An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

Contact Us: General Information About NPDES

Headquarters Contacts

Bryan Rittenhouse (rittenhouse.bryan@epa.gov) (202) 564-0577

Frank Sylvester (sylvester.francis@epa.gov) (202) 564-1279

Top of Page

Regional Contacts

Region 1: Boston (serving CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)
Doug Corb (corb.doug@epa.gov) (617) 918-1565
George Papadopoulos (papadopoulos.george@epa.gov) (617) 918-1579
Karen Mateleska (mateleska.karen@epa.gov) (617) 918-1651

Region 2: New York City (serving NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Kate Anderson (anderson.kate@epa.gov) (212) 637-3873 
Alyssa Arcaya (arcaya.alyssa@epa.gov) (212) 637-3730  

Region 3: Philadelphia (serving DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)
Francisco Cruz (cruz.francisco@epa.gov) (215) 814-5734 
Brian Trulear (trulear.brian@epa.gov) (215) 814-5723 

Region 4: Atlanta (serving AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)
Molly Davis (davis.molly@epa.gov) (404) 562-9236

Region 5: Chicago (serving IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
Kevin Pierard (pierard.kevin@epa.gov) (312) 866-4448
Sreedevi Yedavalli (yedavalli.sreedevi@epa.gov) (312) 353-7314

Region 6: Dallas (serving AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
Brent Larsen (larsen.brent@epa.gov) (214) 665-7523
Phillip Jennings (jennings.phillip@epa.gov) (214) 665-7538

Region 7: Kansas City (serving IA, KS, MO, and NE)
Jodi Bruno (bruno.jodi@epa.gov) (913) 551-7810  
Pradip L. Dalal, P.E. (dalal.pradip@epa.gov) (913) 551-7454 
Kimberly Hill (hill.kimberly@epa.gov) (913) 551-7841 
Mark Matthews (matthews.mark@epa.gov) (913) 551-7635
Sunny Wellesley (Wellesley.sunny@epa.gov) (913) 551-7136  

Region 8: Denver (serving CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)
Greg Davis (davis.gregory@epa.gov) (303) 312-6314  
Kacy Sable (sable.kacy@epa.gov) (303) 312-6193  
David Rise (rise.david@epa.gov) (406) 457-5012 
Colleen Rathbone (rathbone.colleen@epa.gov) (303) 312-6133
Qian Zhang (zhang.qian@epa.gov) (303) 312-6267 

Region 9: San Francisco (serving AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)
David Smith (smith.davidw@epa.gov) (415) 972-3464
Eugene Bromley (bromley.eugene@epa.gov) (415) 972-3510

Region 10: Seattle (serving AK, ID, OR, and WA)
Mike Lidgard (lidgard.michael@epa.gov) (206) 553-1755  
Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov) (206) 553-6258  
Karen Burgess (burgess.karen@epa.gov) (206) 553-1644  

Top of Page

State Agency Contacts

A    C    D    F    G    H    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W

Alabama

Alabama Department of Environmental Management 
Daphne Lutz (dlutz@adem.state.al.us) (334) 270-5602
Emily Anderson (edanderson@adem.state.al.us) (334) 271-7801 
Scott Ramsey (sramsey@adem.state.al.us) (334) 271-7838   

Alaska

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation 
Wade Strickland (wade.strickland@alaska.gov) (907) 269-7580  
Brian Doyle (brian.doyle@alaska.gov) (907) 465-5366  
Jim Rypkema (jim.rypkema@alaska.gov) (907) 334-2288
Renee Evans (renee.evans@alaska.gov) (907) 269-7568 

Arizona

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Robert Phalen (phalen.robert@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-7674
Jennifer Peterson (peterson.jennifer@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-4253
Lavinia Wright (wright.lavinia@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-4585
Galileo Gutierrez (gutierrez.galileo@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-3958
Christopher Henninger (henninger.christopher@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-4508
Joanie Rhyner (rhyner.joanie@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-7614
Andy Koester (koester.andy@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-4689

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
John Bailey (bailey@adeq.state.ar.us) (501) 682-0629
Mo Shafii (shafii@adeq.state.ar.us) (501) 682-0616

