An official website of the United States government.

We've made some changes to EPA.gov. If the information you are looking for is not here, you may be able to find it on the EPA Web Archive or the January 19, 2017 Web Snapshot.

Superfund

Superfund Community Advisory Groups

What is a CAG?

A Community Advisory Group (CAG) is made up of representatives of diverse community interests. Its purpose is to provide a public forum for community members to present and discuss their needs and concerns related to the Superfund decision-making process. A CAG can assist EPA in making better decisions on how to clean up a site. It offers EPA a unique opportunity to hear-and seriously consider-community preferences for site cleanup and remediation. However, the existence of a CAG does not eliminate the need for the Agency to keep the community informed about plans and decisions throughout the Superfund process.

Does my community need a CAG?

A CAG can be an effective mechanism for community involvement at almost any site, but are not appropriate for every site. In general, CAGs are a good fit in communities where there is a high level of interest and concern about site activities. CAGs may be beneficial at removal sites, particularly non-time critical removal sites, as well as sites involved in long-term cleanups.

How can I get more information

At EPA Headquarters, contact Freya Margand (margand.freya@epa.gov, 703-603-8889) or Leslie Leahy (leahy.leslie@epa.gov, 703-603-8707). For assistance in the regions, contact your appropriate General Regional Contact listed below:

Region 1 – Sarah White (white.sarah@epa.gov), 617-918-1026
Region 2 – Shereen Kandil (kandil.shereen@epa.gov), 212-637-4333
Region 3 – Amie Howell (howell.amie@epa.gov), 215-814-5722
Region 4 – Angela Miller (miller.angela@epa.gov), 404-562-8561
Region 5 – Cheryl Allen (allen.cheryl@epa.gov), 312-353-6196
Region 6 – Janetta Coats (coats.janetta@epa.gov), 214-665-7308
Region 7 – Althea Moses (moses.althea@epa.gov), 913-551-7649
Region 8 – Libby Faulk (faulk.libby@epa.gov), 303-312-6083
Region 9 – David Yogi (yogi.david@epa.gov), 415-972-3350
Region 10 – Julie Congdon (congdon.julie@epa.gov), 206-553-2752