An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)

Contact Us: National Pretreatment Program

Headquarters Contacts

Jan Pickrel (pickrel.jan@epa.gov) (202) 564-7904
National Pretreatment Coordinator

Marcus Zobrist (zobrist.marcus@epa.gov) (202) 564-8311
Chief, Industrial Branch

Rebecca Christopher (christopher.rebecca@epa.gov) (202) 564-2444 
Pretreatment Team

Kathryn Kazior (kazior.kathryn@epa.gov) (202) 564-2696
Pretreatment Team

Seth Heminway (heminway.seth@epa.gov) (202) 564-7023
OECA Contact

Carey Johnston (johnston.carey@epa.gov) (202) 566-1014
OECA Contact

Top of Page

Regional Contacts

Region 1: Boston (serving CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, and VT)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531
Pretreatment Coordinator

Sarah Connors (connors.sarah@epa.gov) (617) 918-1689

Region 2: New York City (serving NJ, NY, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands)
Virginia Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov) (212) 637-4241
Chief, NPDES Section, Clean Water Division

Alia Roufaeal (roufaeal.alia@epa.gov) (212) 637-3864
Division of Enforcement and Compliance Assistance

Alexandre Remnek (remnek.alexandre@epa.gov) (212) 637-3774
Clean Water Division

Christy Arvizu (arvizu.christy@epa.gov) (212) 637-3961
Division of Enforcement and Compliance Assistance

Region 3: Philadelphia (serving DE, DC, MD, PA, VA, and WV)
Stephen Copeland (copeland.stephen@epa.gov) (215) 814-5792 

Maggie Green (green.margaret@epa.gov) (215) 814-5736

Ryan Shuart (shuart.ryan@epa.gov) (215) 814-2714

Region 4: Atlanta (serving AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, and TN)
David Phillips (phillips.david@epa.gov) (404) 562-9773   

Region 5: Chicago (serving IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
Newton Ellens (ellens.newton@epa.gov) (312) 353-5562
Environmental Engineer

Jodie Opie (opie.jodie@epa.gov) (312) 353-1938 

Region 6: Dallas (serving AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
Rudy Molina (molina.rudy@epa.gov) (214) 665-6731

Michael Tillman (tillman.michael@epa.gov) (214) 665-7531

Region 7: Kansas City (serving IA, KS, MO, and NE)
Paul Marshall, P.E. (marshall.paul@epa.gov) (913) 551-7419
Pretreatment Coordinator

Region 8: Denver (serving CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, and WY)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382 

Emilio Llamozas (llamozas.emilio@epa.gov) (303) 312-6407  

Region 9: San Francisco (serving AZ, CA, HI, NV, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Republic of Palau)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216

Region 10: Seattle (serving AK, ID, OR, and WA)
Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov) (206) 553-1099
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

State Agency Contacts

A    C    D    F    G    H    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    U    V    W

Alabama

Alabama Department of Environmental Management 
Scott Ramsey (sramsey@adem.state.al.us) (334) 271-7838 
Chief, Industrial Section

Alex Chavers (adchavers@adem.alabama.gov) (334) 271-7851
Pretreatment Coordinator, Industrial Section

Alaska

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Marie Klingman (marie.klingman@alaska.gov) (907) 451-2101

Arizona

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
Galileo Gutierrez (gutierrez.galileo@azdeq.gov) (602) 771-3958
Pretreatment Coordinator

Arkansas

Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality
Adam Yates (yates@adeq.state.ar.us) (501) 682-0617

Lindsay Johnson (ljohnson@adeq.state.ar.us) (501) 682-0045

Top of Page

California

California State Water Resources Control Board
Trinh Pham (trinh.pham@waterboards.ca.gov) (916) 341-5586 

Colorado

US EPA, Region 08 (Permitting Authority for Colorado)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382

Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment
Lisa Knerr (lisa.knerr@state.co.us) (303) 692-3004 
State Pretreatment Coordinator

Connecticut

Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection
Oswald Inglese (oswald.inglese@ct.gov) (860) 424-3725
Pretreatment Coordinator 