Top of Page

California

North Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board 
Mona Dougherty (mona.dougherty@waterboards.ca.gov) (707) 570-3761
San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board 
Lila Tang (lila.tang@waterboards.ca.gov) (510) 622-2425 
Central Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board 
Sheila Soderberg (sheila.soderberg@waterboards.ca.gov) (805) 549-3592 
Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board 
David Hung (david.hung@waterboards.ca.gov) (213) 576-6616 
Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board
Nichole Morgan (nichole.morgan@waterboards.ca.gov) (916) 464-4848
Lahontan RWQCB Regional Water Quality Control Board 
Jehiel Cass (jehiel.cass@waterboards.ca.gov) (530) 542-5467
Colorado River Regional Water Quality Control Board
Kai Dunn (kai.dunn@waterboards.ca.gov) (760) 776-8986
Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board
Milasol Gaslan (milasol.gaslan@waterboards.ca.gov) (951) 782-4419
San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board 
David Baker (david.baker@waterboards.ca.gov) (619) 521-3007 

Colorado

Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
Janet Kieler (janet.kieler@state.co.us) (303) 692-3599 
Kenan Diker (kenan.diker@state.co.us) (303) 692-3597 
Erin Scott (erin.scott@state.co.us) (303) 692-3506 
Lillian Gonzalez  (lillian.gonzalez@state.co.us) (303) 692-3655 

Connecticut

Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Kevin Barrett (kevin.barrett@ct.gov) (860) 424-3697 
Dennis J. Greci (dennis.greci@ct.gov) (860) 424-3751  
George V. Hicks, P.E. (george.hicks@ct.gov)  (860) 424-3752  
Arthur Mauger (art.mauger@po.state.ct.us) (860) 424-3829 
Chris Stone (chris.stone@po.state.ct.us) (860) 424-3850 

Top of Page

Delaware

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Bryan Ashby (Bryan.Ashby@state.de.us) (302) 739-9946   

Top of Page

Florida

Florida Department of Environmental Protection 
Catherine Murray (catherine.m.murray@dep.state.fl.us) (850) 245-8613  
Marc Harris (marc.harris@dep.state.fl.us) (850) 245-8590  

Top of Page

Georgia

Georgia Environmental Protection Division 
Audra Dickson (audra.dickson@dnr.state.ga.us) (404) 463-1511   
Benoit Causse (benoit.causse@dnr.state.ga.us) (404) 463-1511  

Top of Page

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Health
Denis Lau, P.E. (dlau@eha.health.state.hi.us) (808) 586-4352  
Gayle Takasaki (gtakasaki@eha.health.state.hi.us) (808) 586-4294  
Alec Wong (alec.wong@doh.hawaii.gov) (808) 586-4309  

Top of Page

Idaho

US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Idaho)
Mike Lidgard (lidgard.michael@epa.gov) (206) 553-1755  
Susan Poulsom (poulsom.susan@epa.gov) (206) 553-6258  
Dirk Helder (helder.dirk@epa.gov) (208) 378-5749
Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
Mary Anne Nelson (mary.anne.nelson@deq.idaho.gov) (208) 373-0291
Troy Smith (troy.smith@deq.idaho.gov) (208) 373-0488
AJ Maupin (aj.maupin@deq.idaho.gov) (208) 373-0167

Illinois

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
Amy Dragovich (amy.dragovich@illinois.gov) (217) 782-0610
Darin Le Crone (darin.lecrone@illinois.gov) (217) 782-0610

Indiana

Indiana Department of Environmental Management
Paul Higginbotham (phigginb@idem.in.gov) (317) 232-8631
Catherine Hess (chess@idem.in.gov) (317) 232-8704
Stan Rigney (rigney@idem.in.gov)
Jerry Dittmer (jdittmer@idem.in.gov)

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources 
Tom Atkinson (tom.atkinson@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 281-5054
Angela Chen (angela.chen@dnr.state.ia.us) (515) 281-4736
Billy Chen (billy.chen@dnr.state.ia.us) (515) 281-4305
Joe Griffin (joe.griffin@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 281-7017
Adam Schnieders (adam.schnieders@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 281-7489
Eric Wiklund (eric.wiklund@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 725-0313

