An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

Contact Us: Combined Sewer Overflows (CSOs)

Headquarters Contacts

Mohammed Billah (billah.mohammed@epa.gov) (202) 564-2228
Lisa Biddle (biddle.lisa@epa.gov) (202) 566-0350
Jenelle Hill (hill.jenelle@epa.gov) (202) 566-1893

Top of Page

Regional Contacts

Region 1: Boston (serving CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)
George Harding (harding.george@epa.gov) 617-918-1870

Region 2: New York City (serving NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Stan Stephansen (stephansen.stanley@epa.gov) 212-637-3776
Alyssa Arcaya (arcaya.alyssa@epa.gov) 212-637-3730

Region 3: Philadelphia (serving DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)
Dana Walker (walker.dana@epa.gov) 215-814-2928
Steven Maslowski (maslowski.steven@epa.gov) 215-814-2371  

Region 4: Atlanta (serving AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)
Mike Mitchell (mitchell.michael@epa.gov) 404-562-9303  

Region 5: Chicago (serving IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
John Wiemhoff (weimhoff.john@epa.gov) 312-353-8546  

Region 6: Dallas (serving AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
No CSOs in Region

Region 7: Kansas City (serving IA, KS, MO, and NE)
Jodi Bruno (bruno.jodi@epa.gov) 913-551-7810  

Region 8: Denver (serving CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)
Amy Clark (clark.amy@epa.gov) 303-312-7014
David A. Gwisdalla, P.E. (gwisdalla.david@epa.gov) 303-312-6193  

Region 9: San Francisco (serving AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)
Michelle Moustakas (moustakas.michelle@epa.gov) 415-972-3584  

Region 10: Seattle (serving AK, ID, OR, and WA)
Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov) 206-553-6258  

Top of Page

State Agency Contacts

A    C    D    F    G    H    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W

Alaska

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation/Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program
Sally Wanstall (sally.wanstall@alaska.gov) 907-465-5216

Top of Page

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection
Ivonne Hall (ivonne.hall@ct.gov) 860-424-3754

Top of Page

Delaware

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control / Division of Water Resources / Pollution Control Branch
Robert Underwood (robert.underwood@state.de.us) 302-739-9946 

District of Columbia

US EPA, Region 3 (Permitting Authority for DC)
Mary Letzkus (letzkus.mary@epa.gov) 215-814-2087

Top of Page

Georgia

Georgia Environmental Protection Division / Water Protection Branch
Jamila Norman (jamila.norman@dnr.state.ga.us) 404-675-1687
Marzieh Shahbazaz (marzieh.shahbazaz@dnr.state.ga.us) 404-362-2680

Top of Page

Illinois

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency / Bureau of Water / Division of Water Pollution Control / Permits Section
Amy Dragovich (amy.dragovich@illinois.gov) 217-782-0610
Rick Pinneo (rick.pinneo@illinois.gov) 217-782-0610  

Indiana

Indiana Department of Environmental Management / Office of Water Quality / Municipal NPDES Permits Section
Jerry Dittmer (jdittmer@idem.in.gov) 317-233-0469  

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Tom Atkinson (tom.atkinson@dnr.iowa.gov) 515-281-5054  

Top of Page

Kansas

Kansas Department of Health & Environment / Bureau of Water
Rance Walker (rcwalker@kdheks.gov) 785-296-5537  

Kentucky

Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection / Division of Water
Gary Levy (gary.levy@ky.gov) 502-564-3410  

Top of Page

Maine

Maine Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water Quality Management
David P. Breau (david.p.breau@maine.gov) 207-287-7766  

Maryland

Maryland Department of the Environment / Water Management Administration / Compliance Program / Enforcement Division
Dave Lyons (dlyons@mde.state.md.us) 410-537-3626

Massachusetts

US EPA Region 1 in New England (Permitting Authority for Massachusetts)
George Harding (harding.george@epa.gov) 617-918-1870

Michigan

Michigan Department of Natural Resources and the Environment
Thomas Knueve (knuevet@michigan.gov) 517-241-9535  

Minnesota

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency / Municipal Division
David Sahli (david.sahli@pcs.state.mn.us) 651-757-2687

Missouri

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Kevin Mohammadi (kevin.mohammadi@dnr.mo.gov) 573-751-1740

Top of Page

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality
Craig Horn (craig.horn@nebraska.gov) 402-471-8832  

New Hampshire

US EPA Region 1 in New England (Permitting Authority in New Hampshire)
George Harding (harding.george@epa.gov) 617-918-1870 

New Jersey 

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection / Municipal Finance and Construction Element
Joe Mannick (joe.mannick@dep.nj.gov) 609-292-4860  

New York 

New York Department of Environmental Conservation / Bureau of Water Compliance Programs
Koon Tang (ktang@gw.dec.state.ny.us) 518-402-8238

Top of Page

Ohio

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission (ORSANCO)
Stacey Cochran (stacey@orsanco.org) 513-231-7719
Ohio Environmental Protection Agency / Division of Surface Water / Permit and Compliance Section
Dan Gill (dan.gill@epa.state.oh.us) 614-644-2118

Oregon

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality / Water Quality Division
Jim Billings (billings.jim@deq.state.or.us) 503-229-5073
Michael Pinney (michael.pinney@deq.state.or.us) 503-229-5310  

Top of Page

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Dharmendra Kumar (dkumar@pa.gov) 717-783-2288  

Puerto Rico 

US EPA Region 2 / Division of Environmental Planning and Protection / Clean Water Regulatory Branch / NPDES Section (Permitting Authority for Puerto Rico)
Stan Stephansen (stephansen.stanley@epa.gov) 212-637-3776

Top of Page

Rhode Island 

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management / Office of Water Resources
Angelo Liberti (angelo.liberti@dem.ri.gov) 401-222-4700 x7225  

Top of Page

South Dakota 

South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources / Surface Water Quality Program
Doug Baldwin (douglas.baldwin@state.sd.us) 605-394-2229

Top of Page

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation / Division of Water Pollution Control
Saya Ann Qualls (saya.qualls@tn.gov) 615-532-0652  

Top of Page

Vermont

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation / Watershed Management Division / Wastewater Management Program
Ernie Kelley (ernie.kelley@state.vt.us) 802-338-4833  

Virginia

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality / Office of Water Permits & Compliance Assistance
Burton R. Tuxford (burton.tuxford@deq.virginia.gov) 804-698-4086

Top of Page 

Washington

Washington Department of Ecology / Water Quality Program
Mark Henley (mark.henley@ecy.wa.gov) (425) 649-7103
Shawn McKone (shawn.mckone@ecy.wa.gov) (425) 649-7037

West Virginia 

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection / Division of Water and Wastewater Management / Permitting Section
Don Lewis (donald.w.lewis@wv.gov) 304-926-0499 x1595  

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources / Bureau of Watershed Management - WT/3
Thomas J. Mugan (tom.mugan@wisconsin.gov) 608-266-7420
Gerald Novotny (gerry.novotny@wisconsin.gov) 608-267-7625  
 

Top of Page