An official website of the United States government.

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

Contact Us: National Pretreatment Program


EPA Headquarters Contacts

Jan Pickrel (pickrel.jan@epa.gov) (202) 564-7904
National Pretreatment Coordinator

Marcus Zobrist (zobrist.marcus@epa.gov) (202) 564-8311
Chief, Industrial Branch

Rebecca Christopher (christopher.rebecca@epa.gov) (202) 564-2444 
Pretreatment Team

Seth Heminway (heminway.seth@epa.gov) (202) 564-7023
OECA Contact

Carey Johnston (johnston.carey@epa.gov) (202) 566-1014
OECA Contact

Top of Page


EPA Regional Contacts

Region 1: Boston (serving CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531
Pretreatment Coordinator

Sarah Connors (connors.sarah@epa.gov) (617) 918-1689

Region 2: New York City (serving NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Virginia Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov) (212) 637-4241
Chief, NPDES Section, Clean Water Division

Alia Roufaeal (roufaeal.alia@epa.gov) (212) 637-3864
Division of Enforcement and Compliance Assistance

Alexandre Remnek (remnek.alexandre@epa.gov) (212) 637-3774
Clean Water Division

Christy Arvizu (arvizu.christy@epa.gov) (212) 637-3961
Division of Enforcement and Compliance Assistance

Region 3: Philadelphia (serving DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)
Maggie Green (green.margaret@epa.gov) (215) 814-5736

Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov) (215) 814-2714

Region 4: Atlanta (serving AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)
David Phillips (phillips.david@epa.gov) (404) 562-9773
Regional Pretreatment Coordinator

Carla Dollar (dollar.carla@epa.gov) (404) 562-9299
Pretreatment Team / NPDES Permitting  

Region 5: Chicago (serving IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
Newton Ellens (ellens.newton@epa.gov) (312) 353-5562
Environmental Engineer

Jodie Opie (opie.jodie@epa.gov) (312) 353-1938 

Region 6: Dallas (serving AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
Rudy Molina (molina.rudy@epa.gov) (214) 665-6731

Michael Tillman (tillman.michael@epa.gov) (214) 665-7531

Region 7: Kansas City (serving IA, KS, MO, and NE)
Paul Marshall, P.E. (marshall.paul@epa.gov) (913) 551-7419
Pretreatment Coordinator

Region 8: Denver (serving CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382 

Emilio Llamozas (llamozas.emilio@epa.gov) (303) 312-6407  

Region 9: San Francisco (serving AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216

Region 10: Seattle (serving AK, ID, OR, and WA)
Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov) (206) 553-1099
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page


State Agency Contacts

A    C    D    F    G    H    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W

Alabama

Alabama Department of Environmental Management 
Scott Ramsey (sramsey@adem.state.al.us) (334) 271-7838 
Chief, Industrial Section

Alex Chavers (adchavers@adem.alabama.gov) (334) 271-7851
Pretreatment Coordinator, Industrial Section

Alaska

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Marie Klingman (marie.klingman@alaska.gov) (907) 451-2101

Arizona

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (pretreatment@azdeq.gov)

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Adam Yates (yates@adeq.state.ar.us) (501) 682-0617

Top of Page

California

California State Water Resources Control Board
Gurgagn "Gur" Chand (gurgagn.chand@waterboards.ca.gov) (916) 341-5780 

Colorado

US EPA, Region 08 (Permitting Authority for Colorado)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382

Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
Jon Wallace (jon.wallace@state.co.us) (303) 692-3609 
State Pretreatment Coordinator

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Bureau of Materials Management and Compliance Assurance
Water Permitting and Enforcement Division - Pretreatment Program
Michelle L. Gore (michelle.gore@ct.gov) (860) 424-4160
Supervising Sanitary Engineer
Dental Amalgam Rule: Tom Metzner (tom.metzner@ct.gov) (860) 424-3242

Top of Page

Delaware

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for Delaware)
Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov) (215) 814-2714
Maggie Green (green.margaret@epa.gov) (215) 814-5736

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Bryan Ashby (bryan.ashby@delaware.gov) (302) 739-9344 
Program Manager

District of Columbiag

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for District of Columbia)
Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov) (215) 814-2741
Maggie Green (green.margaret@epa.gov) (215) 814-5736

Department of Environment
Hamid Karimi (202) 535-2277 
Director

Top of Page

Florida

Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Water Resource Management
Wastewater Management Program
Abel Agosto (abel.agosto@dep.state.fl.us)

Top of Page

Georgia

Georgia Environmental Protection Division
Sarita Banjade (sarita.banjade@dnr.ga.gov) (404) 656-3541
Industrial Wastewater Unit Pretreatment Coordinator

Guam

US EPA, Region 09 (Permitting Authority for Guam)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216

Top of Page

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Health
Darryl Lum (darryl.lum@doh.hawaii.gov) (808) 586-4309

Top of Page

Idaho

Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
Terry Alber (terry.alber@deq.idaho.gov) (208) 373-0483  

Illinois

US EPA, Region 05 (Permitting Authority for Illinois)
Newton Ellens (ellens.newton@epa.gov) (312) 353-5562
Environmental Engineer

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
Alan Keller, P.E. (al.keller@illinois.gov) (217) 782-0610 
Manager, Permits Section

Indiana

Indiana Department of Environmental Management
Natalie Maupin (nmaupin@idem.in.gov) (317) 232-8729 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Ben Hucka (ben.hucka@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 725-8406 

Top of Page

Kansas

US EPA, Region 07 (Permitting Authority for Kansas)
Paul Marshall, P.E. (marshall.paul@epa.gov) (913) 551-9419 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Kansas Department of Health & Environment
Steve Caspers (scaspers@kdheks.gov) (785) 296-5551 
Pretreatment Specialist