Top of Page

Kansas

Kansas Department of Health & Environment
Donald R. Carlson, P.E. (dcarlson@kdheks.gov) (785) 296-5547  
Steve Caspers (scaspers@kdheks.gov ) (785) 296-5551  
Mark Gerard (mgerard@kdhe.state.ks.us) (785) 296-5520  
Larry Hook (lhook@kdhe.state.ks.us) (785) 296-5549  
Paul Marshall, P.E. (marshall.paul@epa.gov) (913) 551-9419  
US EPA, Region 07 (Permitting Authority for Kansas) 
Joe Mester (jmester@kdhe.state.ks.us) (785) 296-6804
Eric Staab, P.E. (estaab@kdhe.state.ks.us) (785) 296-4347 
Mike Tate, P.E. (mtate@kdhe.state.ks.us) (785) 296-5504
Rance Walker, P.E. (rcwalker@kdheks.gov) (785) 296-5537  

Kentucky

Department for Environmental Protection
Sara Beard Anderson (sara.anderson@ky.gov) (502) 564-3410 
Todd Powers (todd.powers@ky.gov) (502) 564-3410 
Greg Goode (greg.goode@ky.gov) (502) 564-3410 

Top of Page

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 
Scott Guilliams (scott.guilliams@la.gov) (225)219-3309 
Lewis "Dutch" Donlon (dutch.donlon@la.gov) (225)219-3309 
Lourdes Iturralde (lourdes.iturralde@la.gov) (225)219-3309 

Top of Page

Maine

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
David P. Breau (david.p.breau@maine.gov) (207) 287-7766  
Jim Crowley (james.r.crowley@maine.gov) (207) 287-8898  
Brian Kavanah (brian.w.kavanah@maine.gov) (207) 287-7700 
Mark King (mark.a.king@state.me.us) (207) 287-2430
David Ladd (david.ladd@maine.gov) (207) 287-5404 
Jim Pollock (jim.c.pollock@maine.gov) (207) 287-7816  
John True (john.n.true@maine.gov) (207) 287-7808  
 

Maryland

Maryland Department of the Environment
Brian Clevenger (bclevenger@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3543
Nazeeh A. Freij (nfreij@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3375
Edward Gertler (egertler@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3651 
John Gesswein (jgesswein@mde.state.md.us) (410) 631-3760  
Dave Lyons (dlyons@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3626  
Michael Mayenschein (mmayenschein@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3629  
Edwal Stone (estone@mde.state.md.us) (410) 537-3661                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
Kevin Brander, P.E. (kevin.brander@state.ma.us) (617) 654-6519  
Mark A. Casella (mark.casella@state.ma.us) (617) 654-6517  
Frederick Civian (frederick.civian@state.ma.us) (617) 292-5821 
George Harding (harding.george@epa.gov) (617) 918-1870 
Thelma Murphy (murphy.thelma@epa.gov) (617) 918-1615 
John R. Reinhardt (john.reinhardt@state.ma.us) (617) 292-5667

Top of Page

Michigan

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Phil Argiroff (argiroffp@michigan.gov) (517) 290-3039
Christine Alexander (alexanderc2@michigan.gov) (517) 373-6794
Tiffany Myers (myerst1@michigan.gov) (517) 335-4201

Minnesota

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Aaron Luckstein (aaron.luckstein@state.mn.us) (507) 206-2606
Jeff Stollenwerk (jeff.stollenwerk@pca.state.mn.us) (218) 302-6612
Jeff Udd (jeff.udd@pca.state.mn.us) (218) 302-6637
Steven Weiss (steven.weiss@state.mn.us) (651) 757 2814

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
Krystal Rudolph (krudolph@mdeq.ms.gov) (601) 961-5096 
Chris Messemore (cmessemore@mdeq.ms.gov) (601) 961-5647 
Bradley Crain (bcrain@mdeq.ms.gov) (601) 961-5177 

Missouri

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Chris Wieberg (chris.wieberg@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 526-5781
Timothy W. Bull (tim.bull@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 526-1155
Angela Falls (angela.falls@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 751-1419
Cameron Eisterhold (cameron.eisterhold@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 751-7326
Emilie Twining-Gerdes (emilie.twining-gerdes@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 526-0827
Chuck Harwood (charles.hardwood@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 751-9155
Stacia Bax (stacia.bax@dnr.mo.gov) 573-526-4586
Mike Irwin (mike.irwin@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 522-1131
Joshua Ernst (Joshua.Ernst@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 751-1142
Mike Abbott (michael.abbott@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 526-1139
Christopher Miller (Christopher.Miller@dnr.mo.gov) (573) 526-3337

Montana

Montana Department of Environmental Quality
Paul Skubinna (PSkubinna@mt.gov) (406) 444-3639  
Tommy Griffeth (TGriffeth@mt.gov) 406) 444-1454 
Rainie DeVaney (RDevaney@mt.gov) (406) 444-6769 

Top of Page

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality
Reuel Anderson (reuel.anderson@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-1367  
Patrick Berge (patrick.berge@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-2188  
Steve Goans, P.E. (steve.goans@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-2580  
Dennis Heitmann (dennis.heitmann@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-4288  
Craig Horn (craig.horn@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-8832  
Mike Linder (mike.linder@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-0275  
Blayne Renner (blayne.renner@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-8330 
Bob Zimmerman (bob.zimmerman@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-4205  

Nevada

Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Cliff Lawson, P.E. (clawson@ndep.nv.gov) (702) 687-9414
Joe Maez (jmaez@ndep.nv.gov) (702) 687-9435

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Jeff Andrews (jandrews@des.state.nh.us) (603) 271-2984 
George Berlandi (gberlandi@des.state.nh.us) (603) 271-2458  
George Neil (gneil@des.state.nh.us) (603) 271-3325  

New Jersey

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection 
Michele M. Putnam (Michele.Putnam@dep.nj.gov) (609) 292-9977

Top of Page

New Mexico

New Mexico Environment Department 
Sarah Holcomb (sarah.holcomb@state.nm.us) (505) 222-9587 
Marcy Leavitt (marcy_leavitt@nmenv.state.nm.us) (505) 827-2795  
Richard Powell (richard.powell@state.nm.us ) (505) 827-2798 

New York

New York Department of Environmental Quality
Koon Tang (koon.tang@dec.ny.gov) (518) 402-8111
Brian Baker (baker.brian@dec.ny.gov) (518) 402-8124
Shayne Mitchell (mitchell.shayne@dec.ny.gov) (518) 402-8125
Carol Lamb-Lafay (lamb-lafay.carol@dec.ny.doc) (518) 402-8123

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Jeff Poupart (jeff.poupart@ncdenr.gov) (919) 707-3600  
Mike Templeton (mike.templeton@ncdenr.gov) (919) 807-6402   
Julie Grzyb (julie.grzyb@ncdenr.gov) (919) 707-3605

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Health
Dallas Grossman (dgrossma@nd.gov) (701) 328-5242    
Marty Haroldson (mharolds@nd.gov) (701) 328-5234 

Top of Page

Ohio

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Eric Nygaard (Eric.Nygaard@epa.ohio.gov) (614) 644-2024
Erin Sherer (Erin.Sherer@epa.ohio.gov) (614) 728-3839

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Environmental
John Craig (jon.craig@deq.state.ok.us) (405) 702-8100 
Mark Derichsweiler, P.E. (mark.derichsweiler@deq.ok.gov) (405) 702-8188 
Karen Milford (karen.milford@deq.ok.gov) (405) 702-8100 
Carol Paden (carol.paden@deq.state.ok.us) (405) 702-8183  
Quang Pham, P.E. (quang-pham@ag.ok.gov) (405) 522-3553 

Oregon

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Jennifer Wigal (wigal.jennifer@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5185 
Jim Billings (billings.jim@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5073 
Beth Moore (moore.beth@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-6402 
James Nusrala (nusrala.james@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5415  
Doug Peters (peters.douglas@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-6442  
Michael Pinney (michael.pinney@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5310  
Richard Santner (richard.santner@state.or.us) (503) 229-5219  
Karen Terry (terry.karen@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5586 