Top of Page

Delaware

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for Delaware)
Stephen Copeland (copeland.stephen@epa.gov) (215) 814-5792

Delaware Department of Natural Resources & Environmental Control
Robert Underwood (robert.underwood@state.de.us) (302) 739-9344 
Program Manager

District of Columbia

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for District of Columbia)
Stephen Copeland (copeland.stephen@epa.gov) (215) 814-5792 

Department of Environment
Hamid Karimi (202) 535-2277 
Director

Top of Page

Florida

Florida Department of Environmental Protection
Mr. Beshoy Elnemr (beshoy.elnemr@dep.state.fl.us) (850) 245-7566

Top of Page

Georgia

Georgia Environmental Protection Division
Jill Causse (jill.causse@dnr.ga.us) (404) 463-4942
Industrial Compliance Unit Manager

Sarita Banjade (sarita.banjade@dnr.ga.us) (404) 656-3541
Industrial Wastewater Unit Pretreatment Coordinator

Kerby Wood (kerby.wood@dnr.ga.gov) (404) 651-5161
Industrial Wastewater Unit Pretreatment Coordinator (Permitting)

Guam

US EPA, Region 09 (Permitting Authority for Guam)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216

Top of Page

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Health
Darryl Lum (darryl.lum@doh.hawaii.gov) (808) 586-4309

Top of Page

Idaho

US EPA, Region 10 (Permitting Authority for Idaho)
Michael Le (le.michael@epa.gov) (206) 553-1099  

Illinois

US EPA, Region 05 (Permitting Authority for Illinois)
Newton Ellens (ellens.newton@epa.gov) (312) 353-5562
Environmental Engineer

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
Alan Keller, P.E. (al.keller@illinois.gov) (217) 782-0610 
Manager, Permits Section

Indiana

Indiana Department of Environmental Management
Natalie Maupin (nmaupin@idem.in.gov) (317) 232-8729 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Ben Hucka (ben.hucka@dnr.iowa.gov) (515) 725-8406 

Top of Page

Kansas

US EPA, Region 07 (Permitting Authority for Kansas)
Paul Marshall, P.E. (marshall.paul@epa.gov) (913) 551-9419 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Kansas Department of Health & Environment
Steve Caspers (scaspers@kdheks.gov) (785) 296-5551 
Pretreatment Specialist

Kentucky

Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection
Diana Robertson (diana.robertson@ky.gov) (502) 782-7055

Top of Page

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Todd Franklin (jeremy.franklin@la.gov) (225) 219-3209 
Environmental Scientist Supervisor

Rachel Davis (rachel.davis@la.gov) (225) 219-3515
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Maine

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Jim Crowley (james.r.crowley@maine.gov) (207) 287-8898 
Environmental Specialist

Maryland

Maryland Department of the Environment
Michael Mayenschein (mike.mayenschein@maryland.gov) (410) 537-3629  

Massachusetts

US EPA, Region 01 in New England (Permitting Authority for Massachusetts)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531 

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
Kevin Brander (kevin.brander@state.ma.us) (978) 694-3236

Michigan

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality
Jill Edelbrock (edelbrockj@michigan.gov) (989) 355-3426
Pretreatment Coordinator

Minnesota

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Jaramie Logelin (jaramie.logelin@state.mn.us) (218) 302-6640
Pretreatment Coordinator

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality
Tracy Tomkins (tracy_tomkins@deq.state.ms.us) (601) 961-5622
Pretreatment Coordinator (Permitting)

Steve Bailey (steve.bailey@deq.state.ms.us) (601) 961-5056 
Pretreatment Coordinator (Enforcement)

Missouri

Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Todd Blanc (todd.blanc@dnr.mo.gov) (314) 416-2064

Montana

US EPA, Region 8 (Permitting Authority for Montana)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382

Top of Page

Nebraska

Nebraska DEQ
Donna Garden (donna.garden@nebraska.gov) (402) 471-1367

Nevada

US EPA, Region 09 (Permitting Authority for Nevada)
Amelia Whitson (whitson.amelia@epa.gov) (415) 972-3216 

Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Nicholas Brothers (nbrothers@ndep.nv.gov) (775) 687-9414
Permits Branch Supervisor 

New Hampshire

US EPA, Region 01 in New England (Permitting Authority for New Hampshire)
Justin (Jay) Pimpare (pimpare.justin@epa.gov) (617) 918-1531 

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
Alexis Rastorguyeff (Alexis.Rastorguyeff@des.nh.gov) (603) 271-2052 
Industrial Pretreatment Supervisor

New Jersey 

New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Valentin Kouame (valentin.kouame@dep.state.nj.gov) (609) 984-4428

New Mexico

US EPA, Region 06 / NPDES Permits Branch (Permitting Authority for New Mexico)
Rudy Molina (molina.rudy@epa.gov) (214) 665-6731

New Mexico Environment Department
Sarah Holcomb (sarah.holcomb@state.nm.us) (505) 827-2798     

New York 

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for New York)
Virginia Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov) (212) 637-4241 

New York Department of Environmental Conservation
Joseph DiMura (joseph.dimura@dec.ny.gov) (518) 402-8177 
Director

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Deborah Gore (deborah.gore@ncdenr.gov) (919) 807-6383 
Pretreatment, Emergency Response, and Collection Systems (PERCS) Unit Supervisor

North Dakota

North Dakota Department of Health
Jeff Roerick (jroerick@state.nd.us) (701) 328-5240  

Top of Page

Ohio

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Phoebe Low (Phoebe.Low@epa.ohio.gov) (614) 644-2134  

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
Roshini Schroeder (roshini.schroeder@deq.ok.gov) (405) 702-8132 
Municipal Pretreatment Coordinator

Oregon

Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
Etsegenet Belete (belete.Eetsegenet@deq.state.or.us) (503) 229-5586 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Pennsylvania

US EPA, Region 03 (Permitting Authority for Pennsylvania)
Stephen Copeland (copeland.stephen@epa.gov) (215) 814-5792  

Puerto Rico 

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Puerto Rico)
Virginia Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov) (212) 637-4241  

Top of Page

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Bob DiSaia (robert.disaia@dem.ri.gov) (401) 222-4700 x7228 
Senior Sanitary Engineer

Top of Page

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Health & Environmental Control
Craig Marriner (marriner@dhec.sc.gov) (803) 898-4164 
Pretreatment Coordinator

South Dakota 

South Dakota Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Tina McFarling (tina.mcfarling@state.sd.us) (605) 773-3351 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation
Laurel Rognstad (laurel.rognstad@tn.gov) (615) 532-8786

Texas

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Erika Crespo (erika.crespo@tceq.texas.gov) (512) 239-1827 
Pretreatment Team Leader

Top of Page

Utah

Utah Department of Environmental Quality
Jennifer Robinson (jenrobinson@utah.gov) (801) 536-4383  
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Vermont

Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation
Jessica Bulova (jessica.bulova@vermont.gov) (802) 490-6181
Wastewater Section Supervisor

Virgin Islands

US EPA, Region 02 (Permitting Authority for Virgin Islands)
Virginia Wong (wong.virginia@epa.gov) (212) 637-4241  

Virginia

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Deborah L. DeBiasi (deborah.debiasi@deq.virginia.gov) (804) 698-4028 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Top of Page

Washington

Washington Department of Ecology
David J. Knight (dakn461@ecy.wa.gov) (360) 407-6277 
Environmental Engineer/Pretreatment Coordinator

West Virginia

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Netar (Nate) Wadhwa (netar.p.wadhwa@wv.gov) (304) 926-0499 x 1013 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
Robert (Bob) Liska (robert.liska@wisconsin.gov) (608) 267-7631 
Pretreatment Coordinator

Wyoming

US EPA, Region 08 (Permitting Authority for Wyoming)
Al Garcia (garcia.al@epa.gov) (303) 312-6382 

Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality
Leah Krafft (lkraff@missc.state.wy.us) (307) 777-7093 
Environmental Senior Analyst

Top of Page