Kentucky

Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection
Diana Robertson (diana.robertson@ky.gov) (502) 782-7055

Top of Page

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Todd Franklin (jeremy.franklin@la.gov) (225) 219-3209 
Environmental Scientist Supervisor

Rachel Davis (rachel.davis@la.gov) (225) 219-3515
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Maine

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Jim Crowley (james.r.crowley@maine.gov) (207) 287-8898 
Environmental Specialist

Maryland

Maryland Department of the Environment
Marjorie Mewbourn (marjorie.mewbourn@maryland.gov) (410) 537-3323  

Massachusetts

US EPA, Region 01 in New England (Permitting Authority for Massachusetts)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531 

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
Kevin Brander (kevin.brander@state.ma.us) (978) 694-3236

Michigan

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Randy Conroy (conroyr@michigan.gov) (906) 236-1362

Minnesota

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Jaramie Logelin (jaramie.logelin@state.mn.us) (218) 302-6640
Pretreatment Coordinator

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
Tracy Tomkins (tracy_tomkins@deq.state.ms.us) (601) 961-5622
Pretreatment Coordinator (Permitting)

Steve Bailey (steve.bailey@deq.state.ms.us) (601) 961-5056 
Pretreatment Coordinator (Enforcement)

Missouri

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Todd Blanc (todd.blanc@dnr.mo.gov) (314) 416-2064

Montana

US EPA, Region 8 (Permitting Authority for Montana)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382

Top of Page

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality
Reuel Anderson (reuel.anderson@nebraska.gov)

Nevada

US EPA, Region 09 (Permitting Authority for Nevada)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216 

Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Nicholas Brothers (nbrothers@ndep.nv.gov) (775) 687-9414
Permits Branch Supervisor 

New Hampshire

US EPA, Region 01 in New England (Permitting Authority for New Hampshire)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531 

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Alexis Rastorguyeff (Alexis.Rastorguyeff@des.nh.gov) (603) 271-2052 
Industrial Pretreatment Supervisor

New Jersey 

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Valentin Kouame (valentin.kouame@dep.state.nj.gov) (609) 984-4428

New Mexico

US EPA, Region 06 / NPDES Permits Branch (Permitting Authority for New Mexico)
Rudy Molina (molina.rudy@epa.gov) (214) 665-6731
Mike Tillman (tillman.michael@epa.gov) (214) 665-7531

New Mexico Environment Department
Sarah Holcomb (sarah.holcomb@state.nm.us) (505) 827-2798     

New York 

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for New York)
Alexandre Remnek (remnek.alexandre@epa.gov) (212) 637-3774 

New York Department of Environmental Conservation
Carrie Elizabeth Smith, P.E. (carrie.smith@dec.ny.gov) (518) 402-8278

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality
Division of Water Resources
Mike Montebello (michael.montebello@ncdenr.gov) (919) 707-3624

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Health
Jeff Roerick (jroerick@state.nd.us) (701) 328-5240  

Top of Page

Ohio

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Phoebe Low (Phoebe.Low@epa.ohio.gov) (614) 644-2134  

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
Roshini Schroeder (roshini.schroeder@deq.ok.gov) (405) 702-8132 
Municipal Pretreatment Coordinator

Oregon

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Etsegenet Belete (belete.etsegenet@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5586 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Pennsylvania

US EPA, Region 03 (Pretreatment Authority for Pennsylvania)
Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov) (215) 814-2714
Maggie Green (green.margaret@epa.gov) (215) 814-5736 

Puerto Rico 

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Puerto Rico)
Lalitssa Lopez (lopez.lalitssa@epa.gov) (787) 977-5857  

Top of Page

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Bob DiSaia (robert.disaia@dem.ri.gov) (401) 222-4700 x7228 
Senior Sanitary Engineer

Top of Page

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control
Craig Marriner (marriner@dhec.sc.gov) (803) 898-4164 
Pretreatment Coordinator

South Dakota 

South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Tina McFarling (tina.mcfarling@state.sd.us) (605) 773-3351 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
Adam Bonomo (adam.bonomo@tn.gov) (615) 253-5321
Samantha O'Neil (samantha.oneil@tn.gov) (615) 313-6630

Texas

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Colleen Cook (colleen.cook@tceq.texas.gov) (512) 239-4603 
Pretreatment Team Leader

Top of Page

Utah

Utah Department of Environmental Quality
Jennifer Robinson (jenrobinson@utah.gov) (801) 536-4383  
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Vermont

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Nick Giannetti (nick.giannetti@vermont.gov) (802) 490-6186
Pretreatment Coordinator

Virgin Islands

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Virgin Islands)
Lalitssa Lopez (lopez.lalitssa@epa.gov) (787) 977-5857  

Virginia

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Deborah L. DeBiasi (deborah.debiasi@deq.virginia.gov) (804) 698-4028 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Washington

Washington Department of Ecology
David J. Knight (dakn461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6277 
Environmental Engineer/Pretreatment Coordinator

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Netar (Nate) Wadhwa (netar.p.wadhwa@wv.gov) (304) 926-0499 x 1013 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Robert (Bob) Liska (robert.liska@wisconsin.gov) (608) 267-7631 
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Pretreatment Volunteer

Adebowale (Wa-le) Adesanwo (adebowale.adesanwo@wisconsin.gov) (715) 684-2914 Ext. 137
Wastewater Engineer - Bureau of Water Quality

Richard Douglas (richard.douglas@wisconsin.gov) (608) 267-6822
Interim Pretreatment Coordinator

Wyoming

US EPA, Region 08 (Permitting Authority for Wyoming)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382 

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Leah Krafft (lkraff@missc.state.wy.us) (307) 777-7093 
Environmental Senior Analyst

Top of Page