Top of Page

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Rod Kime (rkime@pa.gov) (717) 787-9637
Lee McDonnell (lmcdonnell@pa.gov) (717) 783-2938

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Eric Beck (ebeck@dem.state.ri.us) (401) 222-4700 
Margarita Chatterton (margarita.chatterton@dem.ri.gov) (401) 222-6820 
Angelo Liberti (angelo.liberti@dem.ri.gov) (401) 222-4700 x7225  
Alexandre Pinto (apinto@dem.state.ri.us) (401) 222-4700 x7227  

Top of Page

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control
Shawn Clarke (clarkesm@dhec.sc.gov) (803) 898-3544 
Crystal Rippy (rippycd@dhec.sc.gov) (803) 898-3964

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Albert Spangler (albert.spangler@state.sd.us) (605) 773-3351  
Kent Woodmansey (kent.woodmansey@state.sd.us) (605) 773-3351 

Top of Page

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation
Vojin Janjic (vojin.janjic@tn.gov) (615) 532-0670 

Texas

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Chris Linendoll (clinendo@tceq.state.tx.us) (512) 239-4433 
Charles Maguire (charles.maguire@tceq.texas.gov) (512) 239-5308  
James Moore (james.moore@tceq.texas.gov) (512) 239-0171  
Jaya Zyman-Ponebshek (jzymanpo@tceq.texas.gov) (512) 239-2012  
 

Top of Page

Utah

Utah Environmental Quality Department
Kim Shelley (kshelley@utah.gov) (801) 536-4385

Vermont

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Cathy Jamieson (cathy.jamieson@anr.state.vt.us) (802) 241-3831  
Ernie Kelley (ernie.kelley@state.vt.us) (802) 338-4833  
Pete LaFlamme (pete.laflamme@state.vt.us) (802) 338-4887  

Virginia

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality 
Melanie D. Davenport (melanie.davenport@deq.virginia.gov) (804) 698-4038 
Allan Brockenbrough (allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov) (804) 698-4147    
Fred Cunningham (frederick.cunningham@deq.virginia.gov) (804) 698-4285 

Top of Page

Washington

Washington Department of Ecology 
Bill Moore, P.E. (bmoo461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6460
Kyle Dorsey (kdor461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6107  
Jonathan Jennings (jonathan.jennings@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6283 
David J. Knight (dakn461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6277  
Doug Knutson (dknu461@ecy.wa.gov) (425) 649-7025  
Paul Kramer (pakr461@ecy.wa.gov) (425) 649-4425  
Foroozan Labib (flab461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6439  
Scott Mallery, P.E. (smal461@ecy.wa.gov) (509) 456-4018  
Chuck Matthews (cmat461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6383 
Dean Smith (desm461@ecy.wa.gov) (509) 457-7108 
Daniel Thompson (dtho461@ecy.wa.gov) (509) 575-2842 

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection 
Tom Marshall (tmarhall@mail.dep.state.wv.us) (304) 558-0633  
Yogesh Patel, P.E. (yogesh.p.patel@wv.gov) (304) 926-0499 x1014  
Thomas Sowers (tsowers@wvdep.org) (304) 558-4086  
William Timmermeyer (william.f.timmermeyer@wv.gov) (304) 926-0495  
Sherry Wilkins (sherry.l.wilkins@wv.gov) (304) 926-0495  

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Adrian Stocks (adrian.stocks@wisconsin.gov) (608) 266-2666
Barton Chapman (barton.chapman@wisconsin.gov) (608) 266-7420
Brian Weigel (brian.weigel@wisconsin.gov) (608) 266-9277

Wyoming

US EPA, Region 08
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382  
Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Leah Coleman (leah.coleman@wyo.gov) (307) 777-7093  
Bill DiRienzo (bill.dirienzo@wyo.gov) (307) 777-7081
Barb Sahl (bsahl@wyo.gov) (307) 777-7570
Kevin Wells (kevin.wells@wyo.gov) (307) 777-8669
Kevin Frederick (kevin.frederick@wyo.gov) (307) 777-5985 
Wyoming Department of Agriculture 
Hank Uhden (huhden@state.wy.us) (307) 777-6574

Top of Page