page

Ohio

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Mark Stump (mark.stump@epa.ohio.gov)
Phone: (614) 644-2028

Ohio Department of Agriculture
Kevin Elder (elder@agric.ohio.gov)
Phone: (614) 387-0469

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Agriculture Food and Forestry
Quang Pham (quang-pham@ag.ok.gov)
Phone: (405) 522-3553

Oregon

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Beth Moore (beth.moore@state.or.us)
Phone: (503) 229-6402

Oregon Department of Agriculture / Natural Resources Division
Wym Matthews (wmatthew@oda.state.or.us)
Phone: (503) 986-4792

Top of Page

Pennsylvania

Department of Environmental Protection
Ryan C. Kostival (rkostival@pa.gov)
Phone: (717) 772-5658

Puerto Rico

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Puerto Rico)
Andrea Coats (coats.andrea@epa.gov)
Phone: (212) 637-3850

Top of Page

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management / Office of Water Resources
Eric Beck (ebeck@dem.state.ri.us)
Phone: (401) 222-4700

Top of Page

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control / Bureau of Water
Rob Devlin (devlinrj@dhec.sc.gov)
Phone: (803) 898-3798

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources / Feedlot Permit Program
Kent Woodmansey (kent.woodmansey@state.sd.us)
Phone: (605) 773-3351

Top of Page

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation / Division of Water Resources
John Newberry (john.newberry@tn.gov)
Phone: (615) 532-7743

Texas

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality / CAFO Permitting
Charles Schneider (charles.schneider@tceq.texas.gov)
Phone: (512) 239-1379

Top of Page

Utah

Utah Department of Environmental Quality / Division of Water Quality
Don Hall (dghall@utah.gov)
Phone: (801) 536-4492

Top of Page

Vermont

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Pete LaFlamme (pete.laflamme@state.vt.us)
Phone: (802) 338-4887
Padraic Monks (padraic.monks@state.vt.us )
Phone: (802) 338-4834

Virgin Islands

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Andrea Coats (coats.andrea@epa.gov)
Phone: (212) 637-3850

Virginia

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality / Animal Feeding Operations Program
Betsy K. Bowles (betsy.bowles@deq.virginia.gov)
Phone: (804) 698-4059

Top of Page

Washington

Washington State Department of Ecology
Jon Jennings (jonathan.jennings@ecy.wa.gov)
Phone: (360) 407-6283

Washington State Department of Agriculture / Dairy Nutrient Management Program
Ginny Prest (vprest@agr.wa.gov)
Phone: (360) 902-2894

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water and Waste Management
Megan E. Grose (megan.e.grose@wv.gov)
Phone: (304) 926-0495

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Tom Bauman (thomas.bauman@wisconsin.gov)
Phone: (608) 266-9993

Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Kevin Wells (kevin.wells@wyo.gov)
Phone: (307) 777-8669
Compliance Supervisor

Jon Deutscher (jon.deutscher@wyo.gov)
Phone: (307) 675-5635
Nutrient Management

Marcia Porter (marcia.porter@wyo.gov)
Phone: (307) 777-6081
Permits

Top of